We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Accomodation
Ranked #89 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Normanton, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Finding reception = easy

Finding our actual accomodation = IMPOSSIBLE - VERY poor directions and map from the receptionist who we had to ring twice after spending 40 minutes driving round. Things to identify our accomodation parking by were not there (van in garage etc).

This totally ruined our lovely day that we had had driving into Whitby - just too much hassle to find our room.

We had also booked a sea view and actually got a view of horrid backs of buildings.

The room itself was fine clean etc BUT would NEVER stay here again and would tell friends and families not to do either.

We were told to wait for a call from management yesterday (Sat) to discuss the problems we had and are still waiting. Not very good customer service AT ALL.

Also did not realise that breakfast was not included until we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    189
    115
    69
    97
See reviews for
154
463
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a standard double with Discovery accommodation for 2 nights which cost us £116 in total.

We checked in at reception which was in a very nice looking building but we were told we would be staying around the corner in Discovery House. This was a small building separate from the main hotel.

When we got into our room up some very steep stairs we were very disappointed. The photos we saw online showed a cosy looking but nicely decorated room but what we actually got was nothing like what was advertised.

The furniture and the decor was very old, cheap and tired looking. However, we could look past that if the room was actually clean. It wasn’t. There was someone elses long, black hair in the shower which was disgusting and showed that it hadn’t been cleaned properly, if at all. The walls were covered in holes and dirty marks and the drinking glasses were filthy. The whole place just felt dirty, dingy and not very nice.

The room was very cold and felt damp, so we tried to turn on the radiator but it didn’t work. This meant we spent the night in a freezing and slightly damp feeling bed.

The ‘free Wifi’ didn’t work for our first night there. There was also no iron or hairdryer as advertised online.

I tried to take a shower the next morning and the water turned hot and cold randomly whilst making a very loud noise.

When we checked out, we explained to the man on reception about the problems with the room. His explanation was that we had booked a value room (when I checked, we had actually booked a standard double). But apparently if you book a ‘value’ room then you should expect all standards go out the window?

I explained that the room looked nothing like the rooms advertised and he said that there were photos online of that property. I have since checked and there isn’t any photos of the room we stayed in.

We have stayed in plenty of budget hotels around the world and don’t mind roughing it as long as the room is clean and warm, but this one definitely wasn’t. We felt conned because the room was nothing like the photos that we saw online, which I believe is false advertising.

At £58 a night, this is definitely not the cheapest room we’ve stayed in but it was definitely the worst and we couldn’t wait to leave.

Judging by the reviews I have read, I think if you book a stay at Discovery Accommodation, it’s a gamble if you will get one of the nicer rooms or one like this. I would suggest that if you are given a room in Discovery House, ask for a different one!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michaela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Lighthouse accommodation on Abbey Terrace. We paid £12 for two nights parking on the drive. First impressions were good. The apartment was modernly decorated, with a small kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom, ideal for our two night stay. The only downside was when I went to use the shower on the first night, it overflowed causing flooding to the bathroom floor. I contacted the discovery team to be told someone would come to fix it in the morning. This ruined our night as we needed to freshen up for drinks and food that evening. The next morning we couldn't go out and enjoy our day until the shower was unblocked so we could freshen up. However by 11pm the following morning someone had been and sorted the problem out. I could not understand how nobody had noticed the blockage when cleaning the apartment before we arrived. However, apart from the shower incident, the apartment was an ideal base for couples visiting Whitby, but still wanting there privacy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Ball88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback we can only use this to improve the service that we provide. we hope to welcome you again in the near further.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I visited discovery accommodation in may & loved it. The holiday flat was so comfortable & had eveything you could possibly need. Couldn't find a fault, exceptionally clean & bed more comfy than my own at home. Staff extremely helpful & welcoming, I will definitely be going back, but for longer next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

King Regards
Discovery Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth stay in the apartments and we have not been dissappointed at all. This visit we stayed in Sh 6 (starfish house 6) it sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms, 3 double and a twin room.
We also had with us a disabled person, who was unable to manage stairs, but this 3rd floor apartment has a lift right into itself and negotiating this was no problem. I think if you also needed a place to assist a person with hygiene needs you might find space in the shower room to tight, but could use the bathroom. We did find the beds a bit low and had to put something next to the bed so the disabled person could push themselves up to standing.
This leads me on to the facilities. A bathroom and a shower room. It would be nice to have an over bath shower as trying to get 6 people through the shower and out in the morning was a bit time consuming. The kitchen was well equipped, and we did 'self cater' roast meals and usual teatime meals. The lounge was big enough for all 8 of us to sit and for the kids to play.
Views from the lounge allow you to see out to sea, across to the abbey and in land to the moors.. Quite a sight when awaiting a storm !!
We've perviously stayed in Sh 3 which is sleeps 4in two bedrooms. This was equally as good.
We felt that at this time if year the cost of rental was very reasonable. The major issue for all accommodation in Whitby is the parking issue. It is possible to hire a space with discovery, however , having previously done this, the parking was A, too far away for our disabked person to walk to, and B, only suitable for smaller vehicles. We we're in an 8 seater toyota previa and new this was not going to fit. There is a car park nearly opposite and this costs £9 per 48 hours. This does not guarantee a place and move your vehicle at your own risk! As you may find you need to park on the roadside.
The borough council have introduced new restrictions on parking this year and I suggest you Google them to explain further.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback, we can only use this to improve the service that we provide. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Discover that:
The parking is not really on site but 7 minutes away
For pool and sauna u have to pay extra but is out of order
The wifi is weak and u have to try to discover a spot around the flat
Cant sleep well becouse of the noise made by seagulls
You have to pay extra for breakfast.
Clean and spacious rooms

Whitby is a lovely old town and understand the character but given the prices they charge some attention is needed in the badly decorated and very updated rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiuccio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were directed to 5 Newton House which is a 1st floor flat a few streets away from the main building in Silver Street.We paid £2 for a street parking permit,which in hindsight was better than the fee they charge for parking at the flats,because the spaces are small.
Although the property was comfortable enough,it could not be classed as De Luxe as advertised.
On arrival the bathroom had not been cleaned properly,which to their credit was done once we pointed it out.
The main bedroom door could not be closed and probably never had,because the door seemed too big for the frame.Again it was sorted when we went out for the day.
The bathroom door had a hole in one side,looked as if it had previously been kicked.
The hot water heater kept tripping out and wouldnt reset at the trip switch.This happened afew times even after being "fixed"by maintenance.
When we went to reception to report problems the staff were always friendly enough.
To say the property is DeLuxe is a joke and when I asked at reception what made it DeLuke was told it was because it had a kitchen and lounge compared with the rooms in the B and B main building.
An earlier review said it was more like student accommodation and I would agree,De Luxe it is not.
Sorry but I would not use Discovery Accommodation again,there are much better places in Whitby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are sorry that not everything went according to plan during your stay with us and we will certainly investigate the issues you have mentioned with our team.

Kind Regards
Discovery Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 53 in Whitby
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#51 of 151 in Whitby
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#120 of 151 in Whitby
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Property: Discovery Accomodation
Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing