We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #79 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We chose this guest house based on price, recommendations and location. The guest house is clean, the management very friendly and accomodating, the rooms are well furnished, clean and tidy and the breakfasts are excellent with good choice and quality

Room Tip: Phone the proprietors in advance and book directly
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rockboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is well situated for Whitby town centre, which is only a short walk away. The proprietors are very welcoming and friendly. The B&B is kept nicely and is very clean, though I was unsure about the dog being allowed in the kitchen area. Despite this, I could not fault the breakfast which had a good selection of foods, as well as a vegetarian cooked breakfast option. The coffee was weak and the cafetieres need replacing as there were lots of grounds in the cup.

The room was small and very cold. The heating did not come on until around 6 p.m, despite it being winter, and there was no heating in the en-suite bathroom. The duvets were also too small for the bed which made for a chilly night!

I would recommend this B&B in summer, when heating is not such an issue. Also, if you are over 5ft 2", I would advise against staying on the top floor which have low beams and are rather dangerous.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Wounderful B&B. Food perfect, room lovely. Brilliant place to base yourself and visit a fantastic area. Would and will use again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duggysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Good location for both the beach and the town. Room very comfortable with sea view. Host and hostess very friendly and helpful. Breakfast first class. Added to our pleasant stay in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Booked B & B based on past reviews and quite agree with previous comments. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, amiable hosts, good location and very nice food. We stayed in room 6, the four poster room which overlooks the church rather than the sea. It was very well appointed, with ensuite shower,hospitality tray, hairdryer etc.
Very good value for money. The hosts could not have been more friendly without being intrusive. When we return would definitely consider again. Free parking available in surrounding streets. Well done Mick and Shiela, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Mick and Sheila were lovely hosts from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 5 which was big and airy with a sea view. It had everything you need for a short break and more - books and cards were provided in your room along with the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Location was great on the north of the bay and you could walk down to the main town in 10 minutes (15 minutes back up the hill). We had dinner on Friday night in Harry's, had lunch on Saturday in Robertsons - Lovely cod/haddock and chips - and Saturday night went to Passage to India - all were excellent.
Whitby was a thoroughly lovely experience and when we go back we will stay at the Middleham.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debsnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I have stayed at this B&B twice a year for the past 8 years (we go to Whitby Gothic Weekend) and always enjoy our stay. The couple who run the business, Mick & Sheila, are lovely and so is their dog! We are always made to feel at home. the rooms are clean & cosy, as is the rest of the building, with comfy beds, kettle & tv in all rooms. I would not hesitate to recommend The Middleham and always look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 152 in Whitby
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
344 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £82 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing