We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a hovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Mon to Fri in Jan, Its a lovely old hotel and the puplic areas are all nicely decorated in keeping with the building, There are lots of nice touches to make your stay that bit better such as a kettle in the room and the coffee/ tea/ milk is replaced daily (so many dont replace the used ones) it was always warm, there are free hotel papers and the staff are all very friendly and helpful, the food was OK the breakfast is best all. The things that let it down are, the rooms are very tired the carpet and the window in the room we stayed in badly needed replacing we had a sea wiew but the window had permanent condensation on so we couldn't see anything at any time of the day, the evening meal was served between 6.30 and 7.30 so every one was in the restaurant on different courses all at the same time so service was slow at times because the waiting staff had so much to do in a short time. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn195485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I agree that the style of the public areas are very much in keeping with the rest of this grand old building. It is great to see the staff so nicely commented on, they do all work very hard.
We are as always striving to improve standards throughout the hotel with continual upgrading/refurbishment works being carried out and I am sure on future visits this will be apparent. I appreciate your comments regarding the meal times and I will take these on board and look into this matter.
I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Royal some time soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a hotel with lots of charm in a fabulous location. The reception staff on arrival were very helpful. Our allocated room was on the ground floor with no privacy from outside as it was right next to the road so on request the lady on reception moved us to one on the 3rd floor . This was much better. Although the window was small we still had a good view over the sea. Our shower didnt work and room had no bath but this was dealt with and sorted once again by reception staff, very efficiently. The food was good and served hot but waiting times at breakfast not so good. 20mins wait before we were even approached by a member of staff . But the young man did apologise for the wait when he got to us , just thought the restaurant manageress should have noticed the situation and perhaps helped out.However our stay was very pleasant,with good entertainment, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor are in the eaves so very small windows . And hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smnw10948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. I couldn’t agree more that the hotel is full of charm and in a stunning location. I apologise for the problems you encountered on arrival but I am pleased to see our FOH team sorted these out for you. I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team who will be delighted with your views. With regards to the wait at breakfast time, this is most unusual and I will take this up with our restaurant manager. I am sure she must have been busy with other guests at the time not to have noticed your wait.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to enjoy another break with us soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas for a family break.
We traveled with National holidays for 3 days 2 nights, The bedrooms were very tired and needed to be updated but they were spotless and very comfy....the food was really nice and plentiful our waitress Leanne was very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for her.

The bar did have queues the first night but none the second night, the entertainment was good as was the quiz ( we had a great laugh )

The location of the hotel was fantastic, facing the sea also very close to the lovely shops and the Abbey.

We would return again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

It is always great to see guests return time after time. Whilst we still have some work to do I am sure you will have noticed many of the improvements and changes we have made over the years. I completely agree with your comments on the staff – I am very lucky to have a fantastic team here at the Royal.
With regards to the single supplement charged on single rooms it is common practice. The £5 a night supplement we charge is very competitive with many of our competitors. This is something we have done for a number of years and whilst the holiday charges fluctuate we try our best to keep this charge as low as possible.
It is worth mentioning that although the hotel is now under the Bay brand it is still very much a part of the Shearings group.
We hope to see you soon on one of your return visits.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and have loved it’s fabulous position in Whitby. It sits on the cliff top with stunning views over the sea (well worth paying the supplement for). We decided to spend New Year at the hotel and could not fault the hotel, staff or service. The hotel is dated in some places but it is a listed building with a lot of character and beautiful stained glass windows dotted about and I’d rather stay somewhere with a bit of character. To get the most out of the sea views ask for a room on the first floor as these have floor to ceiling windows, the second floor also have great views with the windows being from approx. waist height to the ceiling. There are 2 aspects for a sea view – one has totally the sea and the other side of the hotel has a view of the harbour, Abbey and a partial sea view – both are lovely.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient and make the stay more enjoyable. The food in the hotel is plentiful. Yes it is probably frozen / bought in but it is very tasty and lots of it. Breakfast is fruit juice, cereals and a full English with tea / coffee. The evening meal is a choice of starters, choice of main meal and choice of pud or cheese and biscuits followed by tea or coffee. Our only tiny minus is that the restaurant service was quite slow but the restaurant manageress if you got her was really speedy. If you go on one of the short breaks then it is fabulous value for money.

At the New Year break they could not have done more if they had tried. In our rooms apart from the usual tea and coffee there was also complimentary wine, chocolates and a fruit basket – I know this was for the New Year but it was a very nice unexpected touch. There was entertainment in the form of quizzes etc on in the day and entertainment in the evening /singers and comedians. The ballroom was decorated with streamers, ballons, hats, whistles, party poppers etc – great for the New Year and then just after midnight a Piper came in – fabulous.

There is a car park that belongs to the hotel at the rear of the hotel – which is free but on a first come basis -but plenty of room. There is parking outside the hotel both on the road (free at the moment but I believe they are going to start charging for it sometime in 2012) and in a car park opposite.
The rooms have a kettle and a hairdryer. The rooms are also very warm but you can turn the radiators down if you want. The lift in the hotel is tiny – 2 people or 3 very skinny ones but at least it has a lift.

Whitby is a great place to explore with loads of nooks and crannies and quaint old shops and buildings. If you want to see the Abbey then also pop into the church at the top of the 199 steps as that is well worth a visit. A good tip if you can’t manage the climb is to get a taxi to the Abbey and then walk down the steps (cost around £4.50) – on the way down it is in increments with a couple of benches to sit on and admire the view. At the bottom of the steps and tucked around the corner almost opposite Hammonds is the old Whitby jet workshop – again worth a look. If you want to hunt for your own Whitby Jet or fossils on the beach then head to Sandsend or Kettleness. Sandsend can be reached by walking along the beach but Kettleness you need a car or taxi or be very fit!
If you go into the town / harbour there are various boats that do trips out to view Whitby from the sea. These are great value - they only last about half an hour and cost around £3.50 a person which is amazing value and usually kids are free. There is the yellow boat (Esk Belle) and the Old Whitby Lifeboat to name 2 - but many more and if the weather is good a speedboat! There's loads to see and do in Whitby.

Would we go again – absolutely.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view unless you want a view of the car park! Ground floor if you can't manage stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank loopyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

It is always great to see guests return time after time. Whilst we still have some work to do I am sure you will have noticed many of the improvements and changes we have made over the years. I completely agree with your comments on the staff – I am very lucky to have a fantastic team here at the Royal.
With regards to the single supplement charged on single rooms it is common practice. The £5 a night supplement we charge is very competitive with many of our competitors. This is something we have done for a number of years and whilst the holiday charges fluctuate we try our best to keep this charge as low as possible.
It is worth mentioning that although the hotel is now under the Bay brand it is still very much a part of the Shearings group.
We hope to see you soon on one of your return visits.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just had short break at Royal 3rd to 5th January with National Holidays. Hotel was very good , all staff very pleasant and meals very good with good choice served with a smile and in nice,pleasant dining room. Entertainment was enjoyable.
All in all excellant value for money as with all National Holidays we have been on.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hissyfitLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

It is always great to see guests return time after time. Whilst we still have some work to do I am sure you will have noticed many of the improvements and changes we have made over the years. I completely agree with your comments on the staff – I am very lucky to have a fantastic team here at the Royal.
With regards to the single supplement charged on single rooms it is common practice. The £5 a night supplement we charge is very competitive with many of our competitors. This is something we have done for a number of years and whilst the holiday charges fluctuate we try our best to keep this charge as low as possible.
It is worth mentioning that although the hotel is now under the Bay brand it is still very much a part of the Shearings group.
We hope to see you soon on one of your return visits.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have stayed at the Royal on numeruos occasions over the past 10 years or so, have already booked to visit again in July.
Ok some of the corridors are in need of a revamp but the rooms are fine and always clean.
The food is varied and maybe not be the largest portions but after three courses you have had enough.
The staff are always polite and helpful.
My only negative is the supplement of £10.00 charged for a single room. The rooms can only accomodate one person and so I would like to know what the supplement is to cover.
This has only been charged since Bay took over the hotel and did not apply when owned by Shearings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leedsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

It is always great to see guests return time after time. Whilst we still have some work to do I am sure you will have noticed many of the improvements and changes we have made over the years. I completely agree with your comments on the staff – I am very lucky to have a fantastic team here at the Royal.
With regards to the single supplement charged on single rooms it is common practice. The £5 a night supplement we charge is very competitive with many of our competitors. This is something we have done for a number of years and whilst the holiday charges fluctuate we try our best to keep this charge as low as possible.
It is worth mentioning that although the hotel is now under the Bay brand it is still very much a part of the Shearings group.
We hope to see you soon on one of your return visits.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were going to torbay but our grandaughter came to live with us in November and we had to take her with US.WE could only get a 3 bed room in whitby so we took it and had a brilliant time from the mince pie sherry and brass band at streton to leaving on tues at 11.30.
The food was exellent and plentifull.The staff were courtious and proffeosional and I enjoyed myself so much that I am still recovering.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

A pleasure to receive your comments. I hope you’re now fully recovered and that the New Year is treating you well. It is very rewarding for both myself and all the team to read comments as glowing as yours. I have a fantastic team here at the Royal and they will be delighted to read your comments. I hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £77 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing