We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming in Whitby!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming in Whitby!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

On a whim, we decided to stay a night at the Marine Hotel in Whitby. What a great decision it turned out to be....the hotel is wonderfully friendly, accommodating and great value for money!! The staff went completely out of their way to welcome us, help us and make us feel that our visit to Whitby was something very special. The food was excellent; our room was great with a harbour view that allowed us to watch the world go by! Thanks to all staff, especially Chloe...we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Don't worry about no parking... the loading areas immediately in front of the hotel enable you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    89
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
359
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Came here for fish and chips. We sat outside as we had the dog with us and luckily it was a nice day. We both had fish and chips and at £4.90 each, I wasn't expecting much but it was lovely. Fresh fish and nice chunky home made chips. The staff were friendly and attentive, the only down side would be the drinks prices seemed a little steep but we weren't there for a session so it's ok. Having looked at the hotel rooms on here I'll definitely be booking a room here for our next trip to Whitby!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food and service stayed in Whitby and came to the marine everyday for breakfast. The staff are always polite and treat you with respect. Myself and my boyfriend loves the full English and the eggs benedict. Well worth the prices that's for sure! Will be back for breakfast next time we are in Whitby that's for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayjaynevermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This rather quirky hotel is situated right on the quayside near to where the fishing boats come and go landing their catch. As a result it is a little noisy but there is always plenty to see, day and night. The accommodation comprises 4 large and individually themed rooms. We stayed in room 4 which is denoted as in the style of Louis XV, complete with free standing bath and views across the estuary. The restaurant offers excellent seafood, is unpretentious and was very busy. It pays to book a table in advance if you want to eat in, although there are many restaurants nearby. Staff were friendly, and the price was reasonable for what we got. Overall it was a most pleasant stay.
It is worth noting that parking at the hotel is a nightmare, but there is a public car park nearby that is free between 6.00pm and 9.00am. I would also warn that there is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for for the second time for our anniversary and were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 1 which has a "conservatory" and a balcony with fantastic views across the harbour to the Abbey and the sea. The weather wasn't fantastic when we arrived, but it was a wonderful place to sit and watch the hustle of the harbourside whilst perfectly warm and dry!!
We ordered room service and the Oysters were meaty and tasty and then both had lobster as a main (£15.00 each - bargain!) and again the quality was superb (well they would only have had a 50 yard transit from the boat to the kitchen!!). The weather had perked up in the morning so we ate the excellent breakfast (Full English and Eggs Florentine with extra mushrooms and tomatoes) out on the balcony. Handy hint - don't leave your breakfast unattended as it will soon disappear in a cloud of screaming seagulls!! The bed is extremely comfortable and the layout is good with the shower and loo being separate.
The only slight downsides are the fact that the hotel doesn't have any parking (but there is plenty of free on-street parking at the top of the hill), you can't open a window to get some air through without opening the conservatory doors and there isn't any facility for making tea or coffee in your room - however, if you ring down to the bar, they'll bring you tea,coffee etc without charge.
Definitely our favourite place to stay in Whitby and we've made a pact to come back every year!

Room Tip: Room 1 has the bonus of having a conservatory and balcony along with fantastic views across the harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is an odd set up for a hotel. Basically a seafood based restaurant with a few rooms and the same again just round the corner at their "sister" site. With this review remember its height of season in Folk week apparently a very busy week for Whitby and the weather was wonderful on arrival. Anyway, we arrived in Whitby at 2.15pm on a Wednesday in August. It took us another hour and 30 to find parking and walk back to the hotel. We arrived and checked in through the restaurant and was lead to ROOM 3 for our romantic 2 night stay. I had read many reviews before staying here so to answer a few questions....room 3 HAS a toilet door, although it's not lockable it is there!! Also there are NO coffee/tea making facilities which posed a problem for us as the first day the phone did not work so we had no coffee unless we went down to the restaurant to order some. However, after the first day it was fixed and the coffee is very nice here BUT they really need to sort that out and put coffee/tea making facilities into the rooms as you can not get a drink after 11pm till morning as the restaurant is closed. The room décor is basically what you are paying for here!! It is stunning. A very beautifully decorated room and perfect for the goth. Sleep - do not expect any until after midnight when the pubs opposite have kicked out and expect to be woken early with the hustle and bustle outside. This is a problem as the windows as single glazed not double and are old and difficult to put back up after opening!! You can also hear all the movement from the room above as the floor/building is old and creaky as well as the band from the restaurant below. The breakfast in the restaurant is very nice and the staff are very helpful and kind. That is the basics of our stay. Oh by the way just a note this restaurant is one of the very few eating places to go that is open after 8pm. SO if you want an evening meal go out by 7pm for choice!! So If you do not sleep much, don't drink coffee/tea and want a toilet door, chose room 3 at the Marine "hotel".

Room Tip: Room 3 has a toilet door, I don't know about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixxy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 for a romantic weekend in Whitby and was not disappointed. Our room was simply excellent and had great views over the harbour.

Evening meal was great as was the breakfast and the bar area was pretty chilled.

Only downside was the fact there was no parking for the hotel but there were plenty of local car parks withing walking distance.

Staff very friendly and great service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing