We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four day coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a four day coach holiday here. The staff were excellent, the ballroom has been re-furbished
and is looking great. The bedroom was ok but our bathroom was in need of a makeover. Lovely views out of our sea view bedroom but as we paid £10 extra per day the bedroom itself was disappointing. Food was ok, at times not hot enough. Whitby is a nice place and the staff in all the shops we went in were very pleasant.

Room Tip: f you pay more the room is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for posting your review. I couldn’t agree more with your comments regarding the staff I have a fantastic team here. The refurbishment work in the ballroom has completely transformed the area hard to believe it’s the same room. I’m sorry to see you were slightly disappointed with your room. As you say Whitby is a great place and I hope you would choose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a coach tour and had a nice break. The hotel was
very comfortable with nice views over Whitby harbour and the abbey. The food was
good and the waiting staff excellent. You can catch the open top hop on hop off bus
right outside the door.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front or side have sea views otherwise you overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your review, we are very lucky to enjoy some of the best views Whitby has to offer. I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to all the team especially the kitchen and restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is a bit old and tired, a bit tatty round the edges, but the staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was waiter service, the food was of a high standard with a good choice. I thoroughly enjoyed the full English. The hotel is well situated for exploring Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. It would appear that we ticked the boxes during your stay. We are fully committed to the refurbishment of bedrooms and public areas with work being continually carried out. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was our first time staying at the Royal and although the hotel itself is quite shabby in areas we didn't let it spoil our time there. The food was very nice, the service was good from friendly staff and we met a very nice couple who shared our table at meal times. Our room was on the third floor at the end of the corridor so was very quiet but didn't have a sea view (we didn't request one so can't complain). It was a good size, however it was supposed to be a refurbished room and the toilet cistern was held together with tape, the tv was as old as the hills and they don't provide toiletries which I think would be a good idea to include in the information about the hotel.

Altogether though a lovely break and we may return next year

Room Tip: Quiet on the 3rd floor, if you have problems with mobility ask for a room on a lower floor as the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppygirl-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and even better that you would consider choosing us again. I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to the team. For future reference our sea view rooms are supplemented and should be requested at the time of booking. Our refurbishment programme is very much ongoing with a large number of bedrooms having been completed with more planned for later in the year. As stated in the information browser in the bedroom complimentary toiletries are available from reception at any time.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal on your next visit to the area.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was my first visit to this hotel and I would recommend it. The staff are nice, polite, efficient and cannot do enough to help you. The room was clean and tidy (ok the decor is a little dated) and I was very surprised at how nice the food was in the hotel!! We also enjoyed the entertainment and look forward to returning quite soon. Thankyou Royal Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior or premier room. These rooms have been upgraded and look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 200Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for your 5* review. It’s clear from your kind words that you enjoyed your stay and even better that you look forward to your next stay. I’ll pass your comments on to the team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First time we have been to stay at Whitby will come again.
impressed by the staff cheerful polite and cannot do enough for you.
read the comments on trip advisor before we travelled,which worried my wife.
we had no needs to worry great entertainment,food good, room clean and tidy.
Impressed with Pawal who served us very quickly in the restaurant and never stopped working
hard through out our stay.
The second person was the receptionist Becky, I was waiting to be attended to when I over heard her dealing with a gentleman who was slow when something was being explained to him.
Having a sister with learning difficulties it was nice to see her take time to deal with this persons problem repeating herself until she was happy that he understood.
It can be difficult dealing with people with problems but she had the patience and a smile to reassure him

Room Tip: room 142 overlooks the sea can sit in the afternoon just watching the boats come in and out of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

What a pleasure to receive your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your first trip to Whitby and chose to stay with us. It would seem we ticked all the boxes during your stay. I am very lucky to have a great team here and it’s great to see such kind comments for both Pawel and Becky both have been with us for a while now and are excellent .
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our first visit to the Royal was in July (26-29). We were so pleased with our stay that we booked to return this month. (19-23 August) Just got home and we have thoroughly enjoyed this second visit as much as the first. Faults? nothing to report. However, we would like a little longer time for dancing at the start of the evening's entertainment. The staff were excellent but perhaps somewhat stretched at mealtimes. Certainly the bar area needs more than one waiter. Otherwise a great hotel. We shall be back early next year if not before.

Room Tip: If you like sunrises choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and are on your way to being one of our many returning guests. Dancing in the evening is very much by request so on your next visit just let Darren/Steve know that you’d like a little bit more. The team do work very hard and I appreciate they can look a little stretched at the busy times, I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to all. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#5 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 19 in Whitby
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing