We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, a wonderful stay, again!”
Review of Red House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red House Farm
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent, a wonderful stay, again!”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have stayed three times at Red House Farm and have enjoyed Sandra and tom's exceptionally wonderful hosting skills. The welcome is warm , the house is beautifully cosy and the breakfast is delicious, served at the large farmhouse table with, if you're lucky, the added entertainment of Tom's repartee. Tom and Sandra are very helpful; recommending local restaurants, walks, etc. We have dined at the local pub the Arncliffe Arms and the food is always excellent. Red House Farm is exquisitely quaint and a step back in time with stone flags, dark woodwork and beams. We have been received like old friends and our children love coming to stay. Sandra and Tom are enthusiastic about their home and the surrounding area .We have been made to feel like part of their family; they have also shown an interest in us and our children and go the extra mile with their hosting. We look forward to returning, many times.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    0
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2010

What a wonderful bed and breakfast, excellent service by Tom and Sandra Spashett, nothing was too much trouble. A full english breakfast served with fresh produce and free range eggs! all cooked to our liking at a time to suit our plans for the day. The scenery from our room was stunning and a joy to wake upto on a cold february morning, our room being beautifully warm and cosy. We spent a good hour before setting out seeing the animals and listening to Toms amusing quips, we all had a good laugh. We will definitely be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Red House Farm for a night whilst walking the Coast to Coast. Our overriding impression was that the owners were either too busy or too bored with the whole B&B routine to pay much attention to our needs.

Basically what we got for £100 was a comfortable bed in a lovely old house, in a beautiful location. It could have been so much better if the hosts had made a bit of an effort. We wouldn’t go back – nor would we recommend it to fellow walkers.

LIKED:
House
Location
Room

DISLIKED:
Waiting 45 minutes for room whilst owners went to the shops/made telelphone calls
Not being offered advice/directions on places to eat (the offer of a torch would have been handy for the return journey)
Noisy plumming
ill fitting shower fixtures
No offer of "packed breakfast"
Breakfast - rancid instant coffee (served in a pot!), processed orange juice, undercooked toast, soup spoons to eat cereal off and so on.
Husband's patronising attempts at humour.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFPNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

This is a pleasant old farmhouse, from the 1700s, and our room’s décor reflected a care to fit in with the old-world charm of the place. We had a dormer window overlooking the pleasant garden and old barn. The deep bath and lots of hot water were very welcome after a long day’s walk. Our host welcomed us well with a cup-of-tea in the light and airy sun room. We enjoyed the way breakfast was served to all at a large old table in the main dining room. This helped us all to share our experiences of our time in England.

  • Liked — Old world ambience
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Girt, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2008

THis is a 17th century stone farmhouse run as a B&B by Mr. & Mrs. Spashett. It is in the most amazingly beautiful countryside, perfect for leisurely walks!! The farmhouse has wonderful old ambiance and it was clean and appropriately decorated. This is a working farm. We had a delicious breakfast with fresh eggs. We agreed that this was the best place we stayed on our trip to the UK because it had wonderful character.

  • Liked — character, ambiance, scenic country
  • Disliked — they did not take credit cards
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLSeaGirtNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
7.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arncliffe Arms
Arncliffe Arms
#3 of 6 in Glaisdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.6 mi away
Church House Farm
Church House Farm
#1 of 3 in Danby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Farm

Property: Red House Farm
Address: Red House Farm Red HOUSE FARM, GLAISDALE DALE | Entrance Opposite Glaisdale School Drive, Whitby YO21 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed Georgian farmhouse lovingly restored as a home for the Spashett family. Award-winning barn conversion into 3 self-catering holiday cottages. B&B accommodation in the main house. In the unspoiled valley of Glaisdale Dale in the North York Moors National Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing