We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at the Royal from 18th to 21st July - my first visit to Whtby, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We paid for a seaview room, and were on the 3rd floor so had an amazing view across to the Abbey. The room was very nice, very clean and the bathroom had a walk in shower which is what we had requested.. We enjoyed all our meals in the hotel, and our waiter Roland was always very pleasant, polite and helpful.
The entertainment was good - the comedian on the Saturday night was very funny indeed, and the singer on Friday was very good too. It was nice to see cabaret artists who don't have to revert to bad language.
All in all, an excellent stay - the staff were very helpful, especially as my partner had ordered surprises for me as in champagne, strawberries and flowers. Thank you to all of them. We are now trying to organise a trip to a Tinsel and Turkey weekend in November. See you then, Bay Royal.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for a sea view room. Definitely worth paying for reserved parking - we went ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannieb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
5* reviews are always a pleasure to receive, so thank you. It’s great to see we obviously ticked the boxes throughout and I will pass your comments to the team especially Roland.
We look forward to seeing you later in the year for your Tinsel and Turkey break.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    371
    211
    113
    63
See reviews for
124
535
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Hotel is lovely. We had a sea view room on the first floor and the view was stunning! he room and bathroom were very spacious and beautifully clean. 99.9% of the staff were friendly and helpful. Did not go to the entertainment as the bar was too pricey for us and the draught beer and lager were not very good for the price. The downside for us was the food and the service in the dining room. There was a very good choice on offer (three starter, three main course and three deserts), it was all beautifully presented and looked amazing. The only trouble was it did not have any taste! As for the waitress every meal time we had to ask for something that should have ben on the table. The first morning she forgot out tea and coffee and when reminded she brought a pot of tea for one (there were five of us) and gave it to the person who had ordered coffee! Another time no desert cutlery again when reminded she brought one set and was disgruntled when we pointed out none of us had any and came back and dumped too much on the table. One day we came down to breakfast to see a handful of butter thrown on the table and no preserves when we asked for some more eye rolling and she didn't like us asking for it to be put in a dish! The only time she asked if we wanted anymore toast or tea was on the last day. It is the first time I have never left a tip in the restaurant.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a sea view. Only one lift and lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased we were able to meet your requests, even on short notice and that you were more than happy with your accommodation. We are indeed in a fantastic location. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIDLINGTON, EAST YORKS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Back in February we (wife and I, retired) had been on a self drive weekend to a bay hotel in Llandudno where the basic room we had had was poor, to say the least. It came as a pleasant surprise that the "basic" room we had, on the first floor, although totally lacking a view was pleasantly large, and the window opened, (hot weather during our stay) and the bathroom was large and relatively well appointed, everything worked. The decor of the hotel is rather out of date, and the place has the atmosphere of faded grandeur we have come to expect, but good value for money with good views from the public rooms, a commanding position on the clifftop,meals of the usual "bay" type,nothing special but quite adequate. I can`t comment on the entertainment, as we didn`t go, but I got the impression that over the weekend we were there the attendance was thin, this may be due to the world cup final, or the good weather. A final point, we tried to book the £5 per day car parking but were told this was full, however when we arrived at lunchtime on the Friday we were told to use the "gravel" car park, owned by the Hotel, immediately to the rear, and this was free! This free car park does fill up rather rapidly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEAGULL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. we have an extensive refurbishment program in place with a number of rooms and public areas already being done. Having said that I am aware of areas still requiring some attention. The views from many areas of the hotel are indeed stunning.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

What do we look for in a hotel.
1- Consider what we paid if you pay 5 star money you should expect 5 star treatment we paid 2 star money and received 4 star treatment.
2- Is our bedroom clean with nice white towels and sheets the Royal certainly came up trumps on all counts our sea view room was very nice indeed.
3- Was the food good enough for the money we paid the Royal certainly passed this test the food was served quickly, it was hot and mostly tasty ( I find all hotels really struggle with vegetables).
Breakfast was very good with nothing to much trouble for our waiter, if we wanted something different or extra it was brought without hesitation.
4- Entertainment good, resident Steve works hard to keep all the old people happy.
WARNING- After booking the holiday with Shearings and taking what was advertised on the web site which said we would be back in Bath on the last day at 5-30pm and me assuming we were going from Bath to Whitby and from Whitby to Bath all this being totally wrong.
When the itinerary arrived we were being picked up in Bath then taken to interchange and what made things worse the arrival back home was changed to 6-40pm absolutely no good to us as we had a diner date at 7pm
I decided to drive myself and this was the best decision I could have made as the journey up on the coach from Bath took 10 hours and from Bournemouth 12 hours the passengers were certainly not looking forward to the return journey home.
Suggestion to anyone booking a coach trip, ask if you are being taken straight to your destination and not to their awful interchange depots.

Room Tip: Our sea view room was very spacious, clean and tidy. Number 337
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. it would seem from your review that we ticked the boxes throughout and that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to offer good value for money and I’m pleased that was the case in your experience.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I did notice the hotel was in urgent need of a make over, but the room we had was very nice plenty of room and comfortable, we had a wonderful view from our bedroom window. We only had breakfast it was ok the usual full English not massive but adequate for me, my son chose kippers!! plural !! but it was a small portion, he did say it was tasty so he was happy. The lift was a joke so tiny as quite a lot of the people there were elderly I guess they would have a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Whilst there are still some areas of the hotel to be refurbished, we have done over 50 rooms and our ballroom over the past 18 months. I agree that unfortunately our lift is slightly smaller than expected for the size of the building but in general it copes very well with demand.
We hope you would consider staying with us again when next in the area.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had eight days at this hotel we were very disappointed for the money we paid we would expect a four star hotel we would not give it one star the bedroom we had the bed was hard the springs came up in the night the mattress was black the wallpaper was coming off the walls windows very old need replacing by double glazing the food was standard but the staff were very good we booked this holiday with shearings the hotel is owned by them driver very good at his job mick and Jill dunstable

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I’m sorry to see you were disappointed during your break. Whilst we don’t claim to be 4 star your description of less than 1 star does seem rather harsh. As you have given your name on your review I will identify your room and look into the issues raised although I have never seen a black mattress of any kind in the building. I’m pleased to see your comments regarding my staff and will pass these on.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Am writing review here as Shearings did not publish it - presumably because it was under 4 stars. The hotel is in a great location but in need of modernising and the food was of poor quality and over cooked. Heaven knows what foreigners must think of British hotels as they are so below the standard one gets abroad. What did spoil our holiday was the monosyllabic driver. We would probably go again but eat out if we could get a cheap Shearings deal and a different driver. The plus side of the hotel was the staff who were friendly & helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CheeseEatersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I was disappointed to receive your review. We value all feedback regardless of good or less favourable. We are indeed in a fantastic location with some of the best views in the North East. We have invested largely in the building over the past 18 months with over 50 bedrooms and our ballroom having been fully refurbished with more planned for later in the year. It is very unusual to see comments like these on our drivers who are usually deservedly highly praised. I do however appreciate your comments regarding the team at the hotel. It is pleasing to see you would consider staying with us again.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing