We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
palterton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stumbled on the Marine by accident and called in to have a drink and was met by the most friendly staff who bent over backwards to help without being gushy. The decor was so not what you would expect to find in Whitby but what you would find in a city centre restaraunt. We were shown rooms we could stay in prior to committing and we chose one on the front that overlooked the harbour, we ate in the restraunt and the food was superb and nothing was too much trouble. We loved it so much we stayed 3 nights instead of the planned 2. Outstanding guys on a place that is modern but still has charm and most of all fantastic staff !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    98
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
379
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Firstly, I have to commend the hotel on the friendliness of its staff, the generally tasteful decor (in comparison with everything else that appeared to be on offer in Whitby) and the breakfast menu, which was more generous than most. However, my partner and I were, overall, very disappointed with this hotel and left feeling that the room we stayed in (room 4) had prioritised aesthetics above actual comfort -- and that the hotel's emphasis on 'boutique' style quality is fairly superficial anyway. For example, the mattress in our room was cheap and uncomfortable, the pillows were flat and very worn, and the duvet was threadbare, heavily pilled and yellowing. Other annoyances that will bristle for anyone who travels regularly and who goes out of their way to find better-than-average accommodation: no luggage stand in bedroom, no rubbish bin, no trays for room service, no shower (in room 4) and, most significantly, NO BATHROOM DOOR. This isn't a minor design quirk; it's a deeply annoying indulgence on the part of the owners. Also, take earplugs: the screeching and yelling of people coming in and out of the surrounding pubs till closing time may be 'atmospheric' and 'colourful' to some who've already reviewed this hotel, but think about how charitable you'll feel when you wake up in the morning having had only five hours' sleep and having paid over 130 pounds for the privilege.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Just returned from a short break to Whitby with my wife.
Check in was really easy and the staff took us to the room (room3) as soon as we arrived. Place was very clean and well maintained and the room looked even better than the pictures on the internet.
Nothing was too much troble for them and instead of naff tea and coffee making facilities in the room you just needed to call downstairs and proper, freshly brewed stuff was brought up to the room.
We chose to eat in the restaurant that evening. the quality of the food was exceptional for a small hotel, out of season on a quiet weekend. the fish pie was superb!
Room was a little hot during the night but hardly something I could really complain about as it was -5 outside!
Overall this is definatley a hotel we will be revisiting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIKKLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed for one night in Room 2 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The young staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. We parked along the road just further up from the hotel so didn't have to pay and easy walking distance with bags but I think this was only possible due to the season and probably changes come spring/summer.
The room was exactly as described but I hadn't really accounted for the open style bathroom so was a little shocked, a prude I know but I would have liked a door! This room does not have a bath but a fab walk in shower and all the fittings were ultra modern. A couple of niggles that didn't spoil the night but did erk - There is no mirror near a plug socket so styling my hair was a nightmare, a girl thing but even Hubbie said that the bedroom could have done with a mirror. The carpet in the bedroom is hessian, hard wearing but uncomfortable to walk on - bring your slippers! A nice touch was the bottle of complimentary wine left as it was my birthday. The noise though, eventhough it was a Monday night it was quite lively outside until gone 11.30pm and then the fishermen woke us at 4.00am, to be expected for a harbour town but bring your earplugs.
The food in the restaurant was lovely both for an evening meal and breakfast, in fact breakfast was so good we didn't eat for the rest of the day.
I did sneak a peak at room 1 (smaller, great sitting area and view of harbour but shower and sink in room not separate) and room 3 which was the Goth room and looked lovely. Side view of the harbour but probably not as noisy as room is not directly over the entrance to the restaurant and it has a bath - I would book this one if going back again. Overall a great find and very different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WearyMummy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed at the Marine in september for 2 separate nights of a week travelling the area, the reason for this was we booked one night and just HAD to go back later in the week! Room 2 first - amazing 2 storey suite overlooking the harbour with small balcony and room 1 - shabby chic and a fab harbour view terrace. From the very minute we arrived we were treated to happy, helpful service, nothing was too much trouble - room service no object, we had coffee and breakfasts in our room, and as for the breakfast menu!! there is so much choice, it really is something to look forward to - ribeye steak with eggs benedict was perfect. We ate in the bar which was fabulous too, mostly seafood, freshly prepared and served in a bustling bistro with a female jazz pianist/singer that made for a very special evening. Both rooms are fantastic and the whole ethos of the Marine Bar is a pleasure, they work very hard. Down sides are parking, telephone first to check where to park and the rooms although they are stylish, the bathrooms/shower rooms have no doors - it may bother some more than others, would be 100% if not for these two niggles. We would go back tommorrow!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rucolaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

we decided to give the marine a try much to our regret. the food was fine but the staff were more interested in any young girls which came to the bar.
the service was really slow and the dessert we ordered never came after complaining they the deducted the wine from our bill.
but that weasnot the point this was a special occasision spoilt by shoddy staff

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank higmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

ate here food gorgeous staff so helpful lovely music and surroundings and at a reasonable price

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matthewmatt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing