We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Whitby
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
379
101
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
101
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood linguinemezzanine floorkedgereesteak and eggsno tea coffee facilitiesharbour frontsister hotelsun roomworking harbourfishing boatssmall hotellemon solefab roomsitting areahot drinksbooked a tablefull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, one in room 4 and one in room 2 - only way we could get 2 nights together. Room 4 is stunning, right at the top of the building. Not sure about the open plan room including bathroom, even after 31 years of marriage there's still somethings you need privacy for! Bath lovely in the middle of the bathroom, didn't want to get out. Stunning decor, and furniture, nice touches throughout. Room 2 was perfect, a mezzanine with a fab bed, again, decor and lovely touches throughout. Great views from both rooms, room 2 has a small balcony overlooking the harbour with a small table and chairs. Restaurant is very popular, had fish and chips on first day, fish was gorgeous. Breakfast each day couldn't have been better, all the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough. Will definitely return and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Any room you will love, all done differently.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Went for lunch here with Husband. Both had the best fish and chips ever and only £4.90 each. Cant say enough good stuff, just try it yourself!! If you go at night you will have to reserve though, its that good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at The Marine again for approx 8th time. We always stay for 2-3 nights. There is an old saying in life - "you get what you pay" for and this is certainly the case with The Marine. You are spoilt for choice on the breakfast menu which will keep you going for the whole day. The surroundings are beautiful and the staff are fantastic and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is brilliant with a great menu and also great live music. If you can't get a table then room service is available which is nice. We have stayed with friends and family and have recommended The Marine to a lot of people. We're looking forward to our next stay in the New Year. The only negative thing I can say about the place is leaving it to come home as we all love Whitby! But if we couldn't get in to The Marine then we wouldn't come. John & Laura McEntee

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ljlcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband booked us a couple of nights away in Whitby. We had a great time the staff at The Marine were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in Room 3 which had amazing views of the harbour and the room was gorgeous!
I would love to stay at the hotel again and would definitely recommend it to anyone, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

On a whim, we decided to stay a night at the Marine Hotel in Whitby. What a great decision it turned out to be....the hotel is wonderfully friendly, accommodating and great value for money!! The staff went completely out of their way to welcome us, help us and make us feel that our visit to Whitby was something very special. The food was excellent; our room was great with a harbour view that allowed us to watch the world go by! Thanks to all staff, especially Chloe...we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Don't worry about no parking... the loading areas immediately in front of the hotel enable you to unload and pack up luggage. The staff are more than happy to help with baggage up the narrow staircases.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews