We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brother's birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Six of us stayed at the Bay Royal, Whitby, for a long weekend. We stayed in Superior Rooms on the second floor and bedrooms and bathrooms were a good size and extremely comfortable. Views and comfort were worth the extra cost. Hot water in two of the rooms was satisfactory, the third was sporadic and not always warm enough for comfort. Residents of two of the rooms - 207 and 208 - were bothered by noise from rooms above late at night and early morning. The ballroom was newly refurbished, being used for the first time that weekend. We liked the decor. (If people want to play bingo they should make sure they get their bingo tickets in good time, from Reception.) It was obvious that many people had been before. The staff were pleasant, helpful and not intrusive. Our waitress, Emma, was superb. Her personality helped to make our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. Emma and "that's my boss" arranged for our birthday cake to be presented to the "birthday boy", candles lit and accompanied by staff singing "Happy Birthday to you." Our big macho man was quite overcome by it all. Breakfasts were good, evening meals acceptable, but obviously geared to catering very quickly for lots of people. Having said that, we did enjoy our meals. We were surprised to find flights of steps along the corridors, and this could be a problem for people with mobility problems, who should make sure they are accommodated within their physical capabilities. The lift - as mentioned many times - is a law unto itself. But don't lose heart. It does work if it's not overloaded. Having said all that we did enjoy or break and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are steps.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themixDurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your break with us and found your rooms to be clean and comfortable. You’re right to mention the views we’re lucky enough to enjoy, they’re stunning in all weather. Thank you for the comments on the ballroom, a lot of work went into this and all the feedback so far has been very positive. We have many returning guests at the Royal and one big reason for this is the fantastic team we have working here. I’ll be sure to pass your comments onto all, especially Emma who is quite a character. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the area.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

What can I say very very run down hotel reception good but once you go upstairs things change, rooms are desperate for a make over bathroom windows black with mildew as there is no ventilation and the cracks down the walls are like a jigsaw puzzle. The rooms are so dated bedroom floor not hovered properly my husband found a tablet on the floor the last person in the room must have dropped it just as well it wasn't a child that found it. Food just passable but the waiters could not cope as there was far to many people for them to cope as its a shearings hotel thay fill it up with trippers for weekend and weekday breaks, we didn't stay there through them we booked it ourselves, play rip off bingo on a night thay keep a lot of the takings if you work it out like I did, I could go on and on but think I've said enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. As you can see from other reviews on here, we have had a number of refurbishments completed recently with a lot more planned for this year. I will raise your cleanliness issues with the housekeeper although comments like these are certainly not the norm. Our waiting staff work incredibly hard in the restaurant and depending on when guests come in throughout the open sitting can appear busier at some times than others. With regards to Bingo, our procedures are clearly displayed in the hotel and explained prior to ‘eyes down’ and in general the majority of our many bingo playing guests find it well worth playing. Again, I am sorry you were disappointed and hope it will not deter you from staying in another Bay hotel in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Royal on 30th March and they were absolutely brilliant. Vicki (manager) and Louise (head receptionist) were excellent leading up to the wedding, took all our requests into account and made great suggestions for the layout, and dealt with all the decoration of the tables for us.

We had excellent choices of food for our 34 guests, the food was lovely on the day, and the best views in Whitby from the dining room. They even provided both sunshine and snow on the day!

Thank you to all the staff at the Royal who made our day so special

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaFearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi Rebecca and Martin, We hope you had a lovely honeymoon and married life is treating you well. It was a pleasure to be involved in your big day and although it’s not the type of business we normally do, we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Your decorations looked lovely on the tables and I’m delighted the layout worked so well for your party. It certainly felt like you got 4 seasons in one day with the weather. I will pass your comments onto all the team and we hope to see you again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed Here on a little 3 day Break in February, was very reasonably priced, and Had a great couple of days, The Reception Staff were very friendly, and Provided us with all the right information we needed to enjoy our stay,The Room we had was on the 3rd floor and was clean and Warm, With comfy bed, and Large Bathroom, and Harbour views accross to the Famous 199 steps and Abbey opposite.we were on a Dinner and Breakfast deal, and Both was superb, with great Waiters,and Superb Food. Was very impressed Ill Be back here. was very relaxing, and even got 4 complimentary drink vouchers to use in the hotel bar.Brilliant!!!

Room Tip: We were in 315 right at end of the top floor, nobody passed our room was lovely and Quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leescottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. I’m pleased to see you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed some of the amazing views we are lucky enough to have. I will pass your comments on to all the team feedback like yours is always very much appreciated. Many of our guests continue to take advantage of our drinks promotions and they continue to be very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On arrival, this hotel seemed perfect with amazing views, if you disregard the window next to the front entrance which was full of matresses? Why couldn't these have been stored somewhere else? Not a good look.Our room was on the ground floor with the same amazing view of the sea and the abbey. The room however was a different matter. The main complaint was it was so cold. The room had two radiators neither of which worked. We complained to reception who said they would address the matter - this was never done and we complained 3 times. The only thing they could offer was a tiny electric heater. The plug for this heater was a 4 way extension lead which also accomodated the plugs for the tv and the clock radio! There was no towel rail in the bathroom (and no working radiator in there either!) There had been one but there were 2 holes stuffed with masking tape where the screws had been. The room was also filthy. I refused to walk on the carpet in bare feet as there were so many dubious stains. There was a dead spider in the corner of the bathroom floor on arrival and it was still there when we left! On the good side, the food was lovely, the dining room warm and the waiter was brilliant!. Would I go again? To Whitby - yes to the Royal Hotel? No...

Room Tip: Chjoose a different hotel is the only advice I can honestly give
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HighPeakSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I’m sorry to see you were obviously disappointed during your stay here at the Royal. Furniture being stored in the lounge to the front of the hotel was very much a short term issue whilst we had a number of rooms and our ballroom refurbished. As I’m sure you will agree we have experienced some terrible weather recently with temperatures way below the norm for the time of year, our central heating system has been on full recently to fight the unforgiving winds outside. I’m sorry you still found the room cooler than you would have liked and we do have a number of portable heaters available at any time from reception. Whilst I appreciate we still have a few rooms in need of refurbishment it is very unusual to receive complaints about the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope your disappointment you felt here will not deter you from trying another Bay hotel in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years and always found it good value for money. The restaurant and food are very good and there's always a good choice. The staff are very helpful and, as on previous occasions, we had nothing to complain about. Yes the decor is looking a bit shabby but the hotel was nice and clean.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room it's well worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disabledsightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. From your scoring and review it would seem you enjoyed your stay apart from feeling it a little cooler than you would have liked. The heating has been on full recently with us not only battling with the cold temperatures but the strong freezing winds also. Unfortunately with these winds and the main doors constantly opening etc it is very hard to control the temperature in the reception areas but the bedrooms and lounges are usually nice and cosy. I have spoken to my receptionist who assures me that the towels on the windows were offered as a last resort due to the strong winds causing a draft.
I’m sorry you were slightly disappointed during your stay and hope you would consider staying with us again on your next visit to the area.
Vicki Glen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just got back from Royal after Shearings 5 day break. on the whole very pleased. service very good reception staff helpful(thank you Becky). general atmosphere friendly and helpful. lift too small for size of hotel, strenuous walk up to the 3rd floor. food adequate and well prepared , bar lounge area comfortable. will look really ace when Ballroom finished . place does look tired here and there but can be expected due to age of hotel. Management working hard to update. if i have a gripe its that after paying for a sea view , we didnt really have one due to the thick grime and bird poo on the windows. impossible to take photo through them and impossible to look out when the morning sun is on them. big let down .! would certainly go back . have been Shearing traveller since 1995 and see no reason to change .....yet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I have a fantastic team here who really go the extra mile to provide an excellent service. I’ll be sure to pass your comments onto Becky, she’ll be delighted. We are fully committed to the continual refurbishment of areas within the hotel with 27 bedrooms having been completed within the past 6 months and most recently our ballroom which looks stunning with more to follow later in the year. I appreciate your comments regarding the windows, with the unforgiving weather recently they are certainly due a clean and this has been organised. It’s great to see you would stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing