We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Food”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner had wanted to go to the Marine for some time and I booked as a surprise for his birthday. We stayed the night of the 5th May and it was nothing less than fantastic. The staff were friendly and polite and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in room 2 and it was lovely, we loved the bedroom upstairs,the bed has to be the most comfortable I have slept in....we decided to dine in that night and the food was first rate, squid and aubergine starters and, to follow, steak for him, halloumi for me and everything was absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast this morning was as good - and what a choice - must be the most extensive breakfast menu I've seen ...we chose kippers and eggs Florentine, again cooked to perfection and lovely. We will definitely be going back to the Marine ....must also give a special mention to Lee as he is great

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I have always wanted to visit Whitby. I booked into the Marine Hotel for 2 nights. It was superb, the staff all attentive and had plenty of time for us. The food was also great. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: Room 1 was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a 2-night stay at The Marine and would highly recommend it. In a perfect spot on the harbour side, close to the swing bridge and facing the church and 199 steps.

We stayed in Room 2 - very unusual with a 'lounge' area, complete with comfy sofas, TV etc and a bedroom up a flight of wooden stairs on a mezzanine floor. Magnificent views all round, with a small balcony to sit outside (weather permitting of course!).

Breakfasts are lovely - deliciously cooked fresh to order and highly recommended. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was equally delicious and fresh. There was a jazz duo playing on the evening we ate - nice music, not too loud to scupper conversation, very pleasant all round.

However, the best thing at this hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Everyone is so warm and friendly and helpful and the service is really good. Special thanks to Jasmine, who was so lovely to us.

A few (very) minor grumbles - no tea/coffee facilities in the room. In normal hours this was not a problem at all, as a phone call downstairs resulted in a lovely fresh pot of tea delivered to our door almost instantaneously. However, as early risers, we'd have liked to have been able to make ourselves a cuppa when we woke at 6am, rather than having to wait until available by room service at 8am.

The balcony is small, but fine for a couple, and with a beautiful view, however there is a noisy air conditioning unit next to it, which somewhat spoils the effect of the peaceful harbour.

And I found the bedroom floor covering very uncomfortable to walk on in bare feet!

However none of these things really detracted from what was a very lovely stay! Would definitely love to stay here again!

Note that there is no car parking at the hotel - understandable given the location - but you can unload your bags if required and a free pass is given for on-street parking in a zone which is a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When we arrived we unloaded our luggage and then given a parking voucher in order to park a short walk away. The restaurant was buzzing and the whole atmosphere was lively and friendly. Our room (no. 2) was amazing with the bedroom upstairs, leaving the downstairs to the bathroom and sitting room with a magnificent view of the docks, abbey, etc. etc. We felt we could have stayed for longer to enjoy the bright cosy room, view and walks. Wonderful staff. There was a pianist playing in the restaurant in the evening and the restaurant was fully booked. I had the most delicious sea bass and my husband the lemon sole. Our local neighbours on the next table said it was the best fish restaurant in Whitby. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We only saw rooms 1 and 2 but both had amazing views, plus a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Silverhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this fab hotel in the best location in Whitby! We stayed in room 4 and it was gorgeous! Great views, comfy bed, beautiful decor. We thought the open plan loo could have done with a curtain or swapping places with the sink as the view from the bed of people sat on the loo was interesting to say the least :) We had fish and chips downstairs which was perfect and the breakfast and choices were amazing and tasty. Filled us up all day! Staff very polite, friendly and professional.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Deolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A very special birthday in a Hotel booked by our daughter, just fantastic location in the Harbour with fantastic views in all directions, newly refurbed it has beautiful rooms and a very pleasant bar and dining area. Great menu with fantastic service and very helpful friendly staff.
No parking but an unloading area for your booking in and parking only 5 minutes away at £6.00 for 24 hours. It's understandable given the location of the Hotel.
One of the best in the centre of Whitby with everything so near, even the famous Magpie restaurant is only a one minute walk away, we will be back and can recommend as really great.

Room Tip: Room number 2 just fantastic, little balcony, mid floor bedroom, spacious room with mega views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frazer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from overnight break in Marine Hotel on the waterfront in Whitby. What a find! Badly needed a break after a bereavement and other stresses, and the minute we walked into Room 2, with its spacious lounge overlooking the water, its upstairs to fabulous mezzanine bedroom ditto, and outside to its tiny private balcony - this was heaven indeed. Was disappointed at first that no tea/coffee making facilkities, but this is no problem really, as you ring down and it arrives by room service in 2 minutes. Also with wine if you request it! Then you can sit on the balcony and people/boat watch...We chose not to eat in the popular restaurant as it was very busy with a jazz pianist, but enjoyed immensely one of the HALF DOZEN vegetarian choices on the fabulous breakfast menu. The food was out of this world for breakfast. Will definitely go again. I have only put 4 stars for sleep quality as we were awoken several times in the night by the fishing boats loading up outside - but this didn't bother me - it was a beautifully relaxing type of noise...

Room Tip: ROOM 2 was superb. ROOM1 I believe is smaller but has a much much larger balcony with French window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CornwallSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
476 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing