We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A room with a view.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a fantastic 2 night stay, our room 208 was immaculate with a fantastic view and all the mod cons. Well worth paying the upgrade. Dinner staff were lovely and food was good, soups beautiful. Location was great as open top bus and ghost walk leave right outside the hotel. Only downside was bar prices, but similar to what I'm used to in Manchester so I put that aside. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay-Hotels, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I couldn’t agree more with the comments about 208 – the views from there are quite spectacular. I shall be sure to pass your comments onto the chef and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    394
    230
    120
    66
See reviews for
134
571
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Don't know where to start on this one..Went here in June for a 3 night weekend break, reception was ok but now find they charge £5 per day to use hotel car park! 1st room was absolutely awful, to small had to turn sideways to get past bed, mould on walls, windows screwed shut paint flaking off, absolutely filthy. complained and was given a room on 3rd floor, this was better but still mould in places, floor seemed at a angle, down 3 steps to use bathroom, dirty shower and cracked sink. Breakfast self service cereals and fruit juice, small cooked breakfast sausage was almost a chipolata, rock hard bacon and runny eggs. evening meal was ok but certainly just up to transport café standard, small potions and overcooked veg. the whole hotel should be shut down and given a Clean and a makeover, I think its the same deco it was 20 years ago, bar prices are on the expensive side compared to the local pubs. On the plus side! good location, good entertainment Saturday night Joey Howard, Not cheap £330 for 3 nights, would have been better to get a room in centre of town for £60 -£75 per night and eaten out, sorry wont be coming back

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BrianBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay-Hotels, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I’m sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place with a large number of rooms and public areas already completed.
The hotel does offer great value for money as previous guest’s reviews show that they found this to be true, especially for when you think of what is included in your price: - breakfast – Cereal, toast, tea / coffee and a cooked breakfast. Evening dinner 3 courses + tea / coffee, comfortable rooms along with evening entertainment all for just £48 per person per night.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is in a stunning location with views across Whitby to the Abbey in one direction and out to sea in the other. Our room (a standard plus) did not benefit from either of these views but was newly refurbished with a nice shower room and was remote from reception and thus very quiet.
The public rooms are very nicely furnished and enjoy the wonderful views, as does the large dining room(s) but the food was disappointing. The menu choices and ingredients were OK but the cooking and presentation were below Shearing's normal standards. The staff were efficient and friendly but it would be nice to see a few locals employed there.
The most disappointing aspect of the hotel is its entrance which is very tired and dilapidated (first impressions!). Also new parking restrictions had been introduced on 1st May in the town which the hotel reception staff did not seem to understand. We had tried to book reserved hotel parking but all spaces had gone and, as we were not told about the adjacent free hotel car park, we spent quite a lot on parking meters.
Overall though this hotel provides great value in this lovely town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtauldbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It’s nice to see the work we have done so far noticed and please be assured there are plans for the entrance areas. I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with the food during your stay and will discuss your comments with the chef. The parking restrictions do cause a bit of confusion but for further visits we have 2 car parks to the rear of the building, one if which is reservable and the other on a first come, first served basis.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My sisters and I visited the Royal whitby in June 2nd to 6th June we had a great time the rooms were clean and comfortable we were in rooms209 and 210 the views were to die for Angela the the lady who cleaned our rooms was lovely and Daniel our waiter was very polite and helpful .......... this was our 4 visit the last 3 visits were not as good that is why we did not come back last year this year we decided to give them another try we are glad we did .......... so Royal keep up the good work ..........Elaine Fletcher Sheffield

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. I couldn’t agree more with the comments about 209 and 210 – the views are quite spectacular. Angela and Daniel will be delighted by your comments, especially Daniel as he had only been with us for a couple of weeks at the time of your stay. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay more than the previous times and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Im currently staying here at the minute im within my second day here, the staff are nice and willing to help with anything, my room fabulous and has disabilty accessories which is needed for myself and my waiter michel is very calm, allways saying his manners, poilte and very very busy but alleays has time for people who come in a little later like me.
Excellant

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
5* reviews are always a pleasure to receive – thank you. It would seem we ticked the box throughout and trust it continued for the remainder of your stay. I will pass your comments to all and especially Michael. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel June 20-23 booking with Shearings, whilst we didn't expect 5 star we did think it would be better than it was and find it hard to fathom how they have been awarded a 3 star. We initially booked a standard room but in all honesty it was a bit too basic, bed linen all faded, tiny TV which must have been 20 years old and a tiny bathroom with thin towels, given we were staying for 3 nights we paid for an upgrade which was an extra £75 (for 3 nights) for a better room. The room itself was much better than the standard one and the quality of the towels, and provisions much better however, the upgrade promised good quality mattresses (which they were not) and after a sleepless first night we turned the mattresses to see if that would help only to discover a thick layer of dust on both of the bed bases (not good when one of you has asthma!), one of the bed sheets was stained (which was changed on request) plus the outside of the wardrobe doors were full of stains which looked like someone had opened a bottle of fizzy drink and it had gone everywhere - we also had to request the room was given a general dusting as all the lamps hadn't seen a duster for a while. In addition to the lack of attention in the cleaning department the food was also poor quality so much so that on our last night we couldn't face eating our evening meal in the hotel and decided to go out. The staff on reception and in the dining were very helpful and always courteous.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I was disheartened by the title of your review and I’m sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place with a large number of rooms and public areas already been done which along with the services offered, I believe comfortably sees us in a 3* bracket. I will however look into your comments with my head housekeeper.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel in May 16-19 th accompanied with 2 other persons, they in a large room with 2 single beds and myself in a smaller room with 1 single bed. The rooms were clean, well appointed with desk, closet and easy chair, new t.v.

Bathroom was clean, hair dryer provided.

Meals were excellent, with sufficient quantity, and nicely presented and served in a bright pleasant surrounding.

Wi-fi available but not in the rooms, but it is no hardship to sit in the comfortable reception area were it is available.

I waited 20 years to visit Whitby, the hotel to me was not my focus on visiting Whitby, but as it turned out, it was the cherry on top! I thoroughly enjoyed everything. When I return (for a longer stay hopefully) I will stay at the Bay Royal Whitby Hotel.

Room Tip: I did stay in an upgraded room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We love to receive 5* reviews so thank you. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed everything our newly refurbished rooms have to offer. I will pass your comments onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back (for a longer stay) in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing