We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel but great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“old hotel but great value for money”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile


meals ok , good evening entertainment with Joel on ,on a Tuesday (worth seeing) lift a bit small , two people and one case? whiitby full of interest , would come back to the royal hotel again . train or bus to heartbeat country , (worth the visit ) also a visit to the royal (hospital ) in Scarborough . good idea to climb the 199 steps to Whitby abbey (if you are fit ) enjoy Whitby !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davieham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Many thanks for your comments. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Joel is a fantastic vocalist and is always well received. As you say Whitby is a fantastic base to see the surrounding areas with lots to see and do. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    393
    229
    119
    66
See reviews for
132
568
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had a lovely time at the Royal. The food was excellent and staff very friendly. Think it could do with being refurbished as our room was big but there was an old-fashioned TV, bedding old looking and there was a 'damp horrible smell'. The view was great from our room. The lift was very small and temperamental, most times had to use stairs. With a refurbishment this Hotel would be great.

Room Tip: Book a Premier or Superior room. We tried to change to one when we arrived but they were all fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Many thanks for posting your review. It is always great to hear when people have enjoyed their stay. I’m pleased to see the food was to your liking and I will pass your comments to the team. We are continually working on areas of the hotel and our refurbishment programme is very much an ongoing commitment. We are due to have a number of rooms done next month with a plan in place for further works next year. Myself and my housekeeping team will certainly look into your comments. I appreciate your comments regarding the lift but unfortunately this is usually caused by other guests continually pressing the call button on other floors. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

An enjoyable coach tour with a lovely lot of people. a very long journey . Coach driver Mike made it comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel has been updated and we had a sea view premier room kept clean and tidy by the lovely Jacquie. Staff were all lovely and helpful . entertainment we thought was a little disappointing except one night when a brilliant young comic cam in

Room Tip: Always have a seaview room. cost more but at whitby you need to see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinggirlsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I’m pleased to see you rated us higher on this visit than your previous one in 2009. As you’ve mentioned, we are continually making improvements throughout the building and it is nice to see this noticed. The premier rooms are lovely and as you say the views are stunning. I’ll pass your comments on to Jacquie, she will be delighted. Our entertainment is planned to for something for everyone’s tastes and I’m glad you enjoyed Joey – he always goes down well.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights over august 2012 bank holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in an excellent location. We paid extra for a sea view room and I would recommend doing this - the views were excellent, large room, clean and comfortable. Food was good, service excellent. Food potions can be on the small size but no real complaints there. Overall with shearings hotels (and we have now stayed at many over the past few years), you get clean, comfortable at a reasonable price, in excellent locations. The clientele can be fairly old (we are in our 40s and often feel young in comparison to other guests). However, if you dont let this bother you, and pay a little extra for a room with a view you shouldnt have a problem. I'm not sure what some reviewers expect for the price they are paying - if I pay 5 star prices I expect 5 star. If I pay 2 or 3 star prices then you cannot go far wrong with shearings bay hotels.

Room Tip: premier sea view room - excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your views. As mentioned so many times on this site, we are in a fantastic spot and the views from our sea view bedrooms really are second to none. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. As a group we strive to offer clean, comfortable accommodation, good food whilst still offering value for money and I’m pleased to see that was the case in your experience. Due to the fact we cater for a high number of self drive guests, we find we have quite a mixed group of guests. Again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your views and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

my wife and i traveld by coach from eastbourne to this hotel in april for a 5day break wich we must say was very good for what we paid also two trips were included pluss food and service was top class

Room Tip: stay in front 2nd floor looks over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterwaleseastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to see you had a good holiday here with us and found the standard of service and food to be top class. We hope to see you again.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We read the reviews. Some were very good, others very bad. We suspected that most of the bad were written by the moaning section of society who get a rare perverse pleasure from complaining. We were right. Everything went well.We arrived on 21/9/12. We did not reserve parking but had no difficulty in finding a space in the hotel's non reserved section which accommodates 25-30 cars. The room (103) was very good with superb views. The hotel is warm and comfortable with lots of places to have a quiet read. In the reviews there are complaints about the food. Don't believe them. The food was very good and plentiful. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and seemed happy to be working at the hotel, no doubt a reflection on the management. The hotel is ideally located for coastal walks / Cleveland Way. On the first day we walked to Robin Hood's Bay and returned by bus. On the second day we went in the opposite direction and walked to Kettleness and onto Lythe where again we returned by bus. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will return. My sympathies lie with the hotel management who have to read some of the adverse comments made by the complaining fraternity. If you like to moan avoid this hotel. Try The Savoy in London but check the room rate first.

Room Tip: Sea views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. As you say there are a mixture of comments on here and I appreciate you pointing that out. It would appear we ticked all the boxes for you during your stay and I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to the team. I have a fantastic bunch of people here at the hotel and as a team we take great pride in both the hotel and our customer service. Whitby is a fab location for exploring the local areas as you found out. Again I appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Just got back from the royal hotel again our third time this year but we took our grandchildren aged 4 & 5 as usual we got a brilliant welcome they accommodated the children very well to say the hotel isn't really equipped for children the staff were as always friendly helpful and polite the kids enjoyed there meals as did my husband and I. Can't fault the hotel at all it's like home from home to us thankyou vicky and staff xx

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Hi Jane and Pete, it was great to see you last weekend. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us yet again. As you know, we don’t get many children staying here but it makes a pleasant change from the norm when we do. I’ll pass your comments onto the team and no doubt we’ll be seeing you again soon.
Vicki and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing