We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab yet again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fab yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

hia just back from our 22nd wedding anniversary ,yet another welcomong stay at the marine fabulous food whole whitby lobster "yum yum" cant wait to go back in august for my sisters 40th room already booked . Stayed in room 3 very elegant but only one small gripe it was noisy take some ear plugs like i always do and you wont be bothered, exellent breakfast best full english i've ever had and an abundance of choice loved every minite but had rather too much to drink " oh well" wednesday nite fab with piano n bass jazz nite loved it see you all sooooon julie n paulxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    87
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
350
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

At £150 for a double room this ain't a cheap B&B however the toilet is open plan in the bedroom with no door!

No kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room either!

Shower head was so dirty it hard let water out.

At breakfast your given jam/preserves on the table but then no-one offers you toast!

Really disapointed as we've stayed at much nicer hotels/B&B's for so much less

Also, no parking at all

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobielok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed for 3 days with American friends, small hotel with only 4 rooms but with other accomdation elsewhere in town. We best rooms namely 1 & 2, both had wonderful views over the harbour also both had balconies.
Room 1, very comfortable and well furnished, greenhouse type area at end of room with large sofa, TV and views of harbour, a quirky feature is that shower and wash basin are actually in room and toilet is behind partition with no door, not a room for the modest.
Room 2 is on 2 floors, sitting area on lower floor and bedroom on upper floor, both have great views.
Staff are young, very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay an enyoyable experience, breakfast is first class and leisurely, we had dinner on restaurant on last night, food was excellent, very good service, good ambiance with live music, would certainly eat there again. Also ate at the nearby sister restaurant "The Moon and Sixpence", again very good food and service.
Tried to eat at Trip Advisors best raetaurant in town "Ditto" despite hotel checking in advance, it was closed on a Tuesday night although it is supposed to be open , just a note in window stating "Sorry Closed"
Avoid Shambles pub/restaurant, ordered crab, this was off menu so had prawns instead, they tasted horrible and were obviously off, the bitter we ordered was also off, they refunded money on both when we complained, no manager available and staff did not care.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

At this location there are 4 rooms only, two with sea views and balconies. My husband and I had one ocean view room and our friends had the other. The rooms are large and nicely decorated although one of the rooms is a two story with bedroom upstairs. A little difficult in the middle of the night going downstairs to the bathroom.
The booking includes a lovely full breakfast. The food is very good. Dinner here was probably the best we had on our trip of 4 weeks.
Although parking is on the street somewhat away from the hotel, the staff was very helpful with luggage and porter services.
The room rate was a little higher than I it should have been but dollar exchange rate was lower than when we booked. There was wi-fi but in room connectivity was not great.

Room Tip: There r two associated hotels - check rates on all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed here recently with friends and had a wonderful time. Lovely staff, great food and gorgeous rooms

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Lovely location right on the harbourside ( & therefore a little noisy). Excellent food and despite the no coffee/tea facilities in the room actually think that the fast and efficent service with tea/coffe to the room is nicer and better. Bar service also good with a great range.
Room 2 is lovely really well set out with a fab view and the mezzanine floor meant that it felt like a stay in a cottage rather than a hotel. Just a few touches out of place, telephone was dusty and as you need to use it to ring for room service (tea/coffee) you do use it a fair amount, otherwise might not have noticed. The water left in the room was not replaced after night one and the bed wasnt re-made. There were a few cobwebs and it was just a touch short of brilliantly clean.
Breakfast was excellent with an extensive menu and the staff were indeed friendly.
I would stay again just think it suffers from lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeNe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed at the Marine Hotel midweek for a special rate of £99 bed and breakfast.

After looking at the pictures on-line of the rooms available we opted for room 1. This was a beautiful room with a conservatory area attached providing fantastic views of the harbour and abbey. This would be fantastic in the summer as the terrace opens onto a private balcony with table and chairs.

The room didn't have tea or coffee making facilities but the friendly staff offer to bring this to your room free of charge if you phone down.

We ate and drank in the restaurant that night. The menu if mainly seafood, not surprisingly! but the food we ate was very tasty and reasonably priced.

Our nights sleep was OK, the bed was a bit on the hard side and early morning we could hear other guests in the room above moving about quite a bit.

Breakfast was one of the nicest we have ever eaten in a hotel. The choice was great, fillet steak even being offered!

Overall this is a lovely hotel, great location, lovely staff, fantastic food and beautiful rooms, we would return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing