We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best location in Whitby”
Review of YHA Whitby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Couldn't quite believe my luck that the YHA is RIGHT next door to the Abbey at the top of the hill. The location is superb. The hostel is clean and well organised. It has lovely gardens and has a very relaxed homely feel. You even get complimentary entry to Whitby Abbey as you are staying at the YHA. We booked in for breakfast at the YHA and it was amazing value for just under £5. If I am going to be picky, the beds were a bit creaky when you turned over - just take ear plugs

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for YHA Whitby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay one Sunday night with 2 small boys and were roomed in an 8 bed dorm.
The én suite shower and toilet rooms were perfect and all beds had individual reading lights with spotlessly clean room and facilities.
Staff were really helpful and friendly, shared facilities of kitchen and lounge were fully equipped and comfortable
Lack of wii Fi was a welcome break but could have been purchased if we were desperate
All round gorgeous building and incredible price for a unique stay!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Peanutswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, amazing views, good food. The chn had a ball and the facilities were perfect. Rebecca is fabulous and genuinely useful/ helpful.

We booked the Viking weaponry and boat building, Dracula tour, history detectives, sandcastle building, beach combing and tour. This was in addition to the seclude centre at Scarborough ( on the way over) and yorvik/ minster through the ages plus tour (on the way back).

The kids loved it and were all suitably exhausted. Thanks ladies and gents. X

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived in the dark which is probably the best way to approach this place - nestled right next to the ruined Abbey, it looks amazing by night. The staff were wonderful - welcoming, funny and helpful, and the room was warm, clean and comfortable with a good shower room and separate loo room ensuite. The building has areas that retain a lot of original features, and some well presented information to help you understand its history - it's also a nice touch that you get a free pass to the Abbey if you stay there, so great for history buffs in general. The public areas include 2 really nice lounges with comfortable seating and a conservatory that looks onto a garden which was the perfect place to sit with a book.
For us, the location was perfect for getting into the historic centre of town, though the picturesque steep steps you need to negotiate might be problematic for anyone not too steady on their feet or with limited fitness. If you stay a few days, you'll definitely be fitter for it, but there are seats on the steps if you need a breather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A hostel with a fantastic location, that can't be bettered in Whitby. We stayed here for a night on a family trip to Whitby. The initial greeting at reception was friendly, helpful and all that I'd expect from the YHA. The building is a beautiful old building with plenty of history, so you have to accept that it creaks and has plenty of old charm. The facilities are excellent with Wi-fi, self catering, games room, Georgian lounge etc.
If you remember that this is a hostel you'll absolutely love it, if you're expecting a 5* hotel then dig deeper into your pocket!
This is now one of our favorite youth hostels and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a disabled bathroom with the lights and extractor on a PiR, so if you sneak to the loo in...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisEvans460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my sister. We were in a 8 bed dorm with three other ladies. The dorm was nice and clean with fresh bedding. The ensuite bathroom wasn't brilliant, when anyone showered a largeish puddle emerged that would last for a few hours but other then that it was fine! Situated right next to the abbey and atop the famous Whitby steps the location was superb! To top it off we got free admission to go round the abbey which was stunning! The breakfast was okay, nothing fantastic but for only £5 I can't complain too much! All in all a lovely stay! Would definately visit again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

a hostel that gives the feel of historical whitby, locate within the compound of whitby abbey, a stay there also provides a complimentary entry to the abbey... nice garden also within the compound... nice staff.. downside is its high top of the hill, need climb up the steps and a bit far from town center, and food... and the steps passes a cemetery, not well lit at night.. a bit pricey but worth the stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Whitby

Address: Abbey Lodge East Cliff, Whitby YO22 4JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Price Range: £21 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Whitby 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Abbey House is a beautiful grade 1 listed building with lots of original features. It is right next door to the abbey with brilliant views over Whitby. We have excellent facilities including mostly en-suite rooms, a fantastic garden and wonderful lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing