We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Whitby Par Excellence”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Will keep this short and sweet.
Have previously stayed elsewhere in Whitby, gorgeous northern fishing town, and struggled to find a room to suit this time around.
After trawling our minds for somewhere that stood out from our last time mooching around, we remembered the Moon and Sixpence. A bit of googling and reviewing later we found their sister Boutique BnB The Marine had a room to our liking within our budget. We booked online and a quick phone call to confirm and we were on our way (all very last minute).
From the minute we walked in the door (The wrong door as it was at the moon and sixpence) we were escorted to our correct residence and our bags taken by willing staff.
This is where this establishment excels, attentive, polite staff and a welcoming akin to long lost friends rather than over zealous hotel staff.
The room, the bar, the toilets are/were spotless!
The food is/was fantastic and not over priced!
If you are looking for a relaxed, home from home experience with excellent service and sumptuous rooms, fresh seafood and excellent breakfasts then look no further.
The Marine is THE place to stay in Whitby.

We would really like to add that all the staff Kim, Phil and even Mark in the Kitchen are incredible and are a real credit to an already winning team.
We will definitely be staying here again and would urge anyone else too!
Room 4 is amazing!!!!

Rick and Sue

Room Tip: Room 4 stand alone bath and sumptuous opulent decor, overlooking Harbour and the Old Whitby includin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick5Spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We love Whitby, but have never actually stayed in the town, so we decided to have a weekend away, and booked The Marine. It is located right on the harbour and is small and very intimate. The staff are good, attentive, and it it obviously used by locals and passers-by as it has only four rooms on the property (although it has a sister property about fourty yards back towards the bridge, but still overlooking the harbour).

The food was outstanding - we went for the seafood. Loster Thermidor excellent, fried oysters fabulous, and I have to say that the scallops were the best I had ever eaten!!

Room 3 is a good size with a large bed, a harbour view and an interesting bathroom. Good quality room amenities, and room service if required.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. To cap it all, the weather was beautiful for the whole weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The food in this seafood restaurant is excellent and having eaten there many times I was finally tempted to take advantage of the accommodation. Staying with friends I booked two rooms, both were very, very good and slightly quirky, a pleasant change from usual norm of modern hotels.

Despite being rather too close to the amusement arcades and a few seedy or touristy pubs the hotel has excellent views across the harbour and it is easy to relax in your own little haven of comfort. The staff are very friendly and seem to have time for everyone despite the restaurant being at times quite busy, especially on music nights. But the atmosphere and general ambience is something I look forward to experiencing again.

Despite its faded Victorian glory Whitby still has a lot to offer and although The Marine Hotel looks nothing from the outside it is definitely worth a visit......, such a shame that the town is giving way to the cloned city pub mentality with the opening of a very large Wetherspoons, let us hope this not the start of its decline, it is nice to go somewhere different that is not dominated by the multi-national corporations that make everywhere look the same as they take over our high streets.

Room Tip: Room 4, although being spacious, has an open plan bathroom and bedroom (i.e. no door on the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAtWarmsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent only one night (sadly!) and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Marine. We had room four -- a delightful French provincial themed room on the second floor. Had it not been for the fog and the rain, we would have had lovely views. But we were warm and very comfortable inside! Dinner was in the restaurant, fish pie and fish and chips. Both were excellent. Breakfast the next morning was a treat too: husband enjoyed the rarebit, and I chose the unusual farmer's salad. The menu says it comes topped with a poached egg, and I nearly asked them to substitute a fried egg, as poached eggs are often watery disasters. I'm glad I didn't. The poached egg was absolutely perfectly done, which speaks to the skill of the chef. Something that stood out for us was the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff: clearly, this is a very well-run and managed hotel. We'd love to return!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vizslam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at The Marine for a relaxing couple of days which we certainly got. Room 2 was perfect to chill out in as the weather was not so good and it had excellent views across the harbour. Had breakfast delivered to the room both mornings by friendly staff and it was lovely. Location is excellent with everything on your doorstep. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 2 very comfortable with a separate lounge area and small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, one in room 4 and one in room 2 - only way we could get 2 nights together. Room 4 is stunning, right at the top of the building. Not sure about the open plan room including bathroom, even after 31 years of marriage there's still somethings you need privacy for! Bath lovely in the middle of the bathroom, didn't want to get out. Stunning decor, and furniture, nice touches throughout. Room 2 was perfect, a mezzanine with a fab bed, again, decor and lovely touches throughout. Great views from both rooms, room 2 has a small balcony overlooking the harbour with a small table and chairs. Restaurant is very popular, had fish and chips on first day, fish was gorgeous. Breakfast each day couldn't have been better, all the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough. Will definitely return and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Any room you will love, all done differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Went for lunch here with Husband. Both had the best fish and chips ever and only £4.90 each. Cant say enough good stuff, just try it yourself!! If you go at night you will have to reserve though, its that good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing