We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't have asked for more. The room was spotless, the staff were attentive and the whole experience was great. Room 2 has a mezzanine level for the bed giving it a feel of an apartment rather than just a room. Will definitely be going back. If I had to gripe at anything it was the window cleaner that was outside our first floor window when I came out of the shower in a towel!! I felt staff could have warned any guests who hadn't yet checked out that they would be there. Lucky for him that I had the towel on!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 has it's own terrace and beautiful views over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandyEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

we stayed in room 1 for a couple of nights. The best thing is the balcony and the view of the harbour and abbey. Mind you, you are in a bit of a goldfish bowl so beware you don't give the passing trawler men an eyeful as you exit the shower. Of course you could always pull down the Roman blinds first, but hey live dangerously. The room is clean, tidy and trying to be boutique. It does teeter on the edge of kitsch at times. Mind you that isn't always a bad thing. Watching the ancient 'clairvoyant, friend to the stars' open up her shed just below your settee in the morning raises a titter.Check the ancient porthole window in the WC [ See picture].That made me chuckle too. Anyway a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pistols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Went for partners birthday, just the one night, but what an impression!. The room (no.3) was lovely, clean, tastefully decorated, spacious and well provided with towels and dressing gowns if needed. Room service was free, as the staff will bring anything up to your room. We took advantage of this for breakfast as seemed a shame not to spend more time in the room. We looked over the harbour on a sunny morning watching the gulls and boats, lovely. The breakfast menu was very impressive and absolutely gorgeous, with a large choice, traditional, sea food and other! If you stay in Whitby elsewhere, then try the Marine for breakfast, its restaurant is open to the public and well worth it. Also, book a table for your evening meal!, its sea food menu is delightful and perfectly cooked and presented. The staff at the Marine were all friendly, helpful and made the stay even more enjoyable. If your thinking of a trip to whitby, then, treat yourself, and stop at The Marine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed one night 10/4/13. Superb location right on the quayside. Very enjoyable dinner accompanied by jazz duo. Imaginative menu, our fish dishes, pan fried lemon sole and baked cod on leeks and bacon with a cream sauce, were cooked perfectly. Excellent service throughout. Pretty good value as well.
We stayed in room no.4, which, being higher up, was quieter from street noise, mostly pedestrian, though not rowdy. Room and bathroom were very spacious and tastefully furnished.
No problem sleeping, no noise from the fishing boats, there didn't seem to be that many at the time.
Fantastic breakfast menu, eggs every which way including Benedict and Florentine, also haddock, kippers, full English, etc., etc. In fact if you do stay somewhere else in Whitby then make sure you have a breakfast at the Marine Hotel, no better way to start the day in Whitby.
The nearest parking (free on street) is about 1/3 mile away, but you can unload at the hotel.

Room Tip: As per other reviewers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door you know you have chosen the right place, so welcoming,clean and designed to perfection , we stayed in room 4 with its opulent decor , and fabulous bath , plenty of hot water to fill up the great big bath with the wonderful view of the Abbey. We booked a table for an evening meal and was not disappointed by the excellent cuisine .we would certainly recommend The Marine and will be definitely coming again .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in Room 1. Lovely room with conservatory and balcony overlooking the harbour, right in the centre. Young attentive staff, helpful and polite - a credit to them. Only minor issue with the room is the shower and sink are actually in the bedroom and would have preferred a bit more privacy! Otherwise, no complaints. Dining experience second to none, dinner was excellent and breakfast choices unusual and tasty. Room was spotless. No hesitation in recommending this small boutique hotel. Would have liked the option to make coffee/tea in the room but room service was speedy, couldn't fault it. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Had a quick look in Room 2 while we were there and would probably go for this option next time as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAZ801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My partner and I stayed in room 3 at the Marine Hotel for two nights mid-week in March 2013. The Hotel was fantastic, the staff were very polite and helpful, the food was out of this world and the location couldn't get more central! I can't sing its praises highly enough.

We did a fair bit of research about hotels/b&b's in Whitby prior to booking and came across The Marine on TripAdvisor along with many others. We chose this hotel for its location. We would have liked room 1 or 2 because they have balconies overlooking the marina however, room three has two large windows that also have a great view down the marina towards the sea and we were far from disappointed.

The staff are very helpful and the hotel is very clean. The room was spacious and had a lovely large bath. The room was serviced between the two nights we stayed. No noise could be heard from the bar/restaurant. The bed was comfy too.

The breakfast is literally the best breakfast I've ever had! No exaggeration. The choice was great.... Full English, croque Monsieur, eggs benedict, farmers salad....and it went on. I recommend the croque Monsieur, so delicious! We also ate in the restaurant one night too and the food was amazing. It is a seafood restaurant and all the fish is super fresh. I had the fish pie and my partner had seafood linguine. Both were delicious and packed full of beautiful seafood. They also have Prosecco on tap!

The location is central. We were as close as you could get to the marina. Lots of little streets to explore with their quirky shops nearby. The Abbey was a short walk across the bridge.

I cannot fault our stay at this great hotel. We would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious with a comfy bed and cozy settee area with television. It has two large windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgwck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#5 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing