We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just got back from another fantastic stay at Rylstone Mere. This was our 3rd stay and we always love coming back. We usually stay in the small budget room which we absolutely love especially in winter. However this time we stayed in a different room which was just as nice and comfortable. Extremely clean and well decorated. A big thanks to Watty and Michela, always friendly and helpful. We will be back!
Katie and Matthew

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieEdwards24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Katie & Matthew its always a pleasure to see you both at Rylstone Mere Watty & Myself would like to thank you again for the nice review and choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoy your honeymoon and it won`t be too long before we see you again. Till then take care both Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Really nice place to stay in Whitby, I doubt you'll find any better. The double room we stayed in was lovely, really clean, airy although the bathroom was on the very tiny side.
Welcome was lovely and felt at home. Getting around Whitby was easy from this almost central location, will definitely be back at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review always appreciated, good to know you both enjoyed your stay in Whitby and hopefully we will see you back in the near future. Kind regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Unfortunately we only had the pleasure of staying 1 night in room 4, the small double.
Everything was superb - cleanliness, location, free parking, breakfast served to your room & last but not least the hosts.
Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, we will definitely return. Nichola & Simon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greece_l0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Nichola & Simon Thank you for the glowing review Its always good to get positive feedback it really cheers our day up. Hope the next time you are in Whitby you will stay at Rylstone Mere and maybe for a little longer. Kindest Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the budget room which was small, but comfortable and clean - perfect for a short stay. The guest house is a 5 minute walk into the centre of Whitby and has free parking which is a bonus. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely recommend Rylstone mere to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Rylstone Mere both Watty & Myself would love to welcome you back anytime, just give us a call and thank you for the lovely review. Kind Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had a great start to our 3 day midweek N Yorks coastal break during the first week of July. We'd never stayed in Whitby previously and we were delighted with this B&B for its comfort and cleanliness, its close proximity to Whitby town centre (4 mins easy walk down to the central harbour) and, of course, the unique facility of a free parking slot for each bedroom. We had Room 2 at the rear and slept very well - the weather was hot and humid and it was lovely to sleep with an open window without any disturbance from outside noise. We enjoyed one of the largest 'full English breakfasts' we've ever seen - all served piping hot to our room. Rylstone Mere will most certainly be top of our list next time we venture up to Whitby - an excellent memory. Many Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the rear had a comfortable modern four poster kingsize bed - the mattress was firm and sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie8204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Guys delighted to know you enjoyed your 3 day break in N.Yorks and that Rylstone Mere in Whitby was your first port of call, its a beautiful town with lots to offer. And we hope it won`t be too long before you come back again. Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just back from a two day stay at this fab b and b. The location is ideal just a short stroll from the centre of Whitby and opposite Pannett Park. Watty and Michaela are very helpful and friendly giving good advice about the surrounding area and do a great breakfast to start your day. Will be going back thanks again for an enjoyable time. Pete and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christaylor131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Pete & Chris we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we both hope its not too long before your next visit, just give us a call anytime and we will make sure all your little shops are re-stocked. Till then enjoy the rest of the Summer. Kind Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Only stayed one night but was made very welcome. In a great location, handy for the harbour. Parking was really convenient. Lovely room with a comfy bed. Highly recommend the Full breakfast which is served in your room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback we always appreciate when our guests take the time to post a review here. We both hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
474 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Penny Hedge Lodge
The Penny Hedge Lodge
#17 of 155 in Whitby
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#15 of 155 in Whitby
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 155 in Whitby
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rylstone Mere 30 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely late Victorian house with views over Pannet Park. Free off-street parking, 4 minute walk to town harbour, pubs, restaurants & all public transport. All rooms are en-suite with many original features & the usual tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing