We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Overall the hotel is basic. The room was clean but dated. The bath was held together with red tape, the toilet was coming loose from the floor, but thankfully was not leaking. Complimentary toilteries consisted of 2 very small tablets of soap. We had to sleep with the windows open as the room was extremely hot and the radiators could not be turned down. The room next to ours had a sign on the door which read " Chemical hazard - do not enter!"

The food was very poor and despite there only being 60 of the 200 rooms occupied (we checked), everyone was cramped together in a small corner of the dining room. Overall the hotel had as much character as a Travel Lodge. Would not return

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dacrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

we stayed at the royal on the 4th jan till the 8th, we arrived after a long trip from plymouth leaving at 6.30 am and arriving[ after changing at coventry] at 18.30, your bags are taking to your room [but we took ours lol] we had room 114 which is above the ballroom and the first night we could hear the resident entertainers voice muffled and clapping but it didnt bother us , the room its self is basic but very warm, the bathroom was freezing but after we put towels along the ledge of the window and kept the towel rail on and curtains closed it soon warmed up also leave the shower on for about 10 mins and it will be lovely and warm , the only reason the bathroom was cold is because it is a grade 2 listed building and the council will not let them change like for like.
when you go down to dinner, you are allowed to wear jeans and all the staff are very freindly, there is always a choice of 3 things on each bit of the 3 course menu and the food is very good and lots of it, the only thing i did not like was the porridge as it taste like it is made with water and not milk but apart from that the food was fab and i even tried some things i didn't think i would like and found i did.
we sat at table 7 and on the next table we had two london girls called caroline and joan [ thanks for the loan of the card caroline lol] and a dear old lady called constance who was abs a gem and at 85 had so much energy i hope i will be like that at that age so hi girls and if you read this ans back here i will look out for it.
Tuesday we went to helmsley and pickering which was a great day out and martin our coach driver for sherrings was very knowledgeable about everything, Wednesday was a free day so we walked through the snow and got down to the town across the bridge and up the 200 steps to the abbey which was closed but you could still walk about, and to top it off we had a blizzard it was brilliant, then it was down to the chip shop by the bridge to get some chips to warm up, after we went back to the hotel for a cuppa [ tea and coffe facilitys in room] then back out for a walk along the beach and back again along the coastal path to the hotel, Thursday was a planned trip but we didn't go and chose to do our own thing going back to the abbey [which was open] and walked around inside with your own litttle phones that you can put a number in and listen to narrations about different parts of the abbey it is a beautifull place and well worth the climb up and we got some fab pics to remind us of a brilliant week in proper snow that certainly blew away our xmas cobwebs, it was the first time we had gone on a coach holiday and was booked last min costing only 98 pound each which for what we got was certainly value for money ,would we go again yes most certainly
ange and chris from plymouth xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ps the entertainment at night was a bit hit and miss or as the entertainers were called wet and wild which we had two nights running as the snow stopped wednesday act turning up and thursday was a comic both of the acts were in their late 50's but you dont have to go in to watch there is a quiet room and a bar or just go back to your room and watch tv up to you really x

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank devoncowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The weekend was bitterly cold and icy and that was inside the hotel! It is a nice building but would cost many thousands to mak ecomfortable. Everywhere was freeezing. We were given an electric fire to try to heat our 3rd floor room to an acceptable heat.If you stood 3ft away from the window you could still freeze from the draught around the windows! The public rooms were comfortably furnished but desperately needs new carpets which are dangerous for anyone unsteady on their feet or with visual problems as the carpets have rucks in them.As we are in 2010 maybe the owners (Shearings) could equip their beds(Comfortable) with duvets. A blanket and anextremely heavy counterpane is totally inadequate for below zero temperatures and as most people have duvets why not join even the later 20th century let alone the 21st! This hotel shows why people go abroad-almost every hotel has duvets and certainly double glazing. we wer told that updating is taking place this year but as the Hotel is open all year how are they gomg to manage this. Apparently this story has been repeated for years and nothing will ever happen. Do not go to this hotel especially in the winter.We paid extra for a sea view. Do not bother as it is mainly a view of the harbour and the sea view has nothing to recommend it. The food was ok but service was rushed tho good.The hotel was reasonably clean. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My parents have just arrived back from a week in the Royal at Whitby with Shearings.
They are in there 80s and have had a excellent time (in there words).
The room, we paid extra for a sea veiw and superior room was very good (I have seen photos) the rest of the hotel was also very good. The food was good and so was the service, as far as they are concerned they have had a very good time.
We only booked this hotel a few days before they were due to go. When I read the reveiws I was a little worried as they are fussy, but they were over the moon when they phoned to let me know they had arrived.
They met some very nice people and had an excellent time while they were there and they enjoyed the entertainment. The break was everything they hoped it would be.
I would have no hesitation in going to this Hotel myself.

Elaine

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaineLSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We had a weekend at the Royal in Whitby and after reading some of the reviews we were, to put it mildly, a bit concerned. However, on arrival the huge hotel was warm and welcoming and the staff very helpful. Our room on the 2nd floor which we had paid to upgrade to superior seaview was huge with very modern decor and a brilliant brand new bathroom. Food was excellent, imaginitive and plentiful and the dining room very well appointed. The only thing we could say was not brilliant was the ballroom, even the entertainer commented that he hadn't seen wallpaper like it since the 50's, but I would guess they are upgrading gradually and it will be done eventually. Evening entertainment was pleasant, a quiz followed by a singer and dancing. All in all we had a great time here, good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bear088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

we have been going to whitby for 10 yrs and have booked several hotels including the royal on 4 occasions. It has never been updated and i must say the food and choice has got worse with every year. Our last room had newspaper around the window because rain was pouring in.
The menu has very little choice and the stroganoff looks nothing like it should. my advice is that if you want cheap and a bed then stay here but dont expect anything special.
we shall not book ever again
the sights are fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wozzer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

When we eventualy decided on the Royal after looking at numerours others, we found it ticked all the right boxes! as my husband is disabled we need a lift and also evening meal, as we didnt want to be trudging out looking for places to dine.The food was hot and served quickly, there was good choice of evening meals, the tables were set nicely, we nevr left the table hungry. The lift is small but the only time it is busy is when people are checking out and maybe if you all decide to go for breakfast/dinner at the same time, otherwise there is no problem, there is ample room to sit in the lounges and there is also a quiet room and snooker/pool table. When we went up to the bedroom I must admit I was pleasantly surpised, 2 big widows, loads of space, yes the tv was a bit outdated, but I didnt go away to watch tv I can do that at home,big bathroom lovely clean towels and bed lined, our room was on the 2nd floor. There was entertainment on both Friday.Saturday whilst we were there and WOW!! if you get the chance to listen to the young Philipino man Joel! ohh he was fantastic! he looks so tiny when he walks out onto the floor but then!! when he starts singing!! All in all I would deff go again and one of the best thingS I noticed there were no kids! screaming n shouting! heaven! will look forward to out next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelyspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing