We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had eight days at this hotel we were very disappointed for the money we paid we would expect a four star hotel we would not give it one star the bedroom we had the bed was hard the springs came up in the night the mattress was black the wallpaper was coming off the walls windows very old need replacing by double glazing the food was standard but the staff were very good we booked this holiday with shearings the hotel is owned by them driver very good at his job mick and Jill dunstable

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed during your break. Whilst we don’t claim to be 4 star your description of less than 1 star does seem rather harsh. As you have given your name on your review I will identify your room and look into the issues raised although I have never seen a black mattress of any kind in the building. I’m pleased to see your comments regarding my staff and will pass these on.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Am writing review here as Shearings did not publish it - presumably because it was under 4 stars. The hotel is in a great location but in need of modernising and the food was of poor quality and over cooked. Heaven knows what foreigners must think of British hotels as they are so below the standard one gets abroad. What did spoil our holiday was the monosyllabic driver. We would probably go again but eat out if we could get a cheap Shearings deal and a different driver. The plus side of the hotel was the staff who were friendly & helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank CheeseEatersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I was disappointed to receive your review. We value all feedback regardless of good or less favourable. We are indeed in a fantastic location with some of the best views in the North East. We have invested largely in the building over the past 18 months with over 50 bedrooms and our ballroom having been fully refurbished with more planned for later in the year. It is very unusual to see comments like these on our drivers who are usually deservedly highly praised. I do however appreciate your comments regarding the team at the hotel. It is pleasing to see you would consider staying with us again.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our second visit to the royal we last visited 6 years ago and we had a lovely time and could not fault anything and it was great value for money,this time however we were very disappointed,we paid for a room upgrade but although the room had been redecorated I.e painted the bathroom was very poor,the shower was awful ran hot and cold and the tray overflowed the outlet was blocked,the taps dripped needed new washers.we had no luggage stand in our room we reported this at reception and we're told that if we paid an extra supplement we could have one as this was not provided even though our travel companions who paid exactly the same as us had one in there room,the reception manager was very rude and said we should have paid more for our holiday if we wanted extra facilities.The only good thing about our trip was superb waiter who served us,his name was Eugene he was so nice and nothing was to much trouble.We were on the third floor and as there is only one very old lift which could only carry a maximum of four people we were always waiting and queuing for it.On our departure day our coach was leaving at 8.15am but the dining hall did not open until 7.30am so we had to rush our breakfast.

Room Tip: You will only get a room with a nice sea view if you pay extra,on top of all the other supplements y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

the room was newly decorated,and clean but why do we have to pay twenty pounds per person above the going rate for the privilege of staying in that room. which has a wardrobe that wont hold clothes for a day never mind five days,i do like to change my clothes each day morning and evening so you can see the problem. and the charge of almost £10 for two drinks is a bit over the top. we come to this hotel four times a year as we have done for the past fourteen years,as we started to come to see the fabulous duo wett and wilde who we have not seen there for a while ,are you having them back any time soon . must mention the waiters ,bar staff and cleaners ,they were wonderful .

Room Tip: guess you will have to pay extra £20 if you want a clean room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank normabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Our standards plus rooms are proving very popular and most seem to think they are worth that little bit extra for the slightly larger and quieter rooms with modern facilities. I’m confused by your comments regarding the wardrobes as all rooms and certainly the refurbished ones are fitted with either single or double wardrobes based on the planned occupancy of the room. Wett and Wilde were indeed a fantastic part of the team here for a number of years. Whilst there are no immediate plans for them to return to the hotel, I would never say never and we would be glad to see them play again at the hotel. I will pass your comments onto the team.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We called in here for a drink last Friday night and what a disappointment. Granted we were only in the bar and toilet but what a disgrace they are. The drinks are expensive to. We visit Whitby nearly every weekend but won't be coming back here I'm afraid.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay-Hotels, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your short visit into the hotel, our Lounge Bar offers a relaxed lounge with stunning views out. It is re-furbished along with new tables, comfortable chairs and sofas as is our reception area. We do also have a newly refurbished Ballroom which is open to non residents were you can relax, enjoy the entertainment whilst enjoying a drink from the bar.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

upgraded to a sea view
stayed july 4th-6th 2014
Room 229 second floor room was clean with a good shower
Food was ok i'm a bit fussy with food
Breakfast is spot on
The staff are extremely polite and helpful
Whitby is such a beautiful place and the hotel location is perfect
Next time we visit we will upgrade to the superior room
This hotel is very big and in time will be upgraded this takes massive amounts of money
some of the reviews are rather harsh
Its a great hotel great view great place
we love the hotel and will be back

Room Tip: always upgrade to a sea view worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IFTIKARTAXIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay-Hotels, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your kind and understanding review on the hotel. Our Superior Rooms are defiantly worth that extra cost, which again offer amazing views of the Harbour / Abbey or the Pier / Sea. I’m sorry to read that you didn’t find evening meal to be more to your liking, please inform us on your next visit if there is nothing to your liking on the menu and we shall be sure to cater for you and offer you an alternative.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the near future
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just been to this hotel with Shearings,paid full price and extra for sea view. Food,staff and location excellent. One big tip, DO NOT GET ROOM 201 !!!!!!!!. view is fantastic but it stops there. Bath panel broken and taped up (tape old and frayed),sink loose,carpet old & stained, mildew on tiles over the bath and sink, telly remote filthy, holes drilled in wall & entrance door damaged on outside (probably because door jams on frame). Also beds lumpy. Overall decor old and drab (brown and cream every where). Room not cleaned properly when arrived (dust everywhere) & poorly cleaned on a daily basis. Reported this to manageress 04/07/2014 who said she would go up and look at room while we were out for the day - NO RESPONSE !!!!!. We didn't ask to be moved because we had adjacent room with our traveling companions and the view was wonderful.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank telNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay-Hotels, Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay 7 night stay. Whilst I appreciate room 201 is one of our older rooms, to call it unclean I feel is unfair. We have an extensive refurbishment program in place with a large number of rooms and public areas already completed.
However it is nice to read that you found the food and staff to be excellent, along with enjoying and taking in the beautiful views the hotel and indeed room 201 have to offer, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing