We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #83 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Ive literally just returned from this Aprils Whitby Goth Weekend, I was a solo traveller and both Shiela and Mick couldnt have been more friendly and accommodating, I was due to go home on Monday but decided to stay the extra day and go on Tuesday. My room was on the first floor and looked fresh and was very clean, it was compact but had an amazing little onsuite (you'll just have to book in and see!). I enjoyed a cooked veggie breakfast and all the guests were offered extra toast and tea, I was impressed that Sheila remembered all her guests preferences. I loved that there was a guest fridge so that there was always fresh milk for making tea/coffee as well as storage, such a simple idea but one that made a real difference (Im a tea fiend!). I felt very comfortable at the Middleham and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it, both for value and atmosphere. Mags.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed here for a few days at the beginning of October last year (2012), before the annual tide of goths swept in for Halloween. For the price and what you get, The Middleham is a great bed and breakfast. We stayed in one of the seaview rooms over looking whitby bay and the east coast. The room was cosy and functional, and was cleaned regularly. The hosts Mick and Sheila were very hospitable and are good to talk to if you want to pick their brains about any good eateries or local restaurants or simply, things to do. Location is also great because you are in easy walking distance from Whitby town centre and the train station. Breakfast was also wonderful, and if you are like me and go to the Magpie cafe the night before and don't realise what they mean when they say 'Yorkshire - sized' portions and you don't think that you will fit a cooked breakfast in, then you can just leave a note and they can accomodate you with fresh fruit, cereal and other fare as well. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregbaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our recent stay in Whitby, 9 days, was enhanced greatly by our stay at the Middleham. Hosts Mick and Sheila went out of their way to ensure that our stay was very comfortable, like a home away from home. Our room was very clean and had nice touches to make us feel at home. The morning beakfast, included in the stay, was excellent. Mick and Sheila gave us advice on places to see in Whitby and their advice was always spot on. We wholeheartedly recommend that if you travel to Whitby, the Middleham should be your place to stay. Excellent location and hosts.

Thanks again Mick and Shiela for an unforgettable experience!!!!!!!

John and Janae

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay. Sheila and Mick are fantastic hosts. The room we stayed in was lovely , the bed was so big and comfy. Mick's breakfast was great all local products used. Would def recommend , reasonable prices x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Whilst our room was a little on the teeny side the amount of hooks and space saving gadgets were great. Attention to detail was lovely and the whole guesthouse had a cosy, homely feel. In the dining room was an adjoining lounge with a big tv so had we wanted to overspill from our room it was great to know that there was space for that. Friendly owners and a big squishy dog popped in too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezebelsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

True to my word, I made a return visit again for this years WGW. Stayed for 3 nights, 1st-3rd November in room 5, twin room with a sea view.

Struggled parking, but I expected this and ended up way over near the park. Once a hassle free check-in had been completed, we were informed that the Leisure Centre Car Park was free parking 24hrs from 1st November-end March. Perfect!! Once the bags were installed, the car was moved and stayed within sight for the remainder of our stay.

There were plenty of hangers in the built in wardrobe for both of us as well as ample bedside and drawer space. The beds were soooo comfortable - I love a hard bed so this was perfect for me. Each night was a fantastic nights sleep with there being no disturbance from other residents or from the streets outside.

Cotton buds, pads, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo, sewing kit and tea/coffee making facilities are all provided, as well as a haridryer. The tea and coffee were replenished daily and the cups were proper mugs. There is a TV in the room also, with the usual freeview channels.

Breakfast is served on the lower ground floor and during our stay this was between 8.30am and 9.30am. (It's normally 8am-9am but noone gets up very early during WGW!!)

There are cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices to start breakfast with any combination of cooked breakfast you could wish for. Toast will keep on coming if you don't stop Sheila!! The quality of the food served is second to none and the proprieters are friendly and non-evasive.

If you're wanting a quality B&B, with friendly hosts in the amazing town of Whitby, then this is for you!!

We're back again same time next year!

Room Tip: They're either sea view or church view - either way you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Middleham, we had a long weekend last year and loved it so much we booked a week this year. Choose a sea view room for this week. Great view with binoculars provided for you to look out to sea. Room is spotless, huge comfy bed and modern on suite shower. Breakfast is good traditional English that keeps you going all day. Loads of other stuff to choose from as well. Mick & Shelia were made to be B&B hosts. Coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yabadabaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#52 of 151 in Whitby
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#18 of 151 in Whitby
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Property: Middleham Guest House
Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing