We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with great breakfasts”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing with great breakfasts”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room - great views, relaxing layout and great shower. Only slight faults were a dirty towel, which was very quickly sorted with genuine apologies and bright light underneath door at night, which was quickly covered by using a cushion. Very minor considering the rest of the experience.
Staff - absolutely brilliant and couldn't have done anything more. They are a credit to The Marine and probably some of the best I've experienced.
Food - the breakfasts are varied (I had kedgeree and my partner a full English), beautifully prepared and delightful to taste.
We stayed in Room 1 and while the price (£150) was expensive, the staff, views, room and breakfast probably justified it.
Would I go back - definitely and I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richthemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    94
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
368
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STOCKTON ON TEES
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were fortunate to have organised our wedding reception at the Marine a year ago today so going back was potentially going to be a risky venture. We needn't havw worried everything was as good as we remembered.

The food,service and comfort was as before truly exceptional. Once again Chloe thanks to you and your team for making our first anniversary such a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If great service, fresh seafood imaginatively presented and beautifully cooked is your thing then The Marine will not leave you disappointed.We eat here regularly and always enjoy our meal.An added bonus is the great range of aperitifs and cocktails if you fancy one and all expertly mixed.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KimVWR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in room 3 on a Sunday night and couldn't have been more impressed with everything in the hotel. The view over the harbour from the window is outstanding, the room was so comfortable with everything anyone could ever need.
It was great to call in the morning and get a fresh coffee delivered to your room 2 minutes later at no extra charge.
The breakfast was out of this world with proobably too much choice!!
We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday evening and have to say that the seafood was delicious, we were thoroughly spoiled with oysters, lobster and fresh fish.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and am looking for an excuse to go back now!

Room Tip: Room 3 was comfy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellybean243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husthwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The food and the staff were excellent!
Unfortunately the rooms are very tired, broken lock on door, torn dirty sofa and the MOST uncomfortable mattress!
Has issues with sound proofing too, or lack of! Woken at 6am by the sound of people using a bathroom/toilet above our room

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in Room 2 - a lovely room, with a lounge area and balcony, and a mezzanine bedroom, so we had plenty of space to relax. The weather wasn't that great, although it didn't spoil our weekend at all, but it was nice to have a lovely room to relax in and read the papers. The tea/coffee service was superb, all the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely, bright and clean, top marks to the cleaner. The position is ideal too, right next to the harbour, and therefore very close to the shops and restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespagirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have just celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and so booked a night away at the sister hotel of the Marine, at the Moon & Sixpence just a few doors down from the Marine.

Our room (no.6) was absolutely stunning. Having stayed in hotels around the world of all standards this was without a doubt one of the most spacious, well appointed luxury rooms we've had. Truely spoilt us. No car park was not a problem as there was plenty of free parking up the hill a few mins walk away. The huge jacuzzi bath positioned at the end of the living area was great, the ultra modern bathroom was superb & the extra touch of a few dvds to watch on the dvd player was really well thought out too. Excellent views from bed across the bay and upto the abbey. Breakfast was included and was served upto 12 down in the lovely modern bar downstairs (from which we heard no noise at all) however due to us trying to save room for a fish and chip lunch we did not take. I cannot recommend the Moon and Sixpence enough and cannot wait to return again one day soon for another relaxing break away. All my friends have been wowed by my photos and already want to go too!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PIR-SLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing