We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a little gem of a restaurant !”
Review of Ditto Restaurant

Ditto Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ditto offers you a contemporary and exciting menu cooked to the highest standard. All our ingredients are of the finest quality and sourced from the best local suppliers. We have a specially selected, quality wine list to complement your food perfectly. Ditto is a small, intimate and relaxing restaurant with seating for up to 20 covers. With our dedicated and knowledgable front of house team, we are confident that an evening spent at Ditto will be a memorable occasion!
yorks.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a little gem of a restaurant !”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is without a doubt the best restaurant in Whitby. The food is delicious ( the fillet steak I had was one of the best I've ever had ) and the service is great too. 3 courses for under £30 - excellent value ! If you want a superior meal in a superior restaurant visit Ditto !

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMMYorks.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    75
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with great service”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

After being on the waiting list for Sat night we thought we had little hope of our Whitby restaurant of choice. However a phonecall in the afternoon ensured a table for two that evening. We were not disappointed. Amazing food with delicious flavours and satisfying portions. Would definitely recommend the scallops, seabass and 'rhubarb and crumble'. Heavenly! No hestitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone. Thankyou for a delightful evening :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SianD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Resturant in Whitby”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The food is delicious. We took our very fussy friends who fancy themselves as good cooks and can be very critical of resturant food and they were absolutely bowled over.
Freshly cooked food including seasonal vegetables which is very rare to find. The deserts are heavenly. We will certainly be going back to this warm atmosphere again and again.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olivers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As Tweedledum & Tweedledee said....ditto.....ditto, ditto....which if nothing else proves that Dickens was a good judge”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

So in we go at 1900 on a Thursday.......can't remember when we came out but felt a whole lot better for having been there. Fairly limited menu which actually is no bad thing, smiling service, attentive without being oppressive, and the food itself imaginitive without being pretentious. It must have been, because we consumed everything that was put in front of us. Furthermore, the wine list produced a truly excellent Chablis which belied its price...........and if you think I'm a wine snob drink the Black Sheep in bottle which is just as good.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaxJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top nosh and a true palate tickler! A haven for my coeliac husband too!”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Evening of the 18/03/11: We cannot say enough about this super little understated jewel in Whitby! Our evening was made by the wonderful delights on offer at this restaurant and the fixed price menu. Greeted by wholesome bread and delightful olive tapenade for me and for my husband who is a coeliac they provided delicious gluten free rolls to accompany his tapenade. We telephoned in advance, as we always do, to ask if coeliacs were catered for. The menu is mouthwatering! This is simply how food should be presented. This restaurant cooks with fresh ingredients and the menu glows with tantalising choice. Our starters were delicious and the mains were wonderful and accompanied with amazing vegetables. The duck was tender and cooked to taste, the sea bream enjoyed by my husband was stunning. We finished with the sensational palate tickler being the rhubarb and ginger compote topped by a melt in your mouth creme brulee..... to die for! The service at this restaurant was impeccable, no rushing you here and the atmoshere something to treasure. Please go and enjoy this little jewel.... you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMimi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ditto Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Ditto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing