We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Middleham Whitby
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
79
9
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
9
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorguest houseperfectly poached eggsfull englishsea viewlong weekendthe august bank holidaylovely hostsfriendly ownersmy husband and i have justfantastic staycomfortable bedyogurtlittle gemwarm welcomebreakfast was excellenthigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Discovered this great B&B through a friend. Very clean, comfortable and great service (from Sheila and Mick, the owners).
Will definitely choose to stay here again on our return to Whitby..

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FothyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

.i stayed at the middleham with my husband, brother & his partner this wkend ( 25th/26th march) we where made very wellcome by sheila & mick the owners & nothing was to much trouble. the rooms where very clean & fresh, the sea views where lovely, the breakfast was plentifull & very tasty we enjoyed are stay so much we booked to go back in july. we cant thank sheila & mick enough for making our stay in whitby so special xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemisstravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Middleham guesthouse is absolutely spotless!!
It is by far the best British seaside bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in.
I had an attic room on the top floor with a stunning sea view.
The room was clean ,warm and cozy with an en-suite bathroom.
The owners of the Middleham Mick & Sheila, were very friendly.
Breakfast was excellent. Full English and a good selection of fruit, yogurts and cereals.
I can recommend this guesthouse and will definitely be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: I had the top floor room. If you are not good on your feet ask for a lower floor as it is quite a climb.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights over WGW 2011, Thursday to Sunday. Recommended by a friend and very reasonably priced. As we had left booking a little late for this weekend, we were allocated room 8, one of the attic rooms with a view of the church. More than adequate for our needs and had everything we needed. There is a low beam across the roof with a sign reminding you to mind your head. Despite seeing this, I did manage to bang my head once! I learned from this early mistake. There was ample room for getting ready to go out at night.

The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletry sachets. There were also complimentary biscuits and a bottle of water. In room 8 the sink is separate from the bathroom which makes it easier for getting ready to go out.

Breakfast is served in the basement which has all you need - cereals, fruit juices, yoghurt, fruit, toast, tea/coffee and the full English. Food is of excellent quality - i.e. the meat is actually meat, the eggs were amazing and the cereals are proper cereals - and very enjoyable!

Had 3 fantastic night's sleep as the bed was so comfortable.

The B&B is within walking distance of all amenities and despite the busy weekend, parking was not an issue.

To top it all, the proprieter's Mick and Sheila are a lovely couple and I'll/we'll be back again (if they'll have us!)

Room Tip: If you're over 6', the attic rooms are probably not the best choice!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed over the very wet bank holiday,our break was made all the better for staying here.The owners Mike and Sheila are lovely and the breakfasts are amazing plenty to set you up for a wet Yorkshire day.It was the little things such as binoculas in the room and a small table and chairs to sit at when having tea or coffee that impressed us.All in all a very good BnB.

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic which was a small room with sea view.But this was fine for a short break.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews