We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lets set the record straight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lets set the record straight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

I was outraged by the comments made by robobear, i recently stayed at the Marine hotel i parked at the hotel and left my luggage and then parked my car in the overnight car park next to the harbour which is only a short walk away and is very reasonable £6.00 ror 24 hrs. This hotel is really fantastic the staff are very pleasant my bags were carried up to my room(a thing of the past) asked if i would like coffee and what time would i like my complimentory bottle of wine.The food is EXCELLENT and the room was spotlessly clean. I was also asked if i would like the room from 10 am as it wasready.This surely must be the best hotel in Whitby.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    88
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
352
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk citizen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

On arrival into the hotel's reception (also the bar area) it was a pleasant surprise to find a live pianist. We stayed in room 1 which has a balcony and a fabulous view of Whitby Abbey and the harbour. Already impressed by the website tour of the room, we were were really pleased by the reality - no disappointments (although be prepared for the 'open plan' bathroom). From the standard of the furnishings and decor, through to the relaxed and professional style of service, and the quality of the food, the hotel was a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitbyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

my partners son booked us in for a thank you treat for a saturday night stay.
after driving to whitby, ( 100+miles) we found that we could'nt find any parking spaces for overnight stays. so we stopped outside the 'hotel' ( pub actually).
i popped into the reception area, ( end of the bar) and introduced myself as being booked in that night, i enquired if they could direct me to somewhere to park safely, overnight.
their first response was that it was my problem, not theirs!
then after some umming and ahhing they suggested i tried a place behind a now closed down woolworths.
as i could'nt locate it, ( it was hidden down what appeared to be a dead end, with no signage). i went back to the hotel, and my partner and i went in to see if they had any other suggestions.
they then gave us accurate directions to the place, but this was also a non-starter, so we phoned the hotel for further advice.
they then sent us up onto the cliff area, about a mile away, up a very steep hill,
(ideal for lugging ones' cases up and down).
this too was a no go.
we phoned again, but they could'nt seemingly care less.
after my partner and i discussed the situation, we decided, regretfully, to return home, another 100 mile journey,( such joy).
some days later, when my partners son rang the hotel to complain, and obtain a refund,
he was fobbed off, and lied to.
they invented some tale about us being offered a space belonging to a gypsy fortune teller nearby, which if they had done so, we would have jumped at!
furthermore, they alleged that both of us had been rude and had had no intention of staying, ( must be why we drove 200 miles, for a laugh!)
my partner was a senior manager for a royal charity for 20 years, and i am a professional scientist myself. i doubt that anyone who has ever met us, would say we were anything other than polite, at all times.
in fact, i even think this review is polite, considering the situation!
the place is one i would recommend everyone to give a wide berth to,
there are many other small hotels who deserve, and will appreciate, your custom, especially in these financially difficult times.
i wish you all many happy stays, at anywhere but the marine hotel in whitby.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank robobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Location - outstanding,on the harbour with great views of Abbey etc. A little noisy but can only be expected in this prime location.
Rooms - Themed rooms very comfortable with excellent furnishings. Would have been outstanding had it not been for the opened bottle of water and dirty glasses left in room.
Service- excellent, very friendly and efficient. Very prompt room service even at busiest times.
Food- fantastic varied breakfast menu, good quality well prepared food.
Overall- classy,relaxed,great service-Not your typical seaside British seaside hotel. Be aware that there is no parking due to harbourside location,nearest long stay approx 3/4 mile away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Real gem of a hotel, contempory design throughout. Our room was fantastic, split level with mezzanine floor overlooking the harbour and Abbey. Best breakfast menu i've ever seen and this can be delivered to your room with no extra charge. Rib eyed steak and freshly cooked scallops were just a couple of the breakfast choices. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location right on the promenade in Whitby with amazing views. We were in room 1 which had it's own conservatory and balcony area. The room was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. We did have a sneaky peak in room 2 whilst we were there and if we ever returned to Whitby, we would stay in there as it was so much bigger. The staff were extremely helpful and brought up the most wonderful coffee and chocolates when we rang down to them as tea and coffee facilities were not available in our room. Breakfast was one of the most exciting menus I have ever seen and tasted fantastic, you certainly wouldn't get bored with this breakfast menu. The rate is quite expensive but definitely worth every penny! The bar and restaurant area is very trendy and cosmopolitan, they even had a piano player on in the afternoon we were there.... quite the surprise in Whitby!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lg2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

This hotel is situated on the harbour front with panoramic views harbour, sea and abbey. If you take rooms with a balcony (we had room 2) then the benefits of the views are multiplied. The staff were extremely courteous and efficient brining free teas and coffes to your room on request. Also do make sure you eat at the restaurant as the food was sublime. There are only four rooms so make sure you book early.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sf1sf1sf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing