We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely haunted old inne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely haunted old inne”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have just returned from the Ye Olde Beehive Inne at Newholm, Whitby, and can honestly say its the nicest ,friendliest place we have ever stayed in (that goes for the ghost too!) Mandy and Keith can not do enough to make you welcome as soon has we arrived the kettle was put on,then along with four other guests who had just nicely arrived we all sat round the lovely warm coal fire in the cosy bar area drinking our tea. What a lovely start to a great holiday. The bedrooms are beautiully done to a high standard,we had the comfest bed ever! In the evening we went into the bar for a few drinks and sat round the fire chating with the locals before going into the dining room for a home cooked meal which was wonderful. I had steak and my daughter had chicken both served with lots of fresh veg and creamy sauces. There were loads of top class meals to choose from all cooked by Mandy to an exceptional level. We really could not fault the meal it was scrumpcious. And to top it all we even managed to meet the Beehives friendly ghost. Later in the evening when we entred the bar after everone had left, the small rocking chair by the fire was on a steady rock all on its own, at breakfast we mentioned this to another guest and she said the same thing had happened to them earlier in the evening & apparently they were into that sort of thing and said they retured year after year to the "haunted inne" we were intruiged - ghost or no ghost we both slept excellent and in the morning we both enjoyed a full english with a choice of smocked salmon or whitby kippers if we prefered. We really can not falt the beehive and its hospitality in any way and we will definitely be returning again. On a final note - when we had some photos developed which were taken in the bar area near the rocking chair theres some things on the photo which my daughter calls orbs (apparently something supernatural). Visting the Beehive is a must if you are in the area whether it be to stay or for one of Mandy's meals. We shall most definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KHeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Booked for two nights ended up staying an extra night. Our second visit of many more to come. We love them both Mandy and Keith can never do enough to please and the food is excellent and very generous portions. Keith provides his own entertainment with his stories, wit and guitar playing, it's a laugh a minute. They make you feel at home in warm and cosy surroundings, made even better when some of the locals are in as they are all so very friendly. Anyone not enjoying their visit should "seriously" look at themselves, we can't wait to return our leaving words were "we'll be back"

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

That's Pickering, Canada! What a great reception we had. Keith and Mandy made us so welcome on our visit to Whitby. We arrived late in the evening unannounced and were accommodated with a very nice room. As we were getting settled in to our room, Mandy cook us a wonderful meal of gammon steaks, eggs, broccoli and chips. We had traveled from Liverpool with no plans and ended up in one of the most authentic inns you could ever expect to visit! We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

my party of 4 walked into the bee hive and straight away we were welkomed aspart of the familly i have never felt as welcomed and comfortable anywhere else Kieth and Mandy were absolutely fa
ntistic looking forward to many more wonderful visits [---]

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I booked Ye Olde Beehive Inne for 3 nights and was sad to leave. Keith and Mandy were excellent hosts. Keith was a mine of information about the local history and Mandy was a fantastic chef. Both Keith and Mandy bent over backwards to help in any way they could 24 hours a day. As soon as we arrived, after a long day driving from Essex Keith greeted us and immediately asked if we wanted a drink which we accepted and sat outside. We were shown our room and was blown away by the level of cleaniness and the attention to detail of the decorating was second to none. Keith entertained us with his guitar in front of a log fire and was amazed at the variety of songs and tunes that he knew and even took requests. Breakfast was huge and such a large vareity to choose from. Dinner was just the same and expertly cooked with all fresh and local produce. Please dont mention Tescos to them lol. Definitely made us feel that we were part of the family as opposed to paying guests staying in their fabulous home. In fact this was a real gem. We will be going back again and would highly recommend Ye Olde Beehive Inne to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmie280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Had a good few days at the Bee Hive -- very clean rooms and an excellent breakfast, made to feel very welcome by Keith and Mandy -- will return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Me, my husband and two teenage daughters have just returned from an inpromptu visit to Whitby. We planned to stay at the port itself but was presented with many tourists visiting for a 'Folk Festival'. However, I am so pleased that all of the B & B's were full in Whitby for if this had not been so I would never have stumbled upon this gem! At first glance we assumed that it was shut, then the landlady stuck her head out of the window and declared that they were indeed open and had rooms available. From the outside I expected the rooms to be small and dark but was blown away by the sumptious sight that surrounded us once in our rooms!!!! Keith is an absolute darling and kept us amused with his guitar playing and very interesting historical knowledge of the area. We were exstatic that it was in fact a pub, which meant that we did not have to travel to have a drink or three ;D and we eat there on the first night. The meal was excellent as was the breakfasts (thankyou Mandy). There were no breakfast menus, which we thought odd at first but soon realised, once Keith came to our aid, that you could order what ever took your fancy, I thought this was a lovely touch.

I can not fault our stay at 'Ye Olde Beehive Inne', the beds are wonderfully comfortable, it's clean, pretty, hosts accomodating, food glorious, history amazing and we will definately be making a return visit.........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
0.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
697 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Beehive Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Beehive Inne

Property: Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Address: Newholm, Whitby YO21 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en-suite and fully coordinated. They include Colour TV, Courtesy Tray, Central Heating and the Beehive Special Yorkshire Breakfast is available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Beehive Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Beehive Inne Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing