We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent stay- great hosts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Myself and my partner spent two nights at this lovely, cosy inn. Keith and mandy the owners could not have been more welcoming! The first thing we were offered was a lovely big pot of tea before being shown to our immaculate and homely ensuite room. Breakfast was absolutely HUGE and delicious! I had a full English and heather had a veggie breakfast which she claims is the best she's had ( it had hash browns!!). After we had spent our couple of days in Whitby, each evening we came back we were welcomed by Keith and Mandy in the bar and chatted with them into the wee hours! Their stories about the beehive in days gone by and Keith's guitar playing were both very entertaining.

We found the rates to be reasonable and would highly recommend this unquestionably unique and friendly atmosphere. ( don't listen to the previous slanderous remarks about Mandy - they are unfair... She's a legend!)

Thanks beehive inne- we'll be back!!

Chris and heather

Room Tip: All rooms looked ok to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bennson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

As soon as we walked in we were almost challenged by the landlady as if we had interrupted her afternoon.
The rooms are nice and the breakfast food is too and Keith is a very personable chap but his wife is truly rude and quite nasty, we almost turned on our heels and left within the first five minutes and would have it wasn't for the fact I had given my credit card details.
Unfortunately the rude and unpleasant character of the landlady Mandy will definitely prevent a return visit or a recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A delightful old Inne with great owners who are very welcoming and full of character. The rooms are quaint and beatifully appointed, especially the one with the old bath (my favourite!) The food is excellent, both the meals in the evenings and the extensive breakfast. The Inne is situated in quiet village just outside the bustle of Whitby and it is lovely on summer evenings ,just sitting on the front lawn watching the world go by. From the Inne you can walk across the fields to Sandsend or visit the other resorts but in the village there is total piece My favourite hotel in the area- I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Four of us spent two nights at the Beehive earlier in July. We had a very relaxing stay and were treated really well. Breakfast was wonderful and plenty of it. Set us up for hours of sightseeing
in Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Scarborough etc. Can't fault this place at all and, next time we are in the area, this will be place for us.

Sheila and John, James and Amy.......

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 74Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We decided to go on a last minute weekend break to Whitby, and feel really lucky to have found this lovely inne. Excellent hosts, food of a very high standard and a beautifully decorated room all made this the perfect place to stay. I would definately recommend staying here, and will hopefully return one day.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lozzi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Keith and Mandy are the hosts you normally only dream about, apart from running a wonerful pub they're great company. Keith's knowledge of Whitby & it's 'characters' is encyclopaedic and highly amusing. With a little (ok .. no) persuading he'll play the 'bar guitar' and entertain you with tales of his band days.
Mandy is likewise a great host and wonderful cook.
The bar is small, cosy and virtually a perfect 'fit' for an English country pub ---- and the beer is the best kept Theakston's I've ever had.
We onlycalled in by chance for a drink and a meal, but we'll be back - this time to stay.
Absolutely no faults at all -- 100%!!

Room Tip: Just turn up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Six of us went to stay over the Easter break and had a great stay.
The inne is set in a quiet village but only a couple of miles from whitby town.
The rooms were really nice and clean with everything you needed and well decorated.
The hosts were Keith and Mandy.Keith was a true gent and nothing was too much trouble and Mandy was a wizzard in the kitchen cooking excellent meals on a evening and a fantastic breakfast on a morning
will definately go again
phil,jane,frank,jo,carl and liz

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
4 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 155 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Beehive Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Beehive Inne

Address: Newholm, Whitby YO21 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Price Range: £88 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en-suite and fully coordinated. They include Colour TV, Courtesy Tray, Central Heating and the Beehive Special Yorkshire Breakfast is available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ye Olde Beehive Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Beehive Inne Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing