We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast to Coast walk”
Review of Red House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red House Farm
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A slow reception at the end of a long wet day of walking to find our suitcases still outside the door, the drying room full of their belongings and then an offered cup of tea took an hour to eventuate while we waited in our wet gear and were regaled with stories of her life. It was made quite clear that there was no extra assistance to be had but we could call a taxi from Whitby for 13 pounds each way to get to the pub for dinner. We had to pass through the kitchen and their cosy dinner to walk in the dark to the village 1km away. Fortunately nice locals drove us home.
An unpleasant final night after a great 2 weeks of walking and accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomGlaisdale, Owner at Red House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Firstly, I have to say, this is a bit embarrassing—I must ‘regale’ with stories of my life with some frequency instead of getting on with the business of making the tea, because, even though I know the date you were here, I cannot recall the specifics. I am truly sorry, and will attempt less talk and more action in the future. Regarding the long delay in getting to your room, I can only assume that I was behind with the room cleaning or that you may have arrived early—I can’t honestly remember, so I apologise.

The Luggage: We do provide a safe, undercover area for your luggage to be delivered to, but we are just a small farmhouse B&B and do not offer a porter service-- and we’re too old to carry huge bags, so can offer little solace here.

As for your other comments—Lift to the Pub/Drying Room—I probably can’t say any more than what I have said in BrittanyGirl’s letter below.
Yours sincerely, Tom & Sandra Spashett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed for a week in the threshing barn, one of the self-catering cottages in the grounds of the main house. The accommodation consisted of 2 bedrooms (1 double and 1 twin) and a bathroom upstairs and a kitchen, small dining area and sitting room downstairs. Although the weather was getting colder while we were in the property, the heating was perfectly adequate to keep the place cosy (particularly the wood-burning stove). The other facilities - DVD player, (slightly flaky) wifi, games room, etc - were very welcome as well and the owners were very friendly and considerate in getting us settled into the cottage. There are great walks around the moors from the door and the location is very quiet and pretty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentwhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Such a lovely couple run this superb B&B. A very warm welcome on our arrival, with cups of tea & biscuits. Drying facilities for our boots etc were brilliant. Our rooms were pure luxury, en suite bath, hair dryers hot radiators, fresh milk for tea/coffee and pristine crisp, clean white sheets. We were in the two rooms at the top of the house with our own landing & staircase door. Breakfast was fantastic and the conversation/company of Sandy & Tom made it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A party of 4 stayed at the Red House farm during our C2C walk.
The welcome was somehow cool as we had to wait to get into our accommodation as our hosts had been busy all day, with plumbing: a previous guest had broken a tap! May be, this was due to the age of the property!
The owners made it clear to us that there were rules and regulations regarding staying at their house and they were in no way prepared to do anything which could have made our stay more enjoyable, ie a lift to the pub.
The house is about a mile away from the nearest and only pub, which is fine if you like walking on an unlit road at night, in the dark.
The publican, on the other hand, understands customer service and kindly drove us back to the the B&B.
Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brittanygirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomGlaisdale, Owner at Red House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

While we are terribly disappointed to get a poor rating, we are in a way pleased that, as this criticism is on a widely read website where hopefully people contemplating walking the Coast-to-Coast will see it and be aware of what we can and cannot offer, it may help both them and us have a more pleasant experience. There is not too much factually to disagree with in the critique. Plumbing a bit harsh--House predates the plumbing by about 260 years, but as we try to use modern fittings in an old style. . . .

As regards to ‘not making guests comfortable,’ we have been having Coast-to-Coast guests since 1991 and much of our business is due to many of them returning, often annually or biannually, not just from the UK, but Europe and America as well, and we do try to make their stay as comfortable and pleasant as we possibly can. All rooms have TV, ensuite with a bath and a shower, controllable central heating. There is a games/snooker room, a drying room (you may have to share this with us if we’ve worked outside in the rain all day), and a breakfast we’re told frequently is the best on the C-C. (Even in the process of building a lap pool with a fitness and steam room above, but as it’s been about 8 years in the making and still has 1 or 2 to go—maybe not so relevant.) But we don’t, for many reasons—legal, personal, practical and financial—offer lifts to the pub. The pub is ¾ mile away and a taxi is available at £12.00 at the time of writing. It does seem a lot for one, but as more often than not, we have 4 walkers or more, just about the price of a pint. (I think this party consisted of 4 people.) We try to tell the agencies and everyone who books with us about the pub situation, so hopefully, this message will help others match up their expectations with what we can provide.

I hope this helps people with their bookings and if a walk to the pub of an evening or the taxi ride doesn’t suit you, the pub itself provides B&B as does Mrs. Rogan at Beggars Bridge and, if she is still providing B&B, Louise at Holmwood. Telephone numbers will be in Doreen Whitehead’s excellent C-C book or website.
Yours sincerely, Tom & Sandra Spashett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Red House Farm for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at Danby Castle. We stayed in the Hay Loft for B&B although I think this would usually be self catering. The setting is beautiful on a private farm with hens milling about, cattle in the field and a duck pond - a proper taste of North Yorkshire! We loved our room, which was a cosy nook providing all the facilities we could ever need including a large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machines, TV... They have definitely made the most of all possible storage spaces to provide an uncluttered space. Sandra was a fantastic host and we enjoyed our yummy cooked breakfast!! There are lots of fantastic pubs close by and we can't wait to return and spend some more time exploring the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

c2c visit. Host v welcoming. House itself is amazing with superb really good breakfast. I only wisdh they did evening meals as that food would be great! We will return ..............................................................

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

After an incredibly long walk we were welcomed with a hug, a hot pot of tea, some delicious cookies and a tail wag from Pixie! Despite a demanding 8 hour walk, we sat up chatting with the hosts like we were catching up with old friends and then soaked in the bath where there was plenty of hot water and fresh towels. Flat screen TVs followed by a great night sleep. After seven days of fried breakfasts we were just about reaching our limits, but to our delight we were asked what we wanted the night before and opted for a poached egg, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms which left us satisfied and full of energy, particularly after some cereal, fruit and toast which was offered buffet style. Needless to say, we were given a hug goodbye and set off on another gruelling day of walking smilling!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
6.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
7.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
3.7 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#125 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Farm

Address: Red House Farm Red HOUSE FARM, GLAISDALE DALE | Entrance Opposite Glaisdale School Drive, Whitby YO21 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed Georgian farmhouse lovingly restored as a home for the Spashett family. Award-winning barn conversion into 3 self-catering holiday cottages. B&B accommodation in the main house. In the unspoiled valley of Glaisdale Dale in the North York Moors National Park. NEW: Red House Health Club with 18m heated indoor SWIMMING POOL (2 lanes wide), STEAM ROOM with aromatics, high tech GYM with Smart TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing