We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal? Are you kidding?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Royal? Are you kidding?”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed for a weekend visit in June 2010.

Looks dreary and tired externally - horrible grey render with tired timber single glazed windows. Internally, it smells like a nursing home.

Outdated decor, shabby cheap fittings and meals which resembled school dinners do not help to justify the price of staying in this hotel.

I understand that it is popular with the older generation, with Shearings coach trips and the like, and it seems that the owners can get away with this outdated stuffy environment with this clientele.

It didn't wash with the rest of the guests. If you want to pay through the nose, you can upgrade to one of the premier suites, which are essentially the larger rooms with have simply been decorated to a modern standard. And they are STANDARD. I mean, we're talking travel lodge / premier inn standard of furnishings at best, and you can stay in one of those for about half the cost!!!

This hotel boasts just about the best location in Whitby, right on the cliff-top over looking the sea. It could be a real attraction for Whitby, it SHOULD draw in the tourists, but it doesn't. It desperately needs an overhaul.

The comical thing is, that given their main custom comes from OAPs, they have the smallest, most horrifically outdated lift I've ever had the misfortune to use. It says its a four-person lift, but is two at best! Bearing in mind the hotel has hundreds of guests, most of which have some sort of physical impairment, its an absolute joke!

Could rant on for about a week, but it's a waste of time.

Don't waste your money on this dump.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberrrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    385
    221
    118
    65
See reviews for
128
556
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed here recently for a night on the spur of the moment. The hotel seems quite run down in places and the lift far too small for the amount of guests it serves. We thought the room was very nice and colourful, also a sea view which was welcome. The room was a little on the small side and as the night was very warm, a ceiling fan or a table fan would have been very welcome but there wasn't one in the room. The TV was very basic for 2010 and the pictures very fuzzy on all channels. I doubt if that is the hotel's fault though as we have had this problem before in Whitby. We were very disappointed with the very hard lumpy mattress and didn't sleep at all during the night and when we tried to stand up in the morning it caused a lot of pain and discomfort to our joints and muscles. On arrival in the breakfast room there was a short wait and we were just sitting there with no idea of what to do - we were not told whether it was self service or help yourself to cereals - when we tried to serve ourselves we were told to sit down. Very basic cereals and breakfast. We were very surprised it was not buffet style which we would have preferred. Cold toast as usual as most of these hotels will insist on bringing it before the cooked food.
Some of the public rooms were really nice and well furnished but the toilets were very unpleasant near the reception area. Would definitely visit Whitby again but would give the Royal a miss. Shame as it was a lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBER24121993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My friend & I travelled to Whitby with Shearings Holidays for a 5 day break . Whitby was absolutely stunning & location of hotel great, but the food was not good & I had to send my dinner back on a couple of aoccasions because it was almost cold. We had an extremely rude waitress serving our table. The lift was far too small to cope with the number of guests staying at this hotel, but fortunately we were only on the first floor so managed the stairs. Would definately not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nannamarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

had a day at lovely whitby with our grandson and called to the royal for a drink . we sat outside as the weather was good but the seating area is filthy with flies everywhere the tables had not been cleaned for days very unhygenic . the toilets were the same and very smelly , I wqs really disappointed and sad as this used to be a lovely hotel but is now extremely run down .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat10102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
droylsden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Travelled with Shearings for the first time having booked a cheap offer. We had never been to Whitby before and found it a lovely quaint place. The Royal Hotel is a large building on the west side overlooking the sea, Whitby and the River Esk. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and evening meal and all the food was of good quality and freshly cooked. I especially enjoyed the starters! We didnt bother with the evening entertainment but other guests seemed to enjoy it. The local town tour bus stops outside the hotel every hour so easy access to the abbey and town attractions. The ticket lasts all day, £3 for pensioners, £4 adults, so good value. The hotel is a bit worn in parts but all adds to the character. The only downside was the lumpy mattress.! Very quiet at night, no noise from outside.Whity is well worth a visit and we will definately visit again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroylsdenJayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed on a 5 day tour from Shearings.

Service was excellent - all the staff were pleasant and eager to please.
The room was clean and recently decorated.
Reasonable choice of meals of good quality.
The hotel is situated on the top of Whitby's West Cliff. There are no pubs or restaurants that we could find nearby, you will need to descend to the town proper for any life outside the hotel. It's quite a trek! There is a (unfortunately rather infrequent) bus service 92/98. timetable at:
http://www.northyorkstravel.info/pdf/YNBO098.pdf
This probably wasn't the best time of year to visit Whitby, although we didn't get wet, the wind was rather chilly at times. We would definitely give the town another visit later in the year.
Personal recommendation for real ale: the Endeavour on Church Street and the Station Hotel (opposite the station - where else?) all around the £3 mark. The Jolly Sailors on St Anne's Staithe however manages a pint of Sam Smiths at £1.56!!

This is without doubt the best Shearing's hotel we've visited.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davestevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Room was clean and comfortable. The radiators do not have adjustable valves, and we were generally too hot. The food was good. The TV is very basic for 2010, with poor quality pictures and limited channels. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hylo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing