We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good laugh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had booked the beehive for one night on 13/09/2013,when we phoned the pub when we were 20 miles from it to see if we could eat there keith said we were not booked in as a former employee had not wrote the booking down?however he did have a spare room but not en suite as we had booked.he said he could only apologise and we could see if room was suitable when we got there.when we arrived he again apologised and we took the room.we had our evening meals at pub which were very good as was breakfast.we had a really good laugh with keith and other guests and were glad we stayed.

Room Tip: ask for an ensuite:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank jamesandmo815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Beehive for our anniversary in August....From the outset, Keith made us feel that that we had known them for years, regailing all and sundry with tall tales from front of house, whilst Mandy beavered away behind the scenes to produce prodigious amounts of wonderful food - leave the diet sheets at home! Hospitality was overwhelming - to the point of providing my husband with a shirt in lieu of his inadequate packing. Rooms were very comfortable, with all the necessary creature comforts and any oversight a request away. Highly recommended for a weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Tbird0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Can't say enough good things about our stay at Ye Olde Beehive Inne. Keith and Mandy were wonderful hosts. We loved the charm and history of the inne and enjoyed Keith's music and stories. The meals were also delicious and the pub was a cozy place to gather with other guests. We wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank VTCabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Visited Ye Olde Bee Hive on two occasions in our week's stay on holiday in Runswick Bay.
On our first visit the Lobster dish we both ordered was exceptionally good. The lobster was boiled, served with delicious chips, salad and mayonaisse. For deserts we had the largest eton Mess in England, which was very nice, I must say along with homemade blueberry bread and butter pudding served with ice cream. (We were told Custard is never available!) However the Bread and Butter pudding was also very nice.
Although we had previously reserved a table, on arrival we were told the restaurant would not be opening this evenng and advised to take a seat in the bar area, we didn' think this was a problem.
Second Visit- My husband rang the Bee Hive to confirm if Lobster would be on the menu and also to reserve a table. On arrival we were told the restaurent would not be opening and advised to take a seat in the busy bar area, again becoming used to the format, this was not a problem. With the drinks order, due to confirming earlier that Lobsters were on the menu my husband went on to order the lobsters which we intended to enjoy once again as we had done earlier in the week at our previous visit.
We were told that the chef could prepare any dish, however ot turned out all the lobsters being served that evening were thermidored, with no choice otherwise because they had already been prepared??
The lobster was coated in a plain flour based sauce, which actually spoilt the lobster.
Having finished the main course, we requested the dessert menu. The waitress came back and advised us along with another couple who were staying at the Bee hive, there were NO DESSERTS tonight ??
There was a family enjoying the evening due to it being one of the childrens birthdays, again NO DESSERTS?? In fact when they placed their food order, one of the children asked for some sausages, only to be told, there wasn't any after being told there was??

Basically if you do what you are told when you arrive at this place, you are fine, the hospitality is basically down to the host showcasing his clever sarcastic humour in front of the customers, trying to be funny!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Reviewduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A big warm welcome from Mandy & Keith on our arrival and the offer of tea/coffee much appreciated as we stepped through the door into calm and tranquility. A great place to unwind and enjoy fantastic food and hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble and all your needs are catered for. A beautiful room large but cosy and the sound of silence was amazing. Situated in a lovely location with so much to see and do just a couple of miles along the road. We can't wait to return and would recommend this to all and if you're just passing through stop for a meal, beautiful home cooked food, very generous portions and all locally sourced. A real hidden gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a wonderful welcome at the Ye Olde Beehive Inne in June. The photographs don't do this place justice a wonderful pub with a great atmosphere full of history. Excellent local food great selection. The landlord and lady were warm and welcoming couldn't do enough for us. This is one of those rare spots which truly feels like your coming home. Comfortable and romantic. We shall definitely be back in August can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank beanbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked mid june and on arrival we were greeted with a lovely old rustic building, brimming with colour from the floral displays outside. We met the landlady Mandy and landlord Keith inside where we were offered a cup of tea. Myself and my partner were taken aback by the hospitality and thoughfulness that i think you can only get from a place like this, if its a holiday inn or a travel lodge that extra detail isnt there and i got the sense that it was more than just a business with the owners.
A few examples i can say is that they had bought a bath toy for our two year old prior to our arrival and they washed his comfort teddys for us, one night when he was restless he nearly fell asleep on Mandys knee while she was giving him a cuddle so we could enjoy our meal. Nothing is too much trouble.
The room we were staying in was immaculately decorated with views over the fields, the place itself is on very quite road with minimal traffic even on the busiest days. The bathroom was exceptional with a lovely hot power shower and a huge bath.
On a night Keith cracked us up with his stories and his wide knowledge of the local area. The food is stunning, all home cooked from local suppliers and massive portions, the Whitby plaice i ordered was really a Tiger shark in disguise.
I cant fault our stay in anyway (apart from the weather) and the people who leave negative comments on here are on another planet or there are two Beehive Inns in Whitby, im not sure.
Dont let these people get you down guys, you made our stay special, we loved every minute and we will definately be back.


James, Zoe and Harry NR Huddersfield

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,188 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
459 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 152 in Whitby
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Beehive Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Beehive Inne

Address: Newholm, Whitby YO21 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Price Range: £89 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en-suite and fully coordinated. They include Colour TV, Courtesy Tray, Central Heating and the Beehive Special Yorkshire Breakfast is available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Beehive Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Beehive Inne Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing