We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$187
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$168
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
238
445
260
129
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
445
260
129
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivesea viewsmall liftshearings hotelsevening entertainmentshearings coach holidaycoach drivernational holidayspremier roomhalf boardrefurbished roomlovely old hotelbar pricesbit datedplenty of choicesingle roomgreat position
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I love Whitby and went with a large group so the Royal seemed to the place where we could all go. As noted on other reviews, some areas are in need of refurbishment ie walls, general paint work need updating. Thankfully we had a sea view as I would have been disappointed. Room was very nice, clean and warm. No hot water though on our corridor after too many of us seemed to have a bath at same time. Breakfasts VERY good. Waiting on staff EXCELLENT. Lovely old hotel. Spend some money on it ....

Room Tip: Go for sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TinaFlintham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Many thanks for posting your review. As you say the Royal is a fabulous old building in a great location. Our sea view rooms offer the best views of the town. I’m pleased to see you were not disappointed with the view or standards in your room. I apologise for the issues you had with hot water and am currently looking into this. We are continually carrying out works on the hotel which I am sure you will notice on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went on a Shearings coach 5 day break to this hotel, it was spotlessly clean and having paid for a sea view we were given a super front facing room looking on to the abbey and harbour, the room and bathroom were both kept very clean but the carpet in the bedroom could do with replacing The food in the restaurant was ok, (the breakfasts were excellent) but the vegetables sometimes were overcooked and a little boring, to have frozen carrots when fresh ones are so easy to prepare would have been nice. The staff were very friendly and the evening entertainment good, the compare each evening (Darren) was very pleasant. We would go to this hotel again, probably by car next time.

Room Tip: ASk for a sea view especially a front facing one
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerkshireWeekender65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Many thanks for posting your comments. The sea view rooms enjoy the best views of the town. We try very hard to maintain high standards throughout and it is pleasing to see these noticed. I appreciate your comments on the food and use a wide variety of both fresh and frozen foods throughout the menus. Darren, like all the staff, work very hard and comments like yours really motivate the staff. We offer2, 3 and 4 night self drive breaks and hope to welcome you back soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recently returned from a Caberet Weekend at the Royal with Shearings. Like all the Shearings hotels we have stayed in they are inclined to show their age but did not detract fro a very enjoyable weekend and terrific value for money.. We upgraded to Sea View and got a ( large )Superior which was very comfortable and clean. Waitng staff were first class & if you had problems with the menu they did everything to help.Bar prices were on par with the area I live in though the wine was a bit on the pricy side..
Tribute band (Beatles) were good as was the comedian, included full day excursion to Goathland & Pickering was fine though stops were a bit long.
The small lift (max 4) did mean a wait on occasions hardly a big issue .
To us super value & very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time share your views and the fact that you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal. The superior rooms are proving very popular especially for the fantastic views they offer. The Royal is an old building and we are fully committed to a constant re-furb programme. The restaurant staff will be delighted to receive your comments. The Beatles tribute band went down very well and as with the excursions we like to offer something for everyone.
Again, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A typical Shearings hotel, in great need of some TLC but also good value for money
We stayed 10/2012 to 13/2/2012. Downside the lift was not working and no sign of it being fixed. I suggest you check to see if it is working before you go

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We have an ongoing refurb plan in place at the hotel which we are constantly working to. I apologise for the inconvenience that the lift situation may have caused but we were awaiting a part to get it back into operation. I hope it will not deter you from staying with us again.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

we went on a shearings holiday to whitby last january and we stayed in the bay royal hotel it was so friendly lovely clean hotel lovely food and great entertainment defo will be going back again soon

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It seems we ticked all the right boxes during your stay with us. Positive comments like this are a delight to receive. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Vicki glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews