We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in need of refurbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“in need of refurbish”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

room 326 mattress on bed like a concrete slab ,when lying on bed your feet are above ones head (slopes) and the wind blows a gale through gap very cold through night ,second time had this room and still nothing being done .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your room on both occasions. These rooms are in the process of being refurbished and I would hope you noticed that the room had been redecorated, new carpet fitted since your previous stay and new beds are being delivered as I type this. I trust you will be more comfortable on your next visit.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    385
    221
    118
    65
See reviews for
128
556
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from a Shearings 5 day Celebration break and what a lovely experience my wife and I had at this character hotel. The Shearings organisation was excellent as usual and you couldn't ask for more from a hotel. The food which seems to be a standard menu throughout Shearings hotels was excellent with variety and well cooked. Our room was cleaned and tidied to a high standard every day, the staff were always on hand and helpful and entertainment (including mandatory bingo) was a bonus. Ignore the adverse comments on TripAdvisor. If you have a problem either before or during your stay, and no matter how minor ask a member of staff or phone beforehand and it will be put right for you. There is no point in moaning on TripAdvisor because by then it is too late.

Room Tip: Make requirements clear in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaznChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and it lived up to your Shearings expectations. As you mention we do try to sort any problems if we can. I will pass your comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel. I booked a room with a seaview room and paid extra for an upgrade. The room had stunning views and was very spacious. The bathroom was newly renovated but it did lack any storage shelves. It seemed unfinished with no towel rails or shelves.
This however was the only negative. The staff were very helpful generally. As I had a problem with eating fats they discussed the menus and the chef provided me with low fat alternatives. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning to The Royal.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Many thanks for the 5* review. Our superior and premier rooms continue to be very popular and I will look into your comments regarding storage further. I’m pleased to see we were able to meet your dietary requirements throughout. We hope to see you again at the Royal.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

i came in a weekend break with shearings on march 7 , from the moment we all arrived nothing was to much trouble for your staff , my room was lovely with a really lovely view , beds , bath , shower , our meals was really great , lots of choice and well cooked and presented and thank you to maria as nothing was to much trouble for her , and all your other staff , entertainment was great and joey howard made me laugh so much , it was a break i much needed and i just want to say thank you and well done .....

Room Tip: mine was so very nice 143 and what a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamcatcher_652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Another 5* review, thank you. It’s great to see we met if not exceeded your expectations throughout. I will pass your comments to all and especially Maria and Joey, they will be delighted. We hope to see you again at the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First i am sorry to start with such a headline, but having travelled to many Shearings hotels this was not one of the best. The hotel is in a beautiful spot, gorgeous views,you honestly could not be better placed
We were in room 303, the room was big,and, we had a spacious bathroom, both were spotless.
Here comes the negative. We had large wet patches on our wall, i went down to reception,and told them what we had found, i think there were three in total. It cant be healthy, i said sleeping in a room with wet walls, but i was not offered a change, i was told it would be reported to maintainence, no one came and we nver heard another thing,so i wrote it on the comment sheet, along with the ridiculously small television, so small, you had to bring a chair almost up to the screen. the bathroom had no extractor fan, and our windows would drip with the condensation, adding to the problem of wet walls.
There is a lot of work needs to be done on this hotel, but to expect guests to stay in a room with wet walls, is beyond me.
For us the food was not brilliant, and portion control was rigid, no one was allowed to help their self to cereal, or the juices, and the night we had the beef, although it was delicious, there was very little beef in it.
Once again i am sorry to write these comments, we would still return, but next time we will complain loudly and make a fuss. Sort out your wet walls, tiny televisions, rigid portion control, and spend some of your profit on maintainence, it certainly needs it

Room Tip: Refuse to sleep in a room with wet walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonneRibbleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Firstly I’m pleased to see you enjoyed the stunning views and found your room to be spotless. We are continually refurbishing areas of the hotel with over 50 rooms having been fully refurbished within the past 18 months with more planned over the coming months. I will, however, investigate the issues you encountered.
In saying that, I am pleased to see you would consider staying with us again and hopefully we can meet your expectations on your next visit.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 5 night stay (4 initially) booked extra night on 4th day! This is a golden oldie gem hotel, providing table service, entertainment and such exquisite personal service and such a tasty menu for breakfast and dinner, among its many attributes! The fact that its always full speaks volumes. We had a newly refurbished room for 4 days and a superior room for our last night, only because our first room was booked. Both were extremely pleasant and clean. Nice to see that being grade 2 listed it has to retain its character and is not spoiled by upgrades! Very very warm hotel thruout from heating but most of all from the amazing team of lovely ppl who make the Royal SPECIAL ..A big ty to All and we cannot wait for our "already booked" return

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Wow, what a pleasure to receive your 5* review. It is clear to see from your review and that you stayed an extra night that we ticked the boxes throughout and you enjoyed your stay. I couldn’t agree more on your comments about the team, they are a great bunch and will be delighted by your comments. We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I stay in Whitby between 2 & 4 times a year. I have tried the bay royal several times but they have always been booked up.
Yesterday I noticed rooms available on booking .com. As I was already there I just popped into reception and asked, only to be told they had no rooms? I showed the receptionist on my phone that the website said there was 5 rooms left. She looked again and said yes we do have a room it will be £90 if you book here. She could not match the £55 inc breakfast advertised on the web! I took a look at the room and proceeded to book it at £55 on my phone whilst standing at reception!!! Madness.
The room was spacious and comfortable. That is until the neighbours started using water, it sounded like a hammer drill. Not good @7am.

The breakfast room is 4 consecutive rooms I was given a number the previous night and told I would be shown to my table. I stood at the entrance and waited, after being ignored by 4 members of staff I proceeded to find my table.
The food was very poor, I ordered a full breakfast, the child size portion didn't bother me but the dry bacon hard boiled supposed to be poached egg tepid beans and the Cumberland chipolta needed cooking more evenly. The breakfast is offered at no extra cost but we all know it's not free it's included in the room charge.
No point in complaining as there are many many such complaints already.
I would use bay hotels again but not this one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Overnyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. I will look into your comments regarding the time of booking. Whilst we do offer very competitive tariffs online I am sure some arrangement could have been made here at the hotel. As you can see from numerous other reviews on here, we receive a number of great comments regarding our food offering and I’m sorry that this wasn’t the case in your experience. I hope you would re-consider possibly staying with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing