We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing 5 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked a mon to friday break with shearings on 28th June and I have no real complaints I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. People must remember that this hotel was built in 1840 so without a doubt has some sort of preservation order on it so shearings probably couldn't upgrade the lift or put in double glazing even if they wanted to. The toilets down stairs had recently been refurbished as had the concert room so no complaints there. On the minus side there is no heated swimming pool and the wifi connection isn't good but if you can live without them then you should have a great break there unless your one of these people who like to have a moan about anything. Oh and be warned that the seagulls never shut up 24 hours a day but I suppose this is a sea side thing hehehe .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mansfieldlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Had a 1 night stay at this hotel price was bit more than i liked to pay but the sea view was very nice. Place was quite pleasant but let down by paint work and decor was quite poor in places looked a bit run down in corridors so could do with a good paint up to smarten up . Glad when i saw the room as it was quite pleasant with nice views.
Breakfast was okay but not the best ive had .Waitress service but was sittin 10 mins before we were seen to. Overall not bad but lick of paint would do wonders .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LARNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Just back from a 5 day 4 night stay at the Royal Hotel in Whitby. We had up-graded to a Superior Room and felt it well worth the extra cost. Our room had been recently renovated and had a very comfortable double bed. The bathroom was quite large and roomy with a shower over the bath. The In-Laws who went with us had a standard room on the ground floor and there were some differences in the quality of their room. The room was in need of some redecorating and they complained that one of the single beds was a little lumpy with the buttons on the mattress being felt through the sheet. The tv in their room was a small CRT type compared with the 26” LCD in ours. Although the picture wasn’t perfect it was watchable.
We took the self-drive package rather than travel on the Shearings coaches. There were 3 coach loads of guests staying at the same time as us but the hotel didn’t feel crowded. The hotel has its own large car park behind it with ample space. The down side are the hordes of seagulls which can make a real mess of your car if you are unlucky  If you need it there is a petrol station on the out skirts of town with a decent car wash attached!
The restaurant is very efficient with quick service from the hard working staff. You are allocated a table at the start of your stay which you use for breakfast and dinner. Our waitress Maria, a Spanish girl, was excellent. There was a choice of grapefruit segments, cereals, fruit juice, toast, and a full cooked English breakfast, along with tea or coffee. It was a great start to the day.
The evening dinner served from 6-30pm was again very good. There were usually around 4 choices of starters and main courses, at least one being a fish dish. I had some lovely meals, Roast Lamb, Roast Chicken, Chicken Tikka Massala with Boiled Rice, and Sweet and Sour Chicken with Boiled Rice, all accompanied by 2 types of potatoes and 2 vegetables. Some lovely desserts and tea or coffee rounded off each meal.
The weather was lovely while we were there which enabled us to take advantage of some lovely long walks along the seafront promenade and around the harbour area. Whitby itself is pretty unspoilt for a seaside town, It is very hilly once off the seafront and the harbour area but good for keeping you fit climbing them!
The ballroom where the entertainment is held is lovely. We only went in a couple of times and took part in some quizzes and also enjoyed a couple of games of bingo...all organised by the spitting image of Bradley Walsh!
I’d seen a negative comment about the state of the public toilets in the hotel and went in with some trepidation. If they used to be a problem with them, it has certainly been sorted now. They were lovely and clean and not a sign of any bad smells. Apparently the ladies loos were clean too. A nice touch was hand sanitizer gel dispensers on the walls.
On one occasion during the week we noticed a sour smell in the corridor on the 2nd floor and reported it to reception. It was quickly sorted.
The lift in the hotel can be a problem at busy times but being pretty fit, didn’t affect us too badly as we were able to use the 4 flights of stairs to our 2nd floor room. We only used the lift twice, once to get our luggage up to our room. It’s supposed to be a 4 person lift but you can only get 2 people in with a pair of suitcases and even then it’s a bit of a tight fit. There were inevitable delays at times as people waited to use it and it sometimes seemed to have a mind of its own if people on all floors were waiting for it!
Overall we had a really nice time and would go back again. Whitby is a nice, well kept, pretty, tidy town and sea front and is an ideal base for visiting some of the other little villages and attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanoCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After returning from our four night stay at the Royal Hotel, i feel the need to comment on a few of the negative reviws left on trip adviser, with what we found out from staff and reading the hotel history files and what we first hand seen for our selfs, first of all the hotel has 115 bedroom, ( we asked ) the lift is small and only holds four people, but the hotel is a listed building and there fore unable 2 have a larger lift, the windows were cleaned on the day we arrived and by day two were in need again but that surley cant be held against the hotel, given the location and seaguls, and yes its wooden frames but would we really want to see a old building with new pvc windows ? tv reception, well i didnt go all the way to Whitby too watch tv, but given the fact whitby doest go digital till 2014, need i say more. our bedroom was great and very clean, with fresh towels when we needed them, we had a problem on the first night with hot water, but if two hundred and odd guest are having showers/baths at the same time in a 150 year old hotel they will will some kind of problems.The staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough as were the public areas which did not smell ! we paid £225pp so for £56per night DBB and great entertainment what more do people what for that money ! trust me, give it ago, we are glad we did !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Booked a last minute 5 day break with Shearings after reading all the negative comments I wasn’t looking forward to it.
But I thought it was excellent value for money. The Staff at the Royal Hotel were all nice and friendly, the coach driver Mike Howard extremely knowledgeable and interesting. The food was good and the location a 5 minute walk to the centre of Whitby which is a beautiful place.
The hotel was built 1847 so it has a lot of character and it was great to see the older members of our trip walking up the stairs and not taking the lift.

It’s not a 4 star hotel but you have to be realistic you are not paying 4 star prices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed for a weekend visit in June 2010.

Looks dreary and tired externally - horrible grey render with tired timber single glazed windows. Internally, it smells like a nursing home.

Outdated decor, shabby cheap fittings and meals which resembled school dinners do not help to justify the price of staying in this hotel.

I understand that it is popular with the older generation, with Shearings coach trips and the like, and it seems that the owners can get away with this outdated stuffy environment with this clientele.

It didn't wash with the rest of the guests. If you want to pay through the nose, you can upgrade to one of the premier suites, which are essentially the larger rooms with have simply been decorated to a modern standard. And they are STANDARD. I mean, we're talking travel lodge / premier inn standard of furnishings at best, and you can stay in one of those for about half the cost!!!

This hotel boasts just about the best location in Whitby, right on the cliff-top over looking the sea. It could be a real attraction for Whitby, it SHOULD draw in the tourists, but it doesn't. It desperately needs an overhaul.

The comical thing is, that given their main custom comes from OAPs, they have the smallest, most horrifically outdated lift I've ever had the misfortune to use. It says its a four-person lift, but is two at best! Bearing in mind the hotel has hundreds of guests, most of which have some sort of physical impairment, its an absolute joke!

Could rant on for about a week, but it's a waste of time.

Don't waste your money on this dump.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberrrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed here recently for a night on the spur of the moment. The hotel seems quite run down in places and the lift far too small for the amount of guests it serves. We thought the room was very nice and colourful, also a sea view which was welcome. The room was a little on the small side and as the night was very warm, a ceiling fan or a table fan would have been very welcome but there wasn't one in the room. The TV was very basic for 2010 and the pictures very fuzzy on all channels. I doubt if that is the hotel's fault though as we have had this problem before in Whitby. We were very disappointed with the very hard lumpy mattress and didn't sleep at all during the night and when we tried to stand up in the morning it caused a lot of pain and discomfort to our joints and muscles. On arrival in the breakfast room there was a short wait and we were just sitting there with no idea of what to do - we were not told whether it was self service or help yourself to cereals - when we tried to serve ourselves we were told to sit down. Very basic cereals and breakfast. We were very surprised it was not buffet style which we would have preferred. Cold toast as usual as most of these hotels will insist on bringing it before the cooked food.
Some of the public rooms were really nice and well furnished but the toilets were very unpleasant near the reception area. Would definitely visit Whitby again but would give the Royal a miss. Shame as it was a lovely location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBER24121993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing