We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B from hell - Rude and arrogant people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“B&B from hell - Rude and arrogant people.”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I would like to start by saying that my experience with Ye Olde Beehive Inn was like something out of a tv show. Unfortunately I’m thinking more Holidays from Hell/Ramseys Kitchen Nightmares than Wish You Were Here. One of the other reviews on here completely sums up our opinions of the landlord and lady. I’m sure you can find which one that is.

My wife and I turned up thought we had got lucky as the landlady said they had a double en suite room available as there had been a cancellation. After a long day driving around seeing the sights we were looking forward to a quick hot shower and then to go out in Whitby for dinner. The room looked nice when we initially saw it (I’m sure it’s the one described in the previous review) and although there was no shower we thought we could make do with the stand alone bath for one night. I went down to pay after a few minutes as the landlord had insisted on payment before we left for the evening.

The problems started when we tried to run hot water for a bath as the hot water tap was no better than a trickle and after 10 minutes the bath was only a couple of inches full and the tap had run cold. My wife popped downstairs to ask about this and whether there was any chance of another shower anywhere being free to which the owners immediately went on the defensive saying that all the other rooms were booked and how lucky we were to find a room near whitby as we hadn’t prebooked. Also that the village didn’t have mains gas and they only had an immersion heater. How this was our fault I don’t know. We had paid for bed and breakfast and assumed this would include use of hot water.

We were quite happy just to leave, get our money back and try our luck elsewhere. After initially agreeing to refund our money, it was retracted in the very next sentence, only offering to refund us half the money. I fail to see how having been in the building ½ hour at most, a couple of inches of luke warm water in a bath and only having barely sat on the end of the bed was worth the £35 that they wanted from us. These two had clearly upset my wife and their voices were raised (they were loud people anyway) so I went downstairs and took over the discussion. I consider myself an extremely calm and level headed person and think that you never get anywhere with people if you are rude to them. However after 5 minutes of me asking asking politely for our money back and how they thought that taking £35 from us was acceptable, they clearly weren’t budging. What a scam!

When the Landlord started getting verbally aggressive, stood up and started jabbing his finger in the direction of my wife…..while she was crying … it’s understandable that my wife lost her temper and told them they were awful people whilst using a swear word to make her point. Laughably the landlord then said he had a good mind to call the police in the face of such language. Considering his actions which caused this I would have thought it should have been the other way round. At this point I was glad I am such a calm person as i'm sure other people would not have been able to keep calm whilst witnessing this kind of behaviour towards a woman. After telling him that this was totally unacceptable behaviour and that no one should act like that towards a woman, somehow I managed to keep cool and usher my wife upstairs to get our things.

We were followed by the landlady who continued to make snide comments in our direction with the deliberate aim of trying to get a reaction from my wife. Even after I told the landlady to be quiet as she wasn’t helping the situation and just let us leave, she continued. My wife was in a bit of a state by this time so we quickly got our things and left.

Eventually we found a lovely B&B up the road in a pub in a nearby village …and yes…it had a shower with hot water. Fortunately for us this episode didn’t ruin our entire weekend (only that night) although we were both amazed to come across people like that who I thought only existed in cartoons or on tv.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank winners1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    11
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Happened on this delightful inn in a tiny village near Whitby by chance.
Very pretty outside
Dark beams in the bar, candles glowing in the fireplace, a warm welcome.
The food was excellent, served quickly and piping hot. I asked for vegetables on the side and got a steaming bowl of lots of fresh veg cooked perfectly.
Lots of fresh fish on the menu, spoilt for choice.
We looked into one of the bedrooms which was beautifully decorated and had an ensuite bathroom with standalone bath - wished we could have stayed over.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casasastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

What a gem of a retaurant, tucked away in a small village near Whitby. It was recommended by our hotel owners, and they could not have recommended anywhere better for a wonderful meal.

The host is a bit of a character, full of chat and local knowledge. But the food is quite simply superb crab risotto, warm goats cheese salad, halibut with prawns, high quality beef etc. Everything brilliant quality and great value.

Speaking with guests who were also staying there, we will go back to stay one day. And certainly we will return to eat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historygirl_10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

we visited the beehive whist staying in Newholm, we took our tenage daughters and our two young grandchildren there for a meal, we fount the place very welcoming and cosy. lordlady and landlady were very helpful and made you welcome meals were beautiful would go there again, ward family stafford

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historygirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at The Bee Hive Inn near Whitby. Keith and Mandy made us feel very welcome. The room was cosy, clean and comfortable. The food was cooked to perfection, there was a good selection and the portions were very generous.
A perfect relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorvik333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

i stayed here with my girlfriend at a last minute phone call and how lucky we are everything was perfect from the word go the owners helped us with anything and were always friendly and good people to know. the rooms are very tidy and excellently decorated the windows were single pain but its a grade 2 listed building so it should be as it is. Food cannot be beaten for price and qauntity its of a very high standard suprised it has no awards for example rossettes. overall a perfect 16th century inn !

  • Liked — views and the food
  • Disliked — not open week nights but not the end of the world
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phil2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My husband and I have just celebrated our Silver Wedding at the Beehive Inn with friends and family. The food was first class as was the service. Nothing was too much trouble. Living 300 miles away, all arrangements were made over the phone. Mandy was great and really put my mind at ease that everything was going to be okay on the day.
Phil and Judith Giles
Romsey,Hamsphire

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romsey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Beehive Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Beehive Inne

Property: Ye Olde Beehive Inne
Address: Newholm, Whitby YO21 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en-suite and fully coordinated. They include Colour TV, Courtesy Tray, Central Heating and the Beehive Special Yorkshire Breakfast is available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Beehive Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Beehive Inne Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing