We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Winter Warmer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Great Winter Warmer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed at the Royal for two nights (16/17 December)Room 225. Room was a little dated but very warm and cosy.Meals were excellent with good choice,served by our friendly and efficient Hungarian waiter.
Evening entertainment was good especially Saturday with "Almost Rod (Stewart)" the best tribute act ever encountered. We saw the original in Vegas earlier this year and could hardly tell them apart vocally.
This was a pre- Christmas festive Break with National Holidays and combined with a 3 hour free bar each night it was a superb way to spend a cold winter weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an even number as they face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhilBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your great comments. It is especially pleasing to see your remarks about the food and standard of service our Restaurant/Kitchen team provide. Our evening entertainment is planned to offer something for everyone and the cabaret weekends offer something that little bit extra. We have some fabulous tribute acts on the circuit and we offer this style of entertainment every weekend in the winter months.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal or another Bay hotel in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    374
    215
    117
    64
See reviews for
125
541
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked 2 superior rooms at this hotel as we had visitors from Australia. What a complete disaster the "superior" rooms were very poorly lit and were dark and dismal at night. Our rooms were at the front of the hotel with bay windows however the windows didn't have any sheer curtains on so, unless you closed the heavy outer curtains everyone could see into your room. The beds were king sized in these rooms BUT the sheets they use on them are double so all night long you are lying on crumpled up uncomfortable sheets. When we told reception about this they said they couldn't do anything about it.
There was insufficient parking and it was a battle every day to get a space. There was very little attention paid to access to the hotel for disabled guests and you even had to go up steps to get into the dining room.
Complaints to the staff and to Shearings who own this hotel are met with a couldn't care less attitude and no apology.
This hotel has an air of decay about it, it's well past it's best with fraying upholstry and carpets and should be avoided at all costs.
WARNING both Shearings and Bay hotels censor their customer reviews and do not publish any which give a correct but negative review.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Our superior rooms are usually very popular with many returning guests. It’s true that the bedrooms do not have any kind of net/sheer curtains in place but as these rooms are all on upper levels this doesn’t usually cause any problems, allowing our guests to make the most of the stunning views on offer in these rooms. I’m sorry that you found the rooms to be “dark and dismal” with the ceiling lights, bedside lamps and standing lamp, had this been brought to our attention during your stay we would certainly have been able to provide additional lighting. The beds in the superior rooms are double beds on which we use double sheets so I am concerned as to the problems you encountered with the beds, which is something I will be sure to take up with my Head Housekeeper.
Parking can be limited especially at the weekend but this is something we try to control as best we can. The parking situation is detailed in our brochures and on our website as is the fact that the hotel may not be suitable for people with limited mobility, although in the vast majority of cases we can work around this. We have a flat/ramp entrance to the side of the lounge bar and in the event where we have guests with mobility issues which causes problems with the stairs into the Restaurant we regularly offer guests the choice of a table to be set up in the lounge bar.
I am concerned as to your comments regarding the staff. As a team, we pride ourselves on our customer care and as you will see from other reviews on here we often get complimented on the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.
I would just like to point out that we have no control over what is posted on this site and are in complete favour of a clear picture being portrayed.
I would have liked the opportunity to discuss your disappointment during your stay.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Tired hotel. Food good but drinks expensive min £14 for bottle of house red. Not enough seating in public areas. Rooms need maintenance. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KenBooth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts. At the hotel we are constantly making improvements but as you can imagine in a building as large and as busy as the Royal this is an ongoing plan. As I am sure you will have noticed during your stay we have already updated a number of areas throughout the hotel. I will pass your comments regarding the food and the friendly staff to the team who always enjoy receiving good feedback. Our bottles of wine do start at £13.50 which in today’s market is quite competitive, with wine available by the glass/caraffe also.
We hope to welcome you to the Royal again, sometime in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of october. Staff were very good. The hotel appears to be going under refurb, or at least needs it in places. The room was large and clean with a lovely view out to sea. Plenty of parking. We didn't see much of the entertainment as we were out in the evening. The only complaint I have is the food. We have been to previous bay hotels with shearings and this one was the meanest with food. Previously we have been able to help ourselves to cereals and fruit juice etc. Not this time..all waiter service and choice of one or the other. Dinners were even more wierd, on one occasion we had a piece of bread roll and potatos put on a plate with chicken curry and rice, I assume this was to fill it out? I would return as the staff nice and hotel location was great, but it does make me think twice about a shearings coach holiday in the furture.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hildagronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I appreciate your comments especially regarding the staff and your room. The team work very hard here at the Royal and it is always rewarding to see it noted. As mentioned in other reviews on here, we are constantly making improvements throughout the hotel with a number of areas having been done and some still to do. I fully understand your comments with regards to self service at breakfast as a number of hotels do offer some items in this way. This is not to limit what you have as a number of our guests request juices and cereal etc which we are only too happy to offer. Unfortunately, here at the Royal, as I am sure you will have noticed during your stay, we simply don’t have the space to offer a buffet layout. With regards to the dinners it is practice to ask guests whether they would like potatoes with a main course that is served with rice or pasta, so I will be sure to follow this up with my staff as to why you weren’t given the choice.
We hope your comments won’t deter you from staying with us again either here or at another Bay hotel.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just got home from a wkend at whitby, there was a party of four of us and we stayed at the royal hotel, firstly let me say the rooms were fantastic, we had i issue with water in bathroom there was no presure only a trickle for a shower , if i wanted a bath it would have taken all night to fill,there was alot of recidents complaining about water . Now the food breakfast was ok filled up with toast , the evenig meal was very poor , we stopped in for entertainment in the ball room first night w.as the resident entertainer which he want to bad , then sat night was the matt monroe tribute , he only did 12 songs the rest was jokes , the priced for beer was very expensive there john smiths pump had broken so they were selling cans dearer than pump price which we thought was not right , glad only had two nights there , but ladies if you want to slim then go for it

Room Tip: go for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is pleasing to see the rooms met, if not exceeded, your expectations. I am sorry however you encountered problems with the water and please be assured this is being addressed. It is disappointing to hear you were unhappy with the food during your stay. The menus and entertainment programme are devised to offer something for everyone taking into consideration different tastes etc. Unfortunately the John Smiths tap did break during your stay meaning that we were unable to dispense from the ballroom bar. We still had it available in the lounge bar which all guests were advised and we offered pint cans for sale at £2.40 as opposed to £3.10 draught.
I hope your comments on this occasion will not deter you from considering staying with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

was at the royal for four days on a coach tour excellant value the food was good so also was the enter tainment would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It's always rewarding to see such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Royal for the Goth weekend and whilst there we were married. The staff were excellent and we felt like celebrities, there was a big flower arrangement and champagne waiting for us after the ceremony and during the evening entertainment we were again made to feel really special. This was not our first visit and it will not be the last. We will be returning for our anniversary next year for certain. Avril and Barry

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Many thanks for your fantastic comments. We were delighted you chose to spend your special occasion with us here at the Royal and were more than happy to mark the event with the gifts in your room and that they added to the day. We hope married life is treating you well and look forward to seeing you next year for your anniversary, if not before.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing