We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to family and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #83 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Would recommend to family and friends”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a lovely guest house, its spotless and the rooms are a nice size. We had a sea view room and its in a quiet location but its within walking distance to everything. We stayed for the May bank holiday. Breakfast was lovely and fresh, really nice sausages. I will recommend this guest house to all family and friends and will come back here if we visit Whitby again as there is so much to see and do but we never had the time to fit it in. Thanks to Sheila and Mick who made us feel relaxed and comfortable in there lovely home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I'm adding another glowing review to the others on here. Mick and Sheila were the perfect hosts and their property is immaculate. I enjoyed everything about my stay. Mick carried my heavy suitcase up to my single room with a view of the church. The ensuite bathroom was a delightful modern touch you have to see to believe. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice and the regular hot English fare, with vegetarian option available. The hosts were only too happy to recommend good places to eat nearby. There was also plenty of free parking as the parking metres weren't working yet. This is everything a B&B should be. I will definitely be returning to Whitby and will be staying with Mick and Sheila again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank spyndleshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic 3night stay very friendly very clean top rate breakfast homely warm welcome left to come and. Go short walk to town centre would stay there again having been to whitby many times but always for the day we decided to have a stay over and what a little gem. The middleham was could not fault our stay in any way the owners work as a team to make your stay well worth a visit. Yours Derek & jojo from the other end of Yorkshire

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derekjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Middleham is a lovely little B&B in Whitby. I stayed in the single room which was of an adequate size for one person and has a view of the church. The room was very clean and had a comfortable single bed, a TV, coffee and tea making facilities (with biscuits), a decent hairdryer and adjustable central heating (so no problems keeping warm). The room also has its own toilet, basin and shower with complimentary toiletries.
The breakfast consisted of a buffet style cold option and a hot option, the vegetarian English breakfast was very good and sets you up nicely for a full day of sightseeing.
The owners of the Middleham were very friendly and helpful and the location of the B&B is excellent for exploring the sea front and all the attractions of the main town which is only a 5 min walk away. It’s also located in a quiet side street which ensured a great undisturbed night’s sleep. Plenty of free parking is also available just around the corner at the Royal Crescent which is very convenient for those arriving by car.
Overall, a great little B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break at the Middleham. We have no hesitation in giving 10/10 for a beautiful room, modern facilities, wonderful breakfasts and very friendly owners.
We will return without a doubt!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I only had a short two night stay at the Middleham, but I was very impressed with the fresh decor and cleanliness of this guest house. My room was comfortable with good facilities. Breakfast was well cooked with a good choice and the proprietors made you feel very welcome. The location is convenient for both the town or the beach. I would certainly stay there again the next time that I visit Whitby.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have stayed here several times over recent years and it is delightful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the facilities good and the owners (Mick and Sheila) enthusiastic and helpful. Breakfast is well cooked and nicely presented. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#52 of 151 in Whitby
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#64 of 151 in Whitby
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#18 of 151 in Whitby
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#41 of 151 in Whitby
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Property: Middleham Guest House
Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing