We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farsyde Farm Cottages

Farsyde Farm Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farsyde Farm Cottages
Ranked #36 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I fully agree with "kaz070". My boyfriend and I stayed here in Mews cottage 4 for a week in September 2013. Really great location, to have a car handy and be this close to Robin Hoods Bay is great. Just a 10 minute walk and you're down in Robin Hoods Bay, absolutely beautiful walk along the cleveland way. The cottage was clean, warm and had all the facilities needed. We ate in for a couple of nights and were very well catered for cooking appliances, untensils etc.
The animals around were great, each morning we ate breakfast at the table overlooking the orchard with chickens tottering about. The ducks were cute too. Donkeys were a delight, coming to the fence for a little stroke everytime we left or arrived back at the farm!
I can't see what everyone has been complaining about, it's a working farm.... you surely can't expect to just go wandering about!? The "rule book" as people have refered to, is quite clearly for your own safety and is pretty much common sense! As for the owners being unfriendly, everytime we saw them they wished us good morning etc. We were shown around on arrival and then left to our own devices, what more do you expect from self-catered holiday lets!? They're leaving you to enjoy yourselves!
All in all we had a really lovely week, would definitely recommend and look at going back again. ^_^

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
18
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not sure why half the reviews are bad. stayed september 2013. excellent location and good accommodation. good facilites with tv etc provided and all kitchen equipment you might need. just a stones throw from the cleveland way and the beach. My dog was very welcome and had a fab time. Would happily stay again.
Do people not read the website? Clearly says coin operated meter which is quite common in cottage accommodation. Clearly a farm so people should expect farm noises. You can indeed hear the donkey on the beach but you're on the beach so why does it matter? why is everyone complaining about cleaning do people not clean up afetr themselves when they stay at cottages. Wash the pots, take the rubbbish out etc There are dog rules but no different to other places. No pets on the furniture no pets upstairs etc and quite obviusly on a lead while around the farm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for few days and felt like I was a hostage as I felt as though I couldn't touch or do anything incase i got sent packing. Had to pay for electricity after paying a FORTUNE for accommodation and room was minging and freezing! Not upto standard at all! HAD TO CLEAN ROOM MYSELF before next person come in which i think is really cheeky! The girl who does the horse riding had a nasty attitude and asked me how much experience I had and i told her I was a good rider and she blatantly told me I was crap and I wouldn't ever ride that horse again and she didn't want to take my hack any further. Felt like I was belittled by her and she thought she was gods gift! All she was interested in was the money tbh.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carley168890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 and would not recommend. Have to agree with some of other comments made.
* owner friendly enough on arrival and nice touch to get milk and eggs provided. However friendliness stopped there and could not even raise a hello after that. Not very child frienldy
* donkeys woke us up every night at all hours
* Hired the pool for the week but housed in very shabby shed and very cold. Bleeched a pair of swimiing trunks and owner very condesceding - more interested in an inflatable that had gone down and told us that it would be to pay for without even finding out if it could be blown up again
* Cottage very tired and shabby looking and definitely not 4 star!. Had to clean at end for next people of pay £40 for privalege of getting them to do it.
* asked to move car several times despite parking where instructed and no clear markings to indicate exact space
* left a day early due to lack of sleep and attitude of owners

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in Farsyde House with the children (2 & 1 year old). I must admit I had some fears when I read some of the comments on this site. Suffice to say they proved groundless. We had a great week in a beautiful old house. We were shown round on our arrival by the owner who was friendly and courteous and whenever we needed help ( once , when the heating tripped out) it was available promptly. All household items were provided and we were told that if anything was missing we only had to ask. We were happy to have our own space and it is a beautiful location with many excellent walks. Kids had a great time which was our number one priority and yes the donkey did wake me up ( not the kids , the fresh air had knocked them out) a couple of times, but like it says on the tin it is a working farm and this is to be expected. Would definitely visit again .

Room Tip: Our in laws stayed in the Mistal Barn which was also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We received a warm welcome on arrival and,unlike other reviewers, were not ignored by the owners during our stay. We didn't find the 'list of rules' too restrictive - but then we were never going to wander around the farm.

The location is stunning and we will definitely return to the area but probably not Farsyde Farm Cottages.

The cottage was a little too small and the décor could best be described as 'tired'. There were lots of unframed pictures and photos simply taped to the walls - and lots of tape marks where photos were once placed. The chairs and (small) sofa were possibly the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture we've ever sat on. It wasn't dirty - but had an air-of-neglect about the place. The bathroom was very small and very dated. We also found the pay as you go coin-slot electricity meter a bit cheeky (although we only used £5 for the week). On the upside, the bedrooms were clean and comfortable.

This is NOT a 3 Star establishment as the website claims - please don't expect anywhere near this level of comfort or service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Like the other people's reviews, was made to feel that my money was welcome, my presence was not. Am not an experienced rider and was told this in not so many ways. Would definitely not go again. The plus side was the lovely scenery.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank tillyPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
5.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#141 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farsyde Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farsyde Farm Cottages

Property: Farsyde Farm Cottages
Address: Farsyde House Farm Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby YO22 4UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:3 star — Farsyde Farm Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing