We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location and staff...poor food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice location and staff...poor food.”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of october. Staff were very good. The hotel appears to be going under refurb, or at least needs it in places. The room was large and clean with a lovely view out to sea. Plenty of parking. We didn't see much of the entertainment as we were out in the evening. The only complaint I have is the food. We have been to previous bay hotels with shearings and this one was the meanest with food. Previously we have been able to help ourselves to cereals and fruit juice etc. Not this time..all waiter service and choice of one or the other. Dinners were even more wierd, on one occasion we had a piece of bread roll and potatos put on a plate with chicken curry and rice, I assume this was to fill it out? I would return as the staff nice and hotel location was great, but it does make me think twice about a shearings coach holiday in the furture.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hildagronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I appreciate your comments especially regarding the staff and your room. The team work very hard here at the Royal and it is always rewarding to see it noted. As mentioned in other reviews on here, we are constantly making improvements throughout the hotel with a number of areas having been done and some still to do. I fully understand your comments with regards to self service at breakfast as a number of hotels do offer some items in this way. This is not to limit what you have as a number of our guests request juices and cereal etc which we are only too happy to offer. Unfortunately, here at the Royal, as I am sure you will have noticed during your stay, we simply don’t have the space to offer a buffet layout. With regards to the dinners it is practice to ask guests whether they would like potatoes with a main course that is served with rice or pasta, so I will be sure to follow this up with my staff as to why you weren’t given the choice.
We hope your comments won’t deter you from staying with us again either here or at another Bay hotel.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    385
    221
    118
    65
See reviews for
128
556
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just got home from a wkend at whitby, there was a party of four of us and we stayed at the royal hotel, firstly let me say the rooms were fantastic, we had i issue with water in bathroom there was no presure only a trickle for a shower , if i wanted a bath it would have taken all night to fill,there was alot of recidents complaining about water . Now the food breakfast was ok filled up with toast , the evenig meal was very poor , we stopped in for entertainment in the ball room first night w.as the resident entertainer which he want to bad , then sat night was the matt monroe tribute , he only did 12 songs the rest was jokes , the priced for beer was very expensive there john smiths pump had broken so they were selling cans dearer than pump price which we thought was not right , glad only had two nights there , but ladies if you want to slim then go for it

Room Tip: go for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is pleasing to see the rooms met, if not exceeded, your expectations. I am sorry however you encountered problems with the water and please be assured this is being addressed. It is disappointing to hear you were unhappy with the food during your stay. The menus and entertainment programme are devised to offer something for everyone taking into consideration different tastes etc. Unfortunately the John Smiths tap did break during your stay meaning that we were unable to dispense from the ballroom bar. We still had it available in the lounge bar which all guests were advised and we offered pint cans for sale at £2.40 as opposed to £3.10 draught.
I hope your comments on this occasion will not deter you from considering staying with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

was at the royal for four days on a coach tour excellant value the food was good so also was the enter tainment would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It's always rewarding to see such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Royal for the Goth weekend and whilst there we were married. The staff were excellent and we felt like celebrities, there was a big flower arrangement and champagne waiting for us after the ceremony and during the evening entertainment we were again made to feel really special. This was not our first visit and it will not be the last. We will be returning for our anniversary next year for certain. Avril and Barry

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Many thanks for your fantastic comments. We were delighted you chose to spend your special occasion with us here at the Royal and were more than happy to mark the event with the gifts in your room and that they added to the day. We hope married life is treating you well and look forward to seeing you next year for your anniversary, if not before.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal on 21st Nov for four nights for Tinsel and Turkey with Shearings and had a lovely time. We loved the Hotel and could not fault it at all. We stayed in room 4 which was a sea view room on the ground floor which was great as we didn't have far to go after a good night in the Ballroom, which I might add was huge. Although our room was on the ground floor we did not even hear a car passing by it was so quiet so we had excellent nights sleep.
The entertainment on the Thursday night by Joey Howard the Comedienne was fantastic we laughed solid for an hour and a half, he was great. Also Darren who hosted each night was also very very good he was a good singer and also made you very welcome and tried to pleased everyone with his choice of music. Thanks Darren. The staff were great and the hotel ran so smoothly and efficiently it was a joy to stay there. The meals were served with a smile from our really nice waiter Ben. There was some nice touches such as mulled wine, Christmas Cake and Mince Pies in the afternoons. The Christmas decorations were not overdone but nice and tasteful. Also the price was excellent value. Plus the area is so so nice. Thanks for such a nice time everyone at the Royal we will certainly try and come again. Just one more thing, A Happy Christmas to you all.

Room Tip: If you can have a sea view. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ches007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments. I’m glad you enjoyed your Tinsel & Turkey themed break with us. Joey is a fantastic act on a Thursday and a great end to our mid week breaks backed up with Darren who works very hard every night. It’s nice to see all the staff and especially your waiter Ben so favourably commented on as he’s only been with us a few weeks.
The little extras on the Tinsel & Turkey breaks add to the atmosphere and gets everybody into the festive spirit. I appreciate your comments on the festive decorations.
I will pass all your comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Merry Christmas to you too from all at the Royal.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stays 7- 11 & 21 -25 November 2011

My wife and I have recently stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions. Yes it was so good, having checked the medium term weather forecast, we returned within 10 days! If you want a good base to explore the Esk Valley/ Yorkshire Moors and the coastline look no further. We overheard a few people muttering about the odd thing like the lift being slow and the odd thing wrong in rooms. The building is over 100 years old and looks to have been refurbished but you cannot make a new building out of an old one. I would much prefer to stay in this elegant old style hotel than many of the so called identical new ones with all mod cons.

We found this Shearings hotel on teletext "self drive" offers. Both stays were 4 nights "turkey & tinsel".

On both occasions our bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and well appointed (205 & 323). The former giving fabulous view across the harbour to the Abbey. We had an old fashioned TV but it worked and gave all 4 main terrestial channels, comfortable double bed with spare one/s in the room too. Bathroom very good with shower.

There are three different seated areas outside of the huge ballroom/entertainment room.
The staff are all friendly and helpful.

We got mulled wine on arrival and each evening around16.00-16.30 there was tea and biscuits/christmas cake/mince pies. On "Christmas Day" Wednesday we received a glass of free wine off Father Christmas before the evening meal.

Breakfast was very good with choices again. The full breakfast was very good and if you do not fancy ther sausage you get extra lean back bacon.
Evening meals gave a choice of 5 alternatives each evening, Meat, fish or vegetable dish, salad or chinese/italian choice. Choice of 3 starters and 4 desserts of which cheese and biscuits or fresh fruit were permanent choices. The food was of a good standard with full waiter and waitress service. It is not cordon bleucooking but what do people expect for £33 a night?

There was entertainment nightly if wanted, We attended most and drifted in and out of the things that did not interest us. The comedian on the thursday night was terrific and better than a lot you see on TV. I cannot recall his name. The resident host Darren Holmes is also a good all rounder and a useful singer himself.

There is a car park at the rear but we parked each night outside on the road within the parking bays at no cost even in the day. We are keen ramblers so everyday we went out and did a 8- 11 mile walk either on the moors in the Esk Valley or on the coast.

We enjoyed 2 excellent short breaks at an unbeatable price and we will now definitely seek out other Bay shearings Hotels if the same level of charges apply elsewhere.

The one off putting thing was a small patch of black mould on the third dining room ceiling presumably caused by someone flooding their room above at some point.This could easily be remedied with bleach and a coat of paint as it looks very bad and spoils the look of otherwise a very nice welcoming comfortable hotel..

Room Tip: Room 205 is very good. It is a family room however so we werew probably lucky to get it as mid week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
What a pleasure to receive your comments. It is great to see we ticked all the boxes and you decided to stay with us again so soon after your first break. We are indeed an old building full of character in a fantastic location for exploring the local areas. The sea view rooms as you say, offer the best views of Whitby.
The Tinsel & Turkey breaks prove very popular and are a nice start to the Festive season and good value for money with the little extras offered.
I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the food and entertainment onto our chefs and Darren. All of our staff work very hard and it’s always rewarding to receive such positive feedback.
You’ll be pleased to know the problem in the restaurant has now been redecorated.
We have 50 hotels across the Bay and Coast & Country brand all offering quality short breaks at good value prices across the UK.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the New Year.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is excellently situated an the West Cliff and has fabulous views across to the Abbey. This is my fifth year staying at this hotel for the Whitby Goth Weekend. Myself and the other members of my party would not dream of staying anywhere else when in Whitby. The rooms are spotless,the price is right, the location could not be more convenient, the food is standard across the Bay hotel group, but there is a good selection and it is always served piping hot - but the highlight for me is the warm welcome from the staff. You are greeted like family and the service is superb in all areas from the reception to the dining room.

This year unfortunately the lift broke down on the Sunday evening and an engineer could not attend until the Monday. This did not present any difficulties for my party but many of the residents who were less able did struggle with the stairs. In the hotels defence they did attempt to have it repaired on the Sunday but were met with circumstances beyond their control and they did arrange for staff to help carry bags to reception for guests checking out on the Monday morning.

We look forward to our next trip to Whitby and will of course stay at the Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to see so many returning guests for the Goth weekends year after year. A lot of our regular guests repeatedly comment on the welcome they receive from the staff and we do look forward to the special event weekends where we know we will see a lot of familiar faces. I will ensure all the staff see the comments regarding the food and rooms etc. we did have problems with the lift which were rectified as quickly as possible but couldn’t be done until the Monday morning. Whilst I appreciate it is inconvenient, I’m pleased to see it didn’t spoil your stay.
We look forward to seeing you at the next Goth weekend if not before.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing