We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent , modern, boutique hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
2 reviews
“Excellent , modern, boutique hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We have just returned from two nights at the Marine Hotel and will definitely be going back.
Having read other reviews and checked out the pictures we booked Room 3 and were not disappointed. A beautiful room with harbour and sea views (on the second night we left one of the blinds open so that you wake up with a view of the boats sailing out of the harbour). Yes the seagulls start early, but you are on the harbour side!
The staff were young, friendly and efficient, the breakfast menu was superb and we had a meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was of a high standard and (in my opinion) very reasonably priced. The atmosphere on a Friday and Saturday night was great. All in all a perfect visit. We were originally looking at your standard seaside B&Bs, however once we saw this we just had to try it. It was more expensive but well worth the extra. We had no problem parking. We arrived on Friday at about 4.30pm and drove through Whitby to get our bearings (as we hadn't been for 20 years) and found a parking spot on the Khyber Pass, which was free and very close so we left the car there all weekend and just carried our bags down. To top if off the weather was just perfect. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkscouple070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    90
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
363
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is really neither a hotel nor a B and B - just a very lovely room above a brasserie with a delicious breakfast awaiting you downstairs.
The atmosphere is very laid back - we were just given the key (and street door code) by the waiter behind the bar and shown the room - no fussy paperwork.
The room is great - comfy bed, big sofa, jacuzzi bath, large tv, DVD player, double shower etc. A couple of housekeeping issues but really nothing to complain about.
Room 5 doesn't have a great view but we were happy to forego that for the jacuzzi!!!

The only negative for us was the parking. When I phoned to book I was assured that parking wasn't a problem and although they do not have any parking onsite there was plenty of on-road parking 'just up the road' - this is not true in August. There is a loading bay behind the hotel where you can stop to onload but that's it. We ended up paying £10 for a 2 day pass from the Tourist Information and parking in the long stay carpark 10 minutes walk away up the top of the hill - with all the to-ing and fro-ing to find the hotel, unload, go to the tourist info, park, go back to the hotel etc etc our first 2 hours in Whitby were a bit fraught - be prepared!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Anyone staying at this hotel will not be disappointed. We stayed in the beautiful room number 4, pictures do not do it justice. The staff and owner couldnt have been more helpful if they tried. Make sure you book a table to eat, the food was yummy!!
Cant wait to stay stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Marine and the Moon and Sixpence are sister hotels/bars with rooms,we stayed at the Moon and Sixpence and ate at night at the Marine both are fantastic and the best places to stay and eat in Whitby.
We stayed in room 5, it was perfect, very large, comfy bed, large bathroom, massive jacuzzi bath in the room which you can watch TV from and also a large separate shower room, full sky,big sofa, really everything you need for a perfect stay.
The only downside (and this is not the hotels fault -due to its wonderful location right on the harbour side) the seagulls are very noisy and did wake us up very early.
The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice from the menu sitting at a table in the window right on the harbour was perfect.
We ate at the Marina at night and had a wonderful meal.
If you want a really special stay then stay at the Moon and Sixpence or the Marine and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed in room 2.

Like other reviewers the only real downside to this room was that my husband and I found the lack of bathroom door really odd . For anyone with a walking impairment there are stairs to get up to the room that are narrow, and the wooden stairs up to the mezzanine level are also quite narrow. I felt like I was on a ship as you went up the stairs to the wooden deck to bed and could hear the wind howling at night and the herring gulls! That's what you go to Whitby for!

The decor is very nice, the view of the harbour was excellent and having the small balcony to look out (we couldn't sit out as it poured down and was very windy) was a really nice touch. It felt like our own flat but without a kitchen. The position is excellent for all of Whitby, and the breakfasts were also excellent with lots of choice. I'd have preferred my own kettle and tea tray, but you can ring down for coffee or tea and they deliver it. We ate in the hotel bar and had a really good meal and great atmosphere (that was inspite of the England dull draw!).

The staff were very helpful - suggesting where to park our car without charge, carrying suitcases, storing them for us, serving drinks and breakfast.

We will probably go again and stay there is we could afford it, but it was expensive given it was Whitby! £300 for 2 nights is more like London prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

WELL can i just say i dont usualy do seasidy places, but my faith in the great british seaside is well and truly revitalised.
Stayed for 2 nights at the Marine: FAB ROOM, FAB FOOD, and LOVELY STAFF, nothing too much trouble, and beleive me I can be trouble, me and my hubie loved our anniversary break and will definatly be returning soon exelent loved it, web site is exactly as you see give it a try you wont be disappointed see you all soon julie n paul xxxx

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We have just returned from a 2 day break at the Marine hotel and I couldn't give the place enough praise - a real oasis in the center of Whitby. I haven't been to Whitby for nearly 20 years so I was looking forward to see if it still held true to my memories. It is still an exceptional spot, stunning and has a very unique feel to it - I was however hoping that it would have gone a little bit more upmarket. There are a couple of exceptions and one of them is the Marine hotel.

The hotel has been open a couple of years and no expense has been spared on the rooms, we had room 3 which was absolutely beautiful. No detail has been spared and the room screams quality. Great size and a lovely bathroom with oversize bath (great after a long walk on the coast) and a great shower.

The hotel also has a good bar and restaurant that serves great fresh sea food which is obviously a major selling point - also has a great selection of wines and cocktails to wash down the Oysters. I couldn't eulogise enough about the breakfast - I have NEVER had such an AMAZING choice for breakfast anywhere. The choice was amazing, there must have been nearly 20 choices, anything from full english (real quality produce) to steak with eggs, Kippers and I had on the last morning Welsh rarebit with bacon and a spicey Tomato relish - didn't have to eat for the rest of the day.

The Marine has a feel of a boutique B&B rather than a hotel as the only real central reception area is the bar, but this is in no way a criticism - it is a positive in my book. Also finally it's worth mentioning the team, all very relaxed and helpful.Great

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing