We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely location, and because of this we have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and will do so again. Our room was a very spacious Superior, with sea view. And well worth the upgrade. Staff are all very efficient and courteous, and cannot be faulted. The hotel itself however is in desperate need of a re-furbish, although obvious steps have been taken to address this, in the reception and bar areas. But the overall feel is faded and shabby. BUT, we definitely will stop here again, for the prime location and friendly staff. It's just the decor that lets it down... And that's a shame.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brendaandalan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m please to see you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the team. Our superior rooms continue to be very popular. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place which is ongoing with bedrooms and public areas and it is nice to see this noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    371
    211
    113
    63
See reviews for
124
535
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I had another fab stay at the Hotel last weekend (23rd May). It's just a great hotel and I can honestly say I've never had a problem staying there.

My room was perfect and was situated on the 2nd floor. The food was great as always and Gabor did a great job serving the food. The staff go out of their way to help you and I was pleased to see Becky is now Head receptionist! Richly deserved as she really takes pride in her job and is really friendly and great to have a laugh with.

I really do like Whitby, so much in fact I keep searching for jobs as I would love to move to the area.

Thank you for another enjoyable stay Vicky, see you all soon in a months time.

Kindest Regards
John

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We look forward to your reviews John and once again you didn’t disappoint. It’s always great to see you and to know you continue to enjoy your stays with us. Both Gabor and Becky will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and pass our best to your Mum.
Vicki and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the Bay Royal Hotel as part of a holiday with Shearings holidays and cannot complain about anything. We paid that bit extra for a premier room and it was worth the extra money. Very very spacious room with an equally spacious bathroom and a stunning view out over the harbour into the north sea. Food very good and enough of it and the service was excellent,good entertainment each evening,quiet room,games room,ballroom and two bars.
Very interesting excursions and our driver (Mark) knew his stuff. Recommend The Eden Camp for a very interesting afternoon and Hemsley Walled Gardens. We may think moorland is just that but there is a lot more to it and Mark gave us a good insight into what it takes to manage thousands of acres of moorland. All in all a very worthwhile trip.

Room Tip: If affordable then a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for the 5* review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay throughout. Our premier rooms are very popular for their size and views alone. I will pass your comments regarding all to the team and also to Mark, he’s a mine of information. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently returned to Whitby for our third holiday at the Royal Hotel. We had not paid for a sea view this time but had up-graded slightly to a Standard Plus Room. I was a little disappointed as, although we had the promised modern tv plus duvets on the bed, there was a very nasty crack in the basin in the bathroom and, after rain, there were large damp stains on the outside wall of the bedroom. However this did not spoil our stay and the room was a good size with two large windows (with a view of a blank wall and a fire escape) - only one window opened and this was kept open by a handy piece of wood on the window sill that was obviously meant for this purpose.
Our holiday was very enjoyable and also very good value. Lovely views of the sea and of the Abbey are to be had from the public rooms. Meals were very good and the service friendly and efficient as well. The resident entertainment host was away the week we were there and information on each evenings entertainment was a little haphazard to say the least but the visiting acts were mainly very good. The sound system on the Monday evening was extremely 'bassy' and rather spoilt the singers act for us but it was better on subsequent evenings.
We visited as part of a Shearing Coach Tour and enjoyed the outing across the North Yorkshire Moors to Helmsley and Pickering although we found so much of interest in Whitby itself that we missed the trip to Scarborough and stayed in the town instead (and enjoyed the local fish and chips!).
This is a lovely old hotel and Whitby is a charming and picturesque place to visit. We will be back again I am sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It’s always great to returning guests continuing to find their breaks good value for money. Our standard plus bedrooms have all been recently refurbished with plans to start on the bathrooms soon. We are very lucky to enjoy the views that we do. I will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this hotel after spending a couple of evening in the bar last September when we were staying in a differenct B&B. The Royal had a very warm relaxed feel and lovely staff and also very clean. This still remains the same for the Bar/public downstairs areas however the complete packaged was a let down in places and not what we had expected from first impressions, but nothing that would require any major complaints just niggles apart from on our arrival day we were having a drink in the games room as the rooms are not available untill 3pm, rather late however approx 2.30pm all the house keeping staff came through the games room, rather loud and in goods spirits, clearly they had finished their shift, one of them moved a chair and as she did this swore very loudly the "F" word, there were some other couple in the games room having a bar meal who also heard this, clearly very not acceptable! first impressions.
The house keeping staff also failed to clean our room on Sunday, we returned after a long day out and could not even make a drink, we asked at reception who said it should have been cleaned and arranged for the tea & coffee tray to be replaced along with toilet roll, the toilet paper dispenser on the wall was empty during the whole of our stay. Towels were not changed at all during the stay, however they are very large and soft.
We had paid extra for a Sea view and I had requested that it was a sea/abbey view and we did get our wish, worth every penny, amazing views to wake upto and also from the shower! however the room is a littled dated and worn,large and have comfy beds but the little extra's that would make a difference were missing, first you are not given complimentary biscuits with the tea & coffee, even the basic B&B leave biscuits, also there are not any drinking glasses on the Tea & Coffee tray. The rooms are very cold all the time, you have no heating control in the room and the 4ft Bathroom window had a 6mm gap that let a very cold draft through, we ended up plugin this witht he bath mat and curtain, the Bath had bits of enamel chipped off and no glass for the toothbrush!.
The waiters work very hard and are very pleasant but the meals time felt rushed, and very regimented, you were in and out like clock work and you had a set amount per person, for example you were given four small new potatoes and a few saute-how many people only have two potatoes??? The veg was fresh, the main resemble a frozen microwave meal that my Teenage son will randomly turn up with. Starter and puddings, ok whole evening meal, nothing to complain about but nothing to praise them for, the meat was tender, but if they added simple cheap extra it would make a big difference, such as stuffing with the Pork, menu stated Apple sauce but they did not have any. I had a chicken a la king and probably six very thin small strips of chicken, you can get more chicken in a supermarket sandwich! but the dish was lovely and tasty, food was always hot. One evening the lady on the table next to us did not like any of the starter, asked the waiter for a very small salad, he went to the kitchen and returned with a orange juice, the kitchen had said no! yet salad was a main meal option and what hotel can not produce a simple salad??????
You have to leave your table and help yourself to coffee from a flask in the bar area, it was only just warm so we did not have it after the first evening as it also tasted like cheap instant coffee.
Breakfast, again, lots of cereal choice, fruit juice, very thin cold toast, "full english" I am not a breakfast person, but this was a child portion, came on a tea plate, so if you love a full hearty english breakfast, you will go hungry. you get one slice bacon, one thin sausage, one egg, dessert spoon baked beans, hash brown and half a fresh tomatoe.
The dining room could have benefited from some low back ground music as it was quite a strange atmosphere.
This hotel is not value for money by any means but quite average, it is in a fantastic location with amazing views and easy two mins to the harbour.

Room Tip: pay for the sea view and put a note on the booking requesting to be the abbey side, you get a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay despite a couple of little niggles. I can only apologise for the incident with my housekeeping staff and please be assured I will investigate fully. I will discuss your points regarding the food with our chefs. We do use a mix of fresh and frozen produce within our menus to ensure consistent quality and value for money for our guests. We hope you will chose to stay with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed 19 – 23 May in Room 319. The room was comfortable although a bit Spartan. Main gripe was the lack of shelf/drawer facilities both in the room and in the shower room. The other big moan was the lack of ventilation in either the bedroom or the bathroom. The window was screwed to the frame although in places there were sizeable gaps around the window.
The food was excellent, well cooked and piping hot; the restaurant staff were very attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Are Shearings struggling or are they loathe to give their hotels a little tlc?
The lift was completely inadequate for the number of guests and in this modern era one would have expected the mechanism to have been able to remember whence came the last request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manofkent99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and found the staff both friendly and efficient. I am aware of a problem with one of the windows in your room however the second window is fully functional. Whilst I appreciate that the lift is a little on the small side, it does cope very well with demand in general. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The place badly needs a makeover, taped up windows and very dated decor. To top it all, in the home of Whitby kippers, I ordered kippers for breakfast and received supermarket boil in the bag ones and not the fresh local kippers that I was so looking forward to.
The evening meal was good value and the entertainment was reasonable.
Overall the experience was only Average!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your evening meals and the entertainment. Our food items are sourced centrally in order to offer the best value for money on our breaks. We hope you would consider staying with us again to allow us to better our average score.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing