We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveller rating
253
479
290
149
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
479
290
149
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive sea view small lift shearings hotels shearings holiday coach driver evening entertainment national holidays premier room half board meal times open top bus bit dated plenty of hot water plenty of choice great position fruit juice
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mixed reviews and I can see why! If you want to enjoy Whitby the hotels location is very good - stunning views from the downstairs lounge if you don't have a room with a sea view. Downstairs the hotel is kept in good order and the Christmas decorations for our Turkey and Tinsel 5 day Coach Tour were impressive.
The rooms are mixed and there are some simple maintenance/decor issues that could be fixed but aren't being fixed probably due to this hotel running on a strict budget.
The budget shows through to the meals and "festive" entertainment promised! As we were on the Turkey and Tinsel break we were promised festive meals and entertainment but were badly let down. The festivities were confined to a budget of:- one little glass of mulled wine, one mince pie, Santa in a multicoloured suit (part had been lost including the false Santa belly and replaced in a different shade of red!), Christmas Day dinner MISSING stuffing, pigs in blankets, Yorkshire Puddings, Cranberry Sauce and Apple Sauce - BUDGET Catering.
The only festive entertainment we saw (we dressed up in Christmas outfits with flashing lights and headwear!) was a request to enter the ballroom and sing our own Christmas Carols to ourselves and play bingo. All the other "entertainment" was as it was the rest of the year from people who'd given up earning good money for the mediocrity of working in a Shearings Hotel with guaranteed audiences (until after the bingo finished!).
Overall we had a great holiday mainly because we had a good journey, good coach driver (Ryan was entertaining and had great local knowledge as he lives in Scarborough) and good trips out to York, Scarborough and Beverley.
It was a value holiday but with more imagination, which costs nothing, it could have far more festive at least from the entertainment side - "It was sold as Turkey and Tinsel"
And a maintenance man with a paintbrush to paint the window and window sill in the room would take someone two minutes but would vastly increase the first impression of room 329 which had already been mentioned in previous reviews, but obviously had not been acted upon.
Hopefully these constructive comments will be acted upon as this hotel has the potential to please all guests and not just score average overall, but needs some investment in the rooms and entertainment.

Room tip: Go for the Sea View
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We value all feedback and will look into the issues you experienced and take action where necessary. Our tinsel and turkey breaks continue to be very popular and every effort is made to offer a festive feel throughout. I'm sorry if this was not the case in your experience. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was part of a large party at this hotel where 2 of our group suffered thefts from their room, 2 handbags were taken from the rooms which were near fire escapes and open doors, when reported to the management of the hotel the response was disgraceful, no interest or sympathy were shown just a casual comment to call the police, the 2 ladies are pensioners and obviously very upset, the management should hang their heads in shame, overall the hotel is a dump, the food was good & obviously had a lovely view but I would never stay here again. The management need to attend a course on customer service as quite frankly they're garbage

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
7  Thank braddas2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm rather disturbed to read your review and would like to investigate this further. I would appreciate it if you could contact either myself, Heidi or Karen direct at the hotel on 01947 602234 to allow us to obtain some more information.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here in july and i said i would comment after we had eaten not realising you cant post again for 3 months! Well to continue from my last post the food was out of this world ! Lol . There was plenty of choice, plenty on our plate, lovely attentative staff. Well worth the money we paid - dont know how they do it for price. Thankyou for a lively break

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for another great review. I'm pleased to see we didn't disappoint. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal hopefully in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel very good,booked Superior room (203) overlooks Harbour,excellent.Never can fault Shearings breaks,don't know how they do it for the money? Credit to driver Darius for getting through the hair-raising moors in the dark.Credit to ALL Hotel staff,especially super-efficient waitress Anico?Entertainer Paul Tilley was excellent,as was Resident compere/entertainer/all-rounder Steve Conroy.He seemed to genuinely enjoy his job,brilliant man.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mewriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass your comments to the team and especially Aniko and Steve. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were shocked upon arrival to find our self drive break coincided with 3 coaches of people celebrating a turkey and tinsel week!
We had not been informed of this theme when we booked.

Annoyed we had paid in advance for secured parking as we had been led to believe the free parking may not be available. We found the large hotel free car park was empty.

As former guests at the hotel we were disappointed this time with the quantity and quality of the food especially the evening meal.
The restrictive 1 hour time slot in which all guests have to dine did not allow us to indulge in the relaxing break we had anticipated.
We therefore ate over half of our meals outside the hotel.

The hotel does not appear to lend itself at all to independent travellers even though they are encouraged to stay.

Our biggest shock/anger came upon leaving when we saw into nearby rooms and realised how we should have complained about the state of our room no 306.
It was only a standard room but I would never allow anyone to sleep in my own home in such conditions.
Grab rail over bath red rust - bathroom window fastened with sticky tape and chairs all worn.

Loved Whitby and the position of the hotel and most of the public rooms. But the room and the food etc. left a lot to be desired unfortunately.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 705janetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. Our Tinsel and Turkey breaks continue to be very popular and these run from the beginning of November right through to the "real" Christmas. Car parking in Whitby can be in high demand and therefore that is why we offer guaranteed parking. The week of your stay we had 4 coaches in the hotel which obviously reduces the number of cars drastically but without reserving car parking we can't always guarantee a space. Room 306 is indeed a standard sea view room and there are a number of our standard plus rooms in that area also which have been fully refurbished to a newer, more modern spec but these rooms do carry a further supplement. I hope you would consider staying with us again and should you do so please contact the hotel direct when booking to allow us to ensure your requirements are met with the room booked.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews