We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elaine Fletcher”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elaine Fletcher”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My sisters and I visited the Royal whitby in June 2nd to 6th June we had a great time the rooms were clean and comfortable we were in rooms209 and 210 the views were to die for Angela the the lady who cleaned our rooms was lovely and Daniel our waiter was very polite and helpful .......... this was our 4 visit the last 3 visits were not as good that is why we did not come back last year this year we decided to give them another try we are glad we did .......... so Royal keep up the good work ..........Elaine Fletcher Sheffield

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. I couldn’t agree more with the comments about 209 and 210 – the views are quite spectacular. Angela and Daniel will be delighted by your comments, especially Daniel as he had only been with us for a couple of weeks at the time of your stay. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay more than the previous times and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    379
    218
    118
    65
See reviews for
127
547
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Im currently staying here at the minute im within my second day here, the staff are nice and willing to help with anything, my room fabulous and has disabilty accessories which is needed for myself and my waiter michel is very calm, allways saying his manners, poilte and very very busy but alleays has time for people who come in a little later like me.
Excellant

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
5* reviews are always a pleasure to receive – thank you. It would seem we ticked the box throughout and trust it continued for the remainder of your stay. I will pass your comments to all and especially Michael. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel June 20-23 booking with Shearings, whilst we didn't expect 5 star we did think it would be better than it was and find it hard to fathom how they have been awarded a 3 star. We initially booked a standard room but in all honesty it was a bit too basic, bed linen all faded, tiny TV which must have been 20 years old and a tiny bathroom with thin towels, given we were staying for 3 nights we paid for an upgrade which was an extra £75 (for 3 nights) for a better room. The room itself was much better than the standard one and the quality of the towels, and provisions much better however, the upgrade promised good quality mattresses (which they were not) and after a sleepless first night we turned the mattresses to see if that would help only to discover a thick layer of dust on both of the bed bases (not good when one of you has asthma!), one of the bed sheets was stained (which was changed on request) plus the outside of the wardrobe doors were full of stains which looked like someone had opened a bottle of fizzy drink and it had gone everywhere - we also had to request the room was given a general dusting as all the lamps hadn't seen a duster for a while. In addition to the lack of attention in the cleaning department the food was also poor quality so much so that on our last night we couldn't face eating our evening meal in the hotel and decided to go out. The staff on reception and in the dining were very helpful and always courteous.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I was disheartened by the title of your review and I’m sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place with a large number of rooms and public areas already been done which along with the services offered, I believe comfortably sees us in a 3* bracket. I will however look into your comments with my head housekeeper.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel in May 16-19 th accompanied with 2 other persons, they in a large room with 2 single beds and myself in a smaller room with 1 single bed. The rooms were clean, well appointed with desk, closet and easy chair, new t.v.

Bathroom was clean, hair dryer provided.

Meals were excellent, with sufficient quantity, and nicely presented and served in a bright pleasant surrounding.

Wi-fi available but not in the rooms, but it is no hardship to sit in the comfortable reception area were it is available.

I waited 20 years to visit Whitby, the hotel to me was not my focus on visiting Whitby, but as it turned out, it was the cherry on top! I thoroughly enjoyed everything. When I return (for a longer stay hopefully) I will stay at the Bay Royal Whitby Hotel.

Room Tip: I did stay in an upgraded room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We love to receive 5* reviews so thank you. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed everything our newly refurbished rooms have to offer. I will pass your comments onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back (for a longer stay) in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying at this hotel and have another night here and wish we didn't!!! Room is rubbish, not clean!!! Shabby, tea stains up wall, tape on windows that you can't open!!! Food is awful!!! All out of tins,tasteless, we left breakfast, full of grease!!! We came here as been to shearings before and was brill!!! But this place is a let down to there name, this is a 40th birthday celebration which has been marred by this!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank julief74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your short break. I think I have identified your room number by your username and whilst I appreciate it is one of our older rooms, to call it unclean is unfair. I’m surprised by your comments regarding the food as after being on duty myself both Friday night and Saturday morning and speaking with a number of guests (and eating here myself) I heard no other complaints of this nature. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss your comments in person, especially as it would appear your review was written whilst still at the hotel.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have spent the last four nights in this hotel, on a Shearing's coach trip. The check-in was fast and efficient and bags delivered to rooms as quickly as possible. The hotel is, as with a lot of Shearing's Bay hotels, a little tired and need of a bit of TLC, but they can't do everything at once and, as usual, you gets what you pays for - good value for the prce charged. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A special thanks goes to our Lithuanian waiter, Eugene - a lovely man. Also Steve Conroy, who entertains most evenings, is fun and good at his job (thanks for playing all my last minute requests Thursday late night, Steve!). The food is good and, yippee, of a reasonable temperature! Would recommend paying for a sea view, if you can afford it and, unless you are hard of hearing, maybe a good idea not to have one above the ballroom, if you aren't planning to join in the entertainment. The hotel is in a good, high, position above the town and harbour of Whitby (could be a problem for those with walking abilities, although there is a guide bus, which stops actually at the hotel, at very regular intervals, via which you can easily get into town and it's very reasonably priced at £4 for seniors!). I did hear a few grumbles that the drinks could be a little more moderately priced. All in all a very good break in a very pleasant hotel. I shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EtoileSanderstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. Your heading is exactly what we aim to be. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and had no complaints. I will pass your comments onto all of the team and especially to Eugene, he has been with us for many years now and is a valued member of the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Hotel, the staff are all wonderful, can't do enough to make you comfortable. The room (we paid for a sea view) was a refurbished, and although the bathroom could have done with re-grouting everything else was fine. The passage ways were in need of a coat of paint although the carpets appeared newish.
The meals appeared smallish quantities but as there was 3 courses they were perfectly adequate (even for my husband). The location is great, wonderful views and the hop on hop off bus stops outside, which was great for tour of Whitby and going up and down to harbour £4 for 24 hrs. Beware of the parking if you are Self Drive as we were, we were told there was no need to book parking, there was, my husband had to park miles away on the 1st day as everywhere was full up. We did manage to pay for a bay at the hotel on the 2nd day, well worth the £5. As usual I can highly recommend Shearing Holidays for value and service. Entertainment very good. We had a leaflet in our room which said if you booked your next break with reception or within 7 days of return you would recieve a discount of 15% for self drive and 20% for coach holidays. I have booked 7 days in Torquay at the end of June and got £48 per person discount. I am looking forward to the next holiday. Thank You Shearings,

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness centre or pool.Pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsy22Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very lucky to have a great team here and I will be sure to pass your comments to all. We have a continual plan of refurbishment going on and I’m pleased you spotted some of the improvements. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing