We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings you need to invest money in this hotel - DECORATE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Sorry but I have to agree with the bad reviews that I have seen. The hotel could do with a lick of paint on the inside doors it was all chipped. We had a lovely weekend generally but the hotel spoilt it for us. The food was disgusting they could not even manage to do roast potatoes to go with the beef. We had Potatoe croquettes Dinner was 6.30pm - 8.00pm and it was all rushed to get you in and out. The staff were nice but I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. Shearings who own it really need to invest some money into it. Sorry shearings you may get the bookings but you need to invest some ot the money that people spend to stay there on the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SophieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,044 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2009

I have read the other reviews about this hotel and can't belive it was the same one. My husband and i have just returned after having a few days there. We have recently had our ruby wedding anniversary, but did not celebrate as we would have liked because i had just come out of hospital. So our trip was to celebrate and recuperate. We went with Shearings. All staff were excellent. meals were fantastic. Bedroom was comfortable. Service always with a cheerful comment and a smile. We had some good company with another couple on our dining table. Enjoyed hilarious entertainment.
The only problem we had was that we did not know that all feader coaches went to stratton and we had to wait there for another coach going and returning. Unfortunately when I did get home I was exhausted after such a long day. Otherwise excellent little holiday, reasonably priced, good value all round .
Would go again but would self drive or at least park the car at stretton.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyHealdGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

In the main I agree completely with the comments of PSBTexas from Dallas Texas. My wife and I stayed 8th-12th Sep 2008. Our major criticism must be directed at our bedroom on the third floor overlooking the car park. The decoration was very poor and we feel that the bedroom staff because of this are having their work made very difficult to clean the rooms. The wall between the two windows was damp/wet from floor level to about four to five feet. The single glazed wooden framed windows were mouldy and the paint work almost non existent. The water pressure was poor in the bathroom and the water only luke warm by 8 a.m. One of the beds had an over size mattress which over lapped the bed frame.
The Dining room decor and furniture was of a good standard but our food was served only warm and on cold plates. Certainly the Head Chef and his staff have little pride in what they are presenting. The waiters seemed to be training for a marathon and almost ran in and out of the rooms - but they were all very pleasant with the diners.
The Hotel is very 'tired' and there appears to be little management supervision. The problems of our bedroom were reported to the receptionist on our second day but we heard nothing in response.
The Resident Entertainment Duo worked so very hard and were extremely professional in their cabaret presentation.
This was our third 'Shearings' (and last) holiday as we feel that we became part of a captive group of people who fill the rooms and satisfy the statistics and accountants of the company.
Unless money is spent on this hotel and management show an interest and present themselves, the staff will not have the incentive to be associated with a standard which at the moment is far from satisfactory.

Stayed: September 2008
6  Thank bunnymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Whitby for large family gathering to celebrate a 90th birthday. For that sort of occasion this kind of hotel works as the older members in the party don’t have to walk far for their meals & entertainment. Just not this hotel.

This hotel is booked through Shearings which is a package holiday company. The price we paid included breakfast and dinner. I don't think it can be booked any other way as I could find it anywhere else when I was doing research.

The hotel is very run down with little to no money being spent on its upkeep from what I could tell. The photos of the Shearings website must have been long ago as the only one that is still realistic is the dining room which was the only room that appeared to be recently painted.

Our room ranked poor to fair. The bathroom towels were very poor and the shampoo etc was in envelopes rather that miniatures. Thankfully we brought our own. The sliver ring around the drain was half gone and the grout around the tub was rusted. On the upside the water pressure was good. The bedroom carpet looked dirty and the window surrounds were all chipped white paint.

We had breakfast and dinner in the dining room every day. Breakfast was always the same, dinner was different. The staff appeared to be trained to get the food out as quickly as possible. No breaks between courses which didn't make for a pleasant dining experience. Our wait person, Louisa, however was very pleasant and deserves a mention.

There was entertainment in the evening but that consisted of mainly ball room dancing. There was a pool and snooker table in another room. There isn't really anything for the younger guests.

The public areas (hallways, doorways, and stairs) are all very run down. It seems the hotel does not feel it is necessary to paint or replace carpet.

My first impression was not good and didn't get better. Maybe if we were not paying $200 a night I could have justified it but for me I would have rather found a better kept hotel with the option to eat in or out of the hotel.

PLUS - Good location. Good water pressure in the shower. Friendly waitress in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank PSBTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014
Thank liliy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing