We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveller rating
246
470
283
145
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
470
283
145
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive sea view small lift shearings hotels shearings holiday evening entertainment turkey and tinsel coach driver national holidays premier room half board lovely old hotel open top bus bit dated plenty of hot water great position plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a typical coach hotel in that it is clean, well run but a bit faded. The window on in my bathroom would not close, luckily the weather was very hot. The breakfast was good. The evening meal was a choice of three starters, three main courses and three desserts. Sometimes the choices on offer were not to my liking. I travelled with Shearings Coaches.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John1956a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having just spent 5days at the royal in Whitby felt l had to write a review on the hotel itself the location was lovely the room furniture was quiet shabby and needed updating TV too small needed more lighting in rooms being partially sighted the room appeared dark what really let the hotel down was the food what ever happened to plain food not everybody likes spicy food ,rice ,fish the portion sizes were terrible very small the last night the dessert was the cause of sum hilarity a tiny portion on dinner plate the menu needs to be for everyone 2 potatoes on the plate is not enough needs more variety in meats staff were pleased helpful nothing too much trouble

Room Tip: Higher floors have best veiws
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to see not everything was to your liking during your recent stay. We are in the process of upgrading the televisions in the rooms. Our menus are planned with a view to offering something for everyone and I'm sorry to see that was not your experience. I will look into the comments you have made.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Stayed at the Royal two years ago and decided on a return trip to Whitby so rebooked the Royal.
We had a std room and paid extra for a sea view. The room was the same colour as our previous visit, Battleship grey. The room was a bit shabby but clean and tidy. The window was rotten and would not close, the TV was small and had limited stations, the kettle took ages to boil. Moving to the bathroom although everything worked and there was plenty of hot water, the shower screen seal was thick with mould,the toilet roll holder was broken along with various wall tiles the fan if there was one did not appear to work and the bathroom was very steamy.
We stayed half board and had no complaints about the food, ok it’s not a Michelin 5 star restaurant but the food was well cooked and presented by efficient staff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DibblesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, it is always nice to see returning guests. i will investigate the issues you raised and take action where neccessary. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Stayed beginning of Sept with 2 friends in single rooms on firstloor.
The rooms were perfectly adequate looked newly refurbished the only complaint about room was the fact that the carpet was filthy stained all over I was had taken some flat sandals which I used as slippers. I had prior to holiday informed Shearings of our mobility problems and booked rooms on first floor near stairs the lift is hopeless as it only holds four slim people Our main complaint was the food it was all frozen nothing fresh this was told us when we complained she also told us behind reception that it had to be all rewarmed at evening as the Chef finished after breakfast cleared and he left at 11am. Out of 4 days we ate out twice We will not be travelling with Shearings again

Room Tip: If have mobility issues ring Shearings ask for 1st floor near stairs or lift as each floor has lots of steps once on floor
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Taylor205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay.I will look into the comments abut the carpet in your room which is a shame in what you describe as a refurbished room. Your comments regarding the food and chef situation confuses me greatly. We have a full time kitchen team and whilst some of them may finish shifts at 11am they are then back in each evening from 4pm. I am sure you would agree with 210 guests in the building it is unacheivable to simply re-heat in the evenings nor the service we would ever provide. I will be investigating the info which you were given and identifying its source as you have been very clearly misled.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

The Bay Royal is set on a headland overlooking the Abbey. Something of a hike getting up from the waterside to the hotel, but worth it for the view.

Check in was good. We hadn't reserved a paid-for parking spot as only a few can be pre-reserved, but they had plenty of open spaces in their free car park - we arrived early with that in mind..

Check in was good. The room was quite large, which is often the case with Shearings' Bay and Coast & Country Hotels . Most of their hotels have been really top-notch properties in their day, with plenty of space. The Royal is no exception. As an old building, we did not expect it to be in top condition and were told that they are refurbishing as and when possible.

We were on the 3rd floor in a spacious twin bed room, paying for an upgrade to a sea view - what a view it was, overlooking the pretty harbour, Whitby Abbey and the ocean. The room furnishings were in good condition, with comfortable beds. The bathroom was large enough, but badly in need of a thorough clean, the inside of the rather small shower compartment in particular.

There were several lounges on the ground floor and a small outside terrace facing the sea. We were on a half board and a table number was allocated on check-in so no queuing at meal times!! The food was good. The buffet breakfast offered cereals, bread, eggs, bacon, sausage etc whilst dinner was waiter service and ordered from a 3 course menu. There was always a meat, fish, veggie and salad choice with a different Chef's Choice each evening.

The Hotel is near to the Whitby centre. albeit quite high up which could be a problem for guests of limited mobility. The Open-Top bus goes right past the hotel, with tickets for valid for 24 hours. The Whitby Pavilion is very near, within easy walking distance and is used for varied entertainments.

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, several have worked there for quite some years which is always a good sign.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.It certainly reads as though we ticked the box throughout. I will pass your comments to the team and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews