We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to stay.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 13th October. We had room 3. A lovely room, very well appointed with wonderful views. Decor and cleanliness superb. No tea/coffee making in the room but even better, you pick up the phone and its brought straight to your door, and its "proper coffee", not the silly sachets and plastic milk. A much better service I think. At the same time as booking the hotel we booked a table in the restaurant for 8 oclock. Service was just right, attentive and friendly, the food (seafood plattter and lobster thermidor) was excellent. Cooked perfectly and delicious.
The tables are a little close together. I felt uncomfortable squeeezing (and I'm not particulary large) between them when a couple was sat having a meal.
After a good nights sleep in our lovely room we had a fantastic breakfast. The menu is massive with lots of choice. We had eggs benedict and kippers, both perfect. Infact it was all so good we returned to have a late lunch.
All in all, a lovely hotel, excellent service and friendly staff, fantastic food at anytime, wonderful location and views. All in all a special place to stay. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Went to the marine with some friends for my birthday and it was great. The atmosphere was lovely and the food exceptional the scallops to start were tasty and cooked perfectly,everyone enjoyed what they had only one criticism was the waitress should just remind you that the veg needed to be ordered separately when ordering fish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Although a small hotel the room we had -room 3 - was delightful. Large bedroom, modern spacious sitting area and a view of the harbour. Very central. The staff were super. They were attentive and friendly and responded to requests immediately. Super clean, modern furniture, just as a hotel should be. No tea or coffee making in the rooms but they brought a tray as soon as it was requested. We didn't eat dinner here but the the breakfast was good, a very varied menu. The only downside was the noise in the evening from the live entertainment
It was so loud it made the room shake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We are at this place 3 days running, why ruin a good thing!
We were so impressed. The service is exceptional they couldn't do enough to help us but without overdoing it.
We had oysters, scallops and my husband had a seafood platter which he was most pleased with.
The seafood linguine was probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten. This place is fab I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carterishandsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We just returned from a lovely 3-night stay at the Marine Hotel. The room (#2), views and food were really all excellent. The staff were all, without exception, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

As others have said the excellent food includes the widest and most interesting choice of cooked breakfast we have seen, all in ample quantities and great quality.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Myself and my oartner have just returned from the Marine Hotel and i am eager to write a review on here. From the moment we arrived we were treated to a warm, friendly atmosphere and the most welcoming of staff.
It is unfortunate that there is not a car park, but there was ample street parking close by and the staff always offered to help with the luggage.
We stayed in Room 3, which was beautifully decorated and clean, with ample room and views over the Harbour.
That evening, we ate in the resturant and very very impressed by the quality of the food (seafood platter with a whole lobster, washed down with a bottle of Bollinger). The breakfast was also very varied and different to most hotels I have stayed in, and ample in their portions.
Many, many compliments to the staff and the chef who made our break the most special and memorable time.
We were so reluctant to leave but will most certainley be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckieedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The team are first class and extremely friendly. It's a great high quality bed and breakfast, with an excellent chef. The evening meals are equally good and the views of the harbour are first class! We had room 1, which is right on the corner with perfect views and a great balcony. The room is a little small compared to our friends room (room 2) which is significantly bigger, but didn't have such a great balcony.

The only issue is sleep quality. The beds are average and it is noisy in the evening till the early hours. If you are a light sleeper and you want a lie in, I would select another B&B or hotel.

Overall this place is very good and does come highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if your in room 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#5 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing