We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Accomodation
Ranked #99 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Lighthouse accommodation on Abbey Terrace. We paid £12 for two nights parking on the drive. First impressions were good. The apartment was modernly decorated, with a small kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom, ideal for our two night stay. The only downside was when I went to use the shower on the first night, it overflowed causing flooding to the bathroom floor. I contacted the discovery team to be told someone would come to fix it in the morning. This ruined our night as we needed to freshen up for drinks and food that evening. The next morning we couldn't go out and enjoy our day until the shower was unblocked so we could freshen up. However by 11pm the following morning someone had been and sorted the problem out. I could not understand how nobody had noticed the blockage when cleaning the apartment before we arrived. However, apart from the shower incident, the apartment was an ideal base for couples visiting Whitby, but still wanting there privacy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Miss_Ball88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback we can only use this to improve the service that we provide. we hope to welcome you again in the near further.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Accomodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I visited discovery accommodation in may & loved it. The holiday flat was so comfortable & had eveything you could possibly need. Couldn't find a fault, exceptionally clean & bed more comfy than my own at home. Staff extremely helpful & welcoming, I will definitely be going back, but for longer next time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

King Regards
Discovery Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth stay in the apartments and we have not been dissappointed at all. This visit we stayed in Sh 6 (starfish house 6) it sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms, 3 double and a twin room.
We also had with us a disabled person, who was unable to manage stairs, but this 3rd floor apartment has a lift right into itself and negotiating this was no problem. I think if you also needed a place to assist a person with hygiene needs you might find space in the shower room to tight, but could use the bathroom. We did find the beds a bit low and had to put something next to the bed so the disabled person could push themselves up to standing.
This leads me on to the facilities. A bathroom and a shower room. It would be nice to have an over bath shower as trying to get 6 people through the shower and out in the morning was a bit time consuming. The kitchen was well equipped, and we did 'self cater' roast meals and usual teatime meals. The lounge was big enough for all 8 of us to sit and for the kids to play.
Views from the lounge allow you to see out to sea, across to the abbey and in land to the moors.. Quite a sight when awaiting a storm !!
We've perviously stayed in Sh 3 which is sleeps 4in two bedrooms. This was equally as good.
We felt that at this time if year the cost of rental was very reasonable. The major issue for all accommodation in Whitby is the parking issue. It is possible to hire a space with discovery, however , having previously done this, the parking was A, too far away for our disabked person to walk to, and B, only suitable for smaller vehicles. We we're in an 8 seater toyota previa and new this was not going to fit. There is a car park nearly opposite and this costs £9 per 48 hours. This does not guarantee a place and move your vehicle at your own risk! As you may find you need to park on the roadside.
The borough council have introduced new restrictions on parking this year and I suggest you Google them to explain further.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback, we can only use this to improve the service that we provide. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Discover that:
The parking is not really on site but 7 minutes away
For pool and sauna u have to pay extra but is out of order
The wifi is weak and u have to try to discover a spot around the flat
Cant sleep well becouse of the noise made by seagulls
You have to pay extra for breakfast.
Clean and spacious rooms

Whitby is a lovely old town and understand the character but given the prices they charge some attention is needed in the badly decorated and very updated rooms.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fabiuccio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were directed to 5 Newton House which is a 1st floor flat a few streets away from the main building in Silver Street.We paid £2 for a street parking permit,which in hindsight was better than the fee they charge for parking at the flats,because the spaces are small.
Although the property was comfortable enough,it could not be classed as De Luxe as advertised.
On arrival the bathroom had not been cleaned properly,which to their credit was done once we pointed it out.
The main bedroom door could not be closed and probably never had,because the door seemed too big for the frame.Again it was sorted when we went out for the day.
The bathroom door had a hole in one side,looked as if it had previously been kicked.
The hot water heater kept tripping out and wouldnt reset at the trip switch.This happened afew times even after being "fixed"by maintenance.
When we went to reception to report problems the staff were always friendly enough.
To say the property is DeLuxe is a joke and when I asked at reception what made it DeLuke was told it was because it had a kitchen and lounge compared with the rooms in the B and B main building.
An earlier review said it was more like student accommodation and I would agree,De Luxe it is not.
Sorry but I would not use Discovery Accommodation again,there are much better places in Whitby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are sorry that not everything went according to plan during your stay with us and we will certainly investigate the issues you have mentioned with our team.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Found this hotel almost by accident on Booking.com - all our usual haunts during what turned out to be 2nd week of school holidays were either full or ridiculously priced. Not sure what the rack rate is at Discovery but we were very happy with what we got a short notice. Room was relatively small but beautifully appointed with decent size bathroom. All of the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. The added benefit of the swimming pool just made the stay better. I could not recommend this hotel more if i tried. Excellent job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of the week in August 2014 in the Banks room. We paid about £116 total for 2 people for 2 nights on a 'value deal'. The room is in a shared house with 3 en suite rooms very close together on the top floor. Downstairs there is a kitchen and living area but access is only for the people staying in what I presume are more expensive rooms. The location was very good, 1 minute from the main office on Silver Street and about a five minute walk until you are in the main part of town. The room was clean, well presented and comes with a kettle (complimentary tea and coffee but not very much milk), iron and TV. There were a couple of issues, these did not affect our stay that much as we are on a budget and young. I suspect if you were a bit older it might have affected the stay more. The room had been modified to include an en suite but this meant that the wall between the shower room and main room was very thin and so going to the bathroom inevitably woke up the other person immediately! The walls in general were very thin and if people were moving around in the other rooms then you could hear absolutely everything. We were lucky that we had quiet people there but it was a bit awkward as you felt like you had to whisper as we woke up early and were wary about having the TV on and disturbing the other people. The main entrance door was a bit worrying as it was extremely stiff and you couldn't be sure it was locked properly as you went to bed. However, I would book with Discovery again. The staff were helpful and they have a swimming pool and sauna which we had hoped to use (it was unfortunately out of order when we stayed) and I can see that they have a lot of other different types of accommodation that would suit us more. We did get a value deal and for what we paid, it wasn't bad at all.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teixeira0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback we can only use this to improve the service that we provide. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#5 of 53 in Whitby
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#119 of 151 in Whitby
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £49 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing