We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, friendly atmosphere”

Middle Earth Tavern
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middle Earth Tavern
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed overnight with friends, received a friendly greeting, rooms were clean and warm with en-suite facilities. Nice quiet location overlooking the River but close enough to the town centre facilities.Enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar on the evening with entertainment also being provided. Would recommend to friends and certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This was quite literally the WORST 2 hours i have ever spent ina so called b and b/hotel. My partner and i were looking for somewhere relatively cheap to spend the night when we came to Whitby to celebrate our anniversary. We had booked a meal at the moon and sixpence (which is amazing btw). The middle earth certainly was cheap but unfortunately also the most grim place i have ever been. We decided to go to our room at around 6pm to relax and get changed before we went for our meal. The TV reception in the room wasn't working but i can live with that. The temperature in the room was almost certainly somewhere below freezing (it was colder in our room than it was outside) my partner went downstairs several times to ask if they could put the heating on and the only response we got was "Oh it takes a while to reach that side of the building." After getting this response three times in the space of nearly 2 hours we booked ourselves into Bagdale Hale Lodge and told them we were leaving. The girl behind the bar didn't look even slightly concerned so i wasn't going to lose sleep over it.

The walls/ceiling/floors are also paper thin as while we were shivering and fiddling about with the radiator the people in the bar treated us to a non stop looped rendition of Razorlight's In the morning, which we could hear as clearly as if they were in our room. It wouldn't have been too bad if they had known a few more of the lyrics other than "In the morning you know you won't remember a thing...in the morning you know you won't remember a thing...in the morning you know you won't remember a thing...in the morning you know you won't remember a thing." Sit in your freezer, repeat that for two hours and you'll know how i felt!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubrovnik08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveleys
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2009

my late wife and i stayed here on our honeymoon, and again on our first anniversary.
2006,,2007, i can honestly say, we enjoyed our time there very much. The owners were so friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms are basic, but comfortable with everything provided. The breakfast, full english, was 100% served overlooking the marina.
Staff are very pleasant and you can enjoy the local pub atmosphere downstairs. Great location for sight seeing. Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Worst bed and breakfast we have visited.Nothing positive to comment on at all.We will visit Whitby again but certainly will not be staying there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gangsterwhitewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Earth Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Earth Tavern

Property: Middle Earth Tavern
Address: 26 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Middle Earth Tavern Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing