We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimberley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimberley House
Ranked #56 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in whitby and had a fantastic stay at Kimberley house, its in a perfect position and very close to the town centre and beach, Andy and Rachel offered a lovely warm welcome and were always on hand offering helpful advice. Our room was on the ground floor which was great as we didnt have to climb any stairs!, our room was nice and spacious and spotless and also nice and warm which is a must for me! The dining room is very nice with settees and a tv and lovely decoration. Our breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be returning again soon! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suttys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Friendly welcome somewhat spoilled by a demand for payment before we had even seen the room!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed for a weekend in October 2011 and very impressed with all aspects of our stay.
The location is perfect to explore Whitby with Kimberley House offering a warm welcome, excellent rooms and a breakfast having both quality and quantity!
i will be staying there again soon!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gomersal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

stayed for a weekend and the hotel was great, good position to get about whitby, excellent oweners always pleasant and able to give advise of where to visit etc. Rooms nice and comfy warm pleasing decoration, good dining room to also sit and watch tv if you want. food marvellous and plenty of it. will return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here with a friend in august and we had a lovely weekend. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely! The room was spotless and spacious and we would recommend a visit :) also, only a short walk away from the town and the beach, perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The location of this guest house is excellent and the owners are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served by the owner and was of generous proportions and enjoyable. However, unfortunately we found the bed to be very firm and therefore uncomfortable which meant that we did not sleep well at all and actually suffered from backache. Also the plumbing is very noisy and every time that somebody used the bathroom we were awakened by the flush of the toilet and the length of time that it took to fill the cistern back up. The room was very clean and the bedding was lovely but sadly this was not enough to make our stay there comfortable and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed with my toddler and my mum for 3 nights in august, we shared a double room, there was plenty of space for our travel cot, and for my toddler to play while we showered and dressed. The new owners have only been in a few months and are already doing a fantastic job, they are both warm and friendly, informative and helpful. The guest house is very clean, tidy and well presented, the breakfast is good and the location is great, it is literally only a few mintues walk to the town centre or the beach. I will recommned this guest house to friends and family and will be happy to stay there again the next time i visit whitby. Thank you for a lovely break kimberley house!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#73 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley House

Property: Kimberley House
Address: 7 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kimberley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing