We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Return to Royal Hotel one year on...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Castleford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our Return to Royal Hotel one year on...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We returned to the Royal a year on from our last holiday here in June 2010. Not much has changed in that time except for the usual changes in personnel which occurs in these establishments.
One thing I am not happy about is the stipulation that you cannot check in to your room until 3pm (On the dot!) This seems to me to be very late in the afternoon considering that you have to vacate your room on the last day of your holiday by 10am.
We had arrived in the town earlier in the day and had passed the time waiting for check in by walking around the local area. We had elderly in-laws with us who were starting to get tired and when we went to the hotel around 2-45pm to check in there were already other couples starting to queue around the reception desk. When my father in-law approached the Receptionist to enquire if we could have our room keys as the previous year we had been allowed in at 2-15pm he was curtly told by her "That was last year, this is this year, you will have to wait until 3pm!" By allowing the self-drive guests earlier access to their rooms, it would avoid some of the "scrum" which formed in the entrance as one of the coaches arrived. This resulted in a large queue forming around the lift area and numerous mutterings about its inadequacies in coping with the large demand as holidaymakers arrived and needed to get their cases up to their rooms. Rather than spend time in another queue, we carried our cases up the 4 flights of stairs to our 2nd floor room. Being considerably younger and fitter than the majority of the guests at this hotel we were able to do this but for the majority it is not an option.
Our Room
The In-laws who are infirm had booked a standard sea view room on the ground floor and the room was totally unchanged from last year including the lumpy mattress on the single beds which have been complained about on some previous reviews. Again we had booked an upgrade to a "Superior Room" (the same one as last year I think). It cost us an extra £70 each including the sea view and again was pretty much as it had been the previous year including the drab dark mushroom and dark sea-green walls which hadn't bothered us last year when it was all fresh. The difference between our room and the standard room as we saw it were a nice comfortable double bed with duvet while they had button mattresses with seperate sheets and blankets. They had a 14 inch old fashioned CRT portable TV while we had a nice wall mounted 26 inch LG LCD TV, we had a silver cordless kettle while they had a corded white plastic one, 2 sachets of drinking chocolate, and a packet of 3 biscuits daily, while they just got the standard tea, coffee, sugar and milk, our bathroom had been modernised to a nice higher standard whilst theirs was still the old fashioned type. Toiletries were one area where we noticed a reduction in both quality and quantity of products. Last year they were very nice, supplied in small bottles and were replaced on a daily basis, whereas this time we were supplied on the day of arrival with a few sachets and these were not replenished at all during our stay.
The standard of housekeeping in our room was generally very good. As the hotel has a high percentage of retired guests, the rooms have very good heating and we found it a little too warm for us and we had our windows in the room constantly open night and day. We also brought along a small electric fan as we remembered this was very useful to us last year.

The Restaurant
Again as last year we found the restaurant to be excellent. Service did at times seem to be slightly slow but I think this was due to the work load the waiters had to deal with rather than any lack of effort on their part. Our 2 main waiters, Javier and Zoli were excellent, very efficient and spoke very good English. We had no complaints whatsoever about any of the meals we had, the quality and quantity of food was excellent and sometimes I wonder if I dined in the same restaurant as some previous negative reviewers!
Overall, we had a good holiday and we would return again to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeanoCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Many thanks for your comments. Whilst I appreciate your comments on our check in policy, we stick to this policy for a number of reasons. If the rooms, as a whole, are ready before 3 o’clock then of course we issue keys and allow our guests to get settled in. As a rule this is generally 3 o’clock on arrival days which allows our Housekeeper the time to check the rooms and for all corridors to be cleared of all linen, rubbish, hoover cables etc. Whilst I appreciate this can be frustrating, it is necessary when we have had a large departure no earlier than 10am.
As you can no doubt imagine, in a building this size redecoration is a continual task, with the decor in the superior rooms being about 3 years old and in good condition. The superior rooms in comparion to our standard rooms are much larger, offer the best views from the hotel and are designed to offer a more contemporary feel. Toiletries in the superior room should have been replenished daily and are always available on request from reception for the standard rooms as stated in the bedroom browser. I’m pleased to see you were happy with the cleanliness of your room.
Your comments with regards to the food are a pleasure to read. The team work very hard to ensure the best service possible.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    371
    212
    114
    63
See reviews for
124
537
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Although we were only there for one night, on a National Holiday excursion, we were really pleased with the Hotel. Yes, some of the rooms are 'dated' but the communal areas were bright and roomy. Cabaret singer had a good voice and was easy to listen to. Our room on 2nd floor was spacious and although the furniture wasn't modern, it was clean, functional and we had plenty of space. The bathroom was roomier than the one we have at home and the linen was pristine. Small tv, hairdryer, telephone, tea/coffee stuff etc. All the lights worked (unusual for us!) and the beds were comfy. Good service in the restaurant from Javier (?) and the food was fine, served on hot plates. Couldn't have expected more for the price we paid, although the rack rate was (I'm sure) £104 b/b for a twin room - presume this is for one of the superior rooms advertised in the foyer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Pleased to see you enjoyed your short stay. We pride ourselves in clean, comfortable rooms with modernising being an on-going project. I will pass your kind comments onto all the staff and in particular Javier.
We offer a variety of value for money short breaks (2, 3 or 4 nights) with the £104 you mention being for an on the day 1 night stay.
Hope to see you back at the Royal soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Just come back from the Royal Hotel and the lovely town of Whitby...the hotel is in need of an upgrade to all of its cheaper rooms and it also needs a new chef...mushrooms in a garlic cream sauce consisted of tinned mushrooms in a white mess and for a hotel thats based in a fishing port why is there no fresh fish...the staff however would be a credit to any hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjowoolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to express your opinions. I am however, sorry you were disappointed with the food during your stay. The hotel is a large, old building and upgrading/redecoration is a continual ongoing task. As you can see from other comments on here, our food has received a number of very positive comments. Our menu’s are designed to offer high quality dishes, whilst continuing to offer value for money holidays. Please be assured that at no time have we used tinned mushrooms in the Garlic Mushroom dish. I would have liked the opportunity to discuss your disappointment at any time throughout your stay. However, it is very pleasing to see your comments regarding the team at the Royal who all work extremely hard to offer the best service.
We hope you will consider trying the Royal again, some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a Shearings short break, for my cousin's birthday. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were very large, and the sea views were wonderful - even from the bathroom! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Great to see your positive feedback and hear that you chose to spend your family occasion here at the Royal. The views are certainly spectacular and the sea view rooms are very popular – definitely worth that little bit extra to see Whitby at its best! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome.
When we got to our room it was in first class condition and it was kept that way all the week by most friendly cleaning staff I ever met. my want two extra pillows I asked for at reception and by the time I got to our room the pillows had been delivered.
The service in the dinning room was first class by yet another great crew of people
The entertainment was top rate. The host Darren really worked to each night better than the last
Just outside was a green with plenty of benches facing to the sea where you can spend a few relaxing hours.
All in all if you want a relaxing holiday try the Royal. We will.

Thank you the team at the royal

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wideload1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Lovely to read your kind comments, the hotel is indeed in a stunning spot overlooking Whitby. We pride ourselves in excellent service and friendly staff and it is rewarding to see this coming across. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

On arrival, my key envelope had not been prepared despite my having booked several months prior and being on the passenger list, however this was soon rectified and the reception staff were very pleasant.
My room seemed fine and was spacious and clean (although the wall behind the bed was grubby due to the lack of a head board). At bed time I discovered the inferior quality of the mattress and hence spent an uncomfortable night - eventually cushioning the springs with the bath towel to prevent them digging in!
The evening meal was between 6.30 and 8 pm . I went down at 7.45 and was ignored by the waiting staff so I searched in vain for my allocated table number. On asking a waitress where I might find it, she asked if I was the driver, then asked a colleague who was heard to utter, "It is not possible." She then went off to fetch the supervisor who showed me to my table where I was ignored for a further 15 minutes. The meal itself was fine although the same could not be said of breakfast . I was sharing the table with 3 strangers who had eaten breakfast earlier and all their used crockery was left uncleared. My cooked breakfast seemed to have been left to congeal on the plate before being delivered and I was asked what kind of toast I wanted and was then brought the opposite, so mealtimes were a bit of a catalogue of disaster as far as I was concerned.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susie186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed from Friday til Monday for the WGW end March with my husband, and my parents were in the next room. Our rooms were the old style, top floor and did not have a sea view, but they were spacious, immaculately clean, big bathrooms and plenty of room for all our clothes. Our rooms were serviced every day with fresh towels, yes the windows are old but we had them open most of the time as the room was quite warm, and it was great being able to open and close the windows easily as required. The food was fantastic, our waiter Victor made every meal a pleasure, there was so much choice on the menu, it was hard to decide what to order and all 4 of us usually went for something different and we were never disappointed with our food. Husband said kippers he had for breakfast were the best he'd tasted. The staff were all lovely and friendly, always smiling, and very professional and efficient. The location is stunning, looking over the sea and the Abbey. We did not want to leave, I felt thoroughly spoiled the whole time I was there. I cannot wait to go back and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. 100% satisfied with everything. Top Marks to the Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
It’s great to see so many familiar faces returning year after year for the Goth weekend.....certainly one of the most interesting events of the year. Victor was a fantastic waiter who has just left us unfortunately. As a group we pride ourselves in comfortable accommodation and great food and as a team we love to see when we’ve succeeded. Look forward to seeing you for the next Goth weekend in October if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing