We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Hotel, the staff are all wonderful, can't do enough to make you comfortable. The room (we paid for a sea view) was a refurbished, and although the bathroom could have done with re-grouting everything else was fine. The passage ways were in need of a coat of paint although the carpets appeared newish.
The meals appeared smallish quantities but as there was 3 courses they were perfectly adequate (even for my husband). The location is great, wonderful views and the hop on hop off bus stops outside, which was great for tour of Whitby and going up and down to harbour £4 for 24 hrs. Beware of the parking if you are Self Drive as we were, we were told there was no need to book parking, there was, my husband had to park miles away on the 1st day as everywhere was full up. We did manage to pay for a bay at the hotel on the 2nd day, well worth the £5. As usual I can highly recommend Shearing Holidays for value and service. Entertainment very good. We had a leaflet in our room which said if you booked your next break with reception or within 7 days of return you would recieve a discount of 15% for self drive and 20% for coach holidays. I have booked 7 days in Torquay at the end of June and got £48 per person discount. I am looking forward to the next holiday. Thank You Shearings,

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness centre or pool.Pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsy22Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very lucky to have a great team here and I will be sure to pass your comments to all. We have a continual plan of refurbishment going on and I’m pleased you spotted some of the improvements. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Although an older hotel the location is first class. It overlooks the bay at Whitby and across to the Abbey on the other side.

Staff were friendly and the meals were excellent. You could leave your car for the stay and walk to all the sights in Whitby.

Entertainment was lacking though but there was plenty in the town. I would recommend the boat trip for just 20 minutes around the bay and cost just £3 !!. This was the replica of Cooks boat and again a friendly crew.

There is plenty to do for at least 3 days (We had good weather though!)

Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you get a room in the rear as there is plenty of seating in reception etc where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

5* reviews are always a pleasure to receive, so thank you. I’m pleased to see we ticked the boxes throughout your experience and will pass your comments on to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have just returned from a short break in Whitby stayed at the Royal hotel, was disgusted with our standard room which was stated as charming and have everything you would expect! well did not expect ripped bedspread, stained walls and carpet. The window could not be opened due to wood been screwed to frame, television was out of the ark. Went to see if could upgrade our room, only had a premier room left which cost us extra £50 pound. This room was excellent could not have asked for more. Would go back but only in a premier room. The staff are very friendly and the food was ok and the carpark was worth paying £5.00 a day for .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your original room and I will look into the points raised. I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope you would consider staying with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely location, and because of this we have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and will do so again. Our room was a very spacious Superior, with sea view. And well worth the upgrade. Staff are all very efficient and courteous, and cannot be faulted. The hotel itself however is in desperate need of a re-furbish, although obvious steps have been taken to address this, in the reception and bar areas. But the overall feel is faded and shabby. BUT, we definitely will stop here again, for the prime location and friendly staff. It's just the decor that lets it down... And that's a shame.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brendaandalan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m please to see you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the team. Our superior rooms continue to be very popular. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place which is ongoing with bedrooms and public areas and it is nice to see this noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I had another fab stay at the Hotel last weekend (23rd May). It's just a great hotel and I can honestly say I've never had a problem staying there.

My room was perfect and was situated on the 2nd floor. The food was great as always and Gabor did a great job serving the food. The staff go out of their way to help you and I was pleased to see Becky is now Head receptionist! Richly deserved as she really takes pride in her job and is really friendly and great to have a laugh with.

I really do like Whitby, so much in fact I keep searching for jobs as I would love to move to the area.

Thank you for another enjoyable stay Vicky, see you all soon in a months time.

Kindest Regards
John

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank JohnD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We look forward to your reviews John and once again you didn’t disappoint. It’s always great to see you and to know you continue to enjoy your stays with us. Both Gabor and Becky will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and pass our best to your Mum.
Vicki and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the Bay Royal Hotel as part of a holiday with Shearings holidays and cannot complain about anything. We paid that bit extra for a premier room and it was worth the extra money. Very very spacious room with an equally spacious bathroom and a stunning view out over the harbour into the north sea. Food very good and enough of it and the service was excellent,good entertainment each evening,quiet room,games room,ballroom and two bars.
Very interesting excursions and our driver (Mark) knew his stuff. Recommend The Eden Camp for a very interesting afternoon and Hemsley Walled Gardens. We may think moorland is just that but there is a lot more to it and Mark gave us a good insight into what it takes to manage thousands of acres of moorland. All in all a very worthwhile trip.

Room Tip: If affordable then a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks for the 5* review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay throughout. Our premier rooms are very popular for their size and views alone. I will pass your comments regarding all to the team and also to Mark, he’s a mine of information. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently returned to Whitby for our third holiday at the Royal Hotel. We had not paid for a sea view this time but had up-graded slightly to a Standard Plus Room. I was a little disappointed as, although we had the promised modern tv plus duvets on the bed, there was a very nasty crack in the basin in the bathroom and, after rain, there were large damp stains on the outside wall of the bedroom. However this did not spoil our stay and the room was a good size with two large windows (with a view of a blank wall and a fire escape) - only one window opened and this was kept open by a handy piece of wood on the window sill that was obviously meant for this purpose.
Our holiday was very enjoyable and also very good value. Lovely views of the sea and of the Abbey are to be had from the public rooms. Meals were very good and the service friendly and efficient as well. The resident entertainment host was away the week we were there and information on each evenings entertainment was a little haphazard to say the least but the visiting acts were mainly very good. The sound system on the Monday evening was extremely 'bassy' and rather spoilt the singers act for us but it was better on subsequent evenings.
We visited as part of a Shearing Coach Tour and enjoyed the outing across the North Yorkshire Moors to Helmsley and Pickering although we found so much of interest in Whitby itself that we missed the trip to Scarborough and stayed in the town instead (and enjoyed the local fish and chips!).
This is a lovely old hotel and Whitby is a charming and picturesque place to visit. We will be back again I am sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It’s always great to returning guests continuing to find their breaks good value for money. Our standard plus bedrooms have all been recently refurbished with plans to start on the bathrooms soon. We are very lucky to enjoy the views that we do. I will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £77 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing